Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Surely No. 32 in the Ladder ad is the House number and not the 32nd ladder?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Hope Harry Kane footballs better than he BBQs! Atrocious ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭MfMan

Is that Pierce Brosnan's brother driving the van?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭donegal_man

I don't care how much fun Aussie curls want to have. They can f right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭deezell

Iirc it says 'ladder 32', unless my memory is going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

The Northern Irish tourism ad where the guy is sneering at our lack of interest in NI's cultural offerings 'you wouldn't like the walled geeeardens'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,805 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Wouldn't like getting my head chopped off of my house burned out either… Ahh shur he has to get something for trying I suppose 😊

Aye, I wouldn't, surely, but a visit to the wee Titanic would be dead on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

No, it's Larry the Ladder. 😉(Or more likely, Larry owns it…)

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,609 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

That free now advert with the rock. hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Acosta

The Dad in the Vodafone ad. Holy mother of divine Jesus. I'm not a violent person, but Christ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,873 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Even though it's on the radio, I hate the Aldi "buddy" BBQ ad with 2 pretentious poncey p*****.

Names Barry and Jack, it played again on RTE Radio 1 just there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭SaxySaxSolo

Can't be the owners name. The guy walks in and says larry and the owner looks at the ladder straight away.

All the world cup related advertising it's already getting annoying.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Bring back that Maroon 5 covering Bob Marley with the bus driver flying around the car park with murderous intent.

Ah the good old days.

Not anymore he does, it's gone the way of the other 22! I prefer my interpretation, more true to life. Fair play for the screengrab, Larry names his Ladders after himself, like his kids! The first 22 of whom have grown up and left home.

I really wish to fk they'd cut that ad with the slovenly house bound befuddled first time mother who rings her oul wan in her Tenerife gaff to pretend to sing a lullaby which is playing on the ad soundtrack with concert hall quality and reverberation, and the voice of someone half the age of the expat wrinkly. Its strange, as when the ould bitch speaks, the audio reverts to typical muffled squawky mobile phone quality. Have they a special Albert Hall performance mode button on their phones? The whole thing is bollox, and of audio mute/change channel levels of annoyance

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

6 weeks of bastard betting companies and their stupid AI rubbish 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,469 ✭✭✭ollaetta

You know, if it means the end of a decade of the Mr. Blue Sky ads and the likes of your man with his big slide in the flats, I'll put up with this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I am not sure if I can. Are the rest of the gang at base getting a share?

The Doctor's Without Frontier's ad, "they had no space, so we called … they had no space". Concern use the same clock ticking music for their ads also.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

The Heineken ad where your man turns his house into a pub for all and sundry to walk in. Silly ad, might not have annoyed me, but the stupid punchlines, "strangers at the start, friends by the end", and even worse, "Fans have more friends". Er, no they don't. More burglars and pickpockets maybe. Who exactly are they trying to entice, Billy Nomates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,873 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I agree. Garbage, woke Heineken 0.0 ad. Completely unrealistic scenario. I could go into it, but it doesn't deserve my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

I keep getting ads with your bald wan out of stranger things telling you to drink the 2 litres of water a day. F*ck off.

Aussie hair products can also f*ck off - what happened to ads which weren't in your face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,884 ✭✭✭Allinall

There's hundreds of ads on that are not in your face.

Not very successful ones, mind, as you don't really notice them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

They are the ones you like though as I would actually be at least half willing to check them out assuming I wanted/needed the product/service.

In your face ads just make you despise the company and its product.

I do like the new VF ad, it's 087😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Messi19

Its about time they came up with one that doesn't make me want to stick my boot through the tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

The UNICEF ad with Stephen Rea. He looks miserable and is giving strong homeless vibes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Vodafone 25 year ads, yes I know Vodafone only arrived in 2001 but it bought eircell which began in 1984. Though I don't think it was called eircell.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

It was Eircell, Eircell ready to go, 088, the phone didn't even have a SIM card, they changed to 087 when the SIM card came along. I didn't think it was as early as 84 though.

088 was analogue, the first Digital or GSM was early 90s. Analogue only cost 32p/minute to call, but ir£35 a month for the connection., thats €1.13/min in today's money and €124/month connection rental! GSM brought in greater access and ready to go around '93, but it cost 80p/min daytime to make calls , €2/min in today's money. I recall clearly being in the now gone Eircom shop/public office on the corner of O'Connell st/Catholic Brugha st, and an oul wan was complaining that she'd only just put £20 credit in her new phone and made a few calls, then it stopped working. She'd ploughed through the equivalent of €40 today in 25 minutes yakking.