Russia-Ukraine War (continuing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Oh no!

And during tourism season as well. That's a real shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭Field east

he probably thought that the drone was bringing fags and a bottle of booze in as a thank you for putting the flag up? ‘Mistakes/sh-t happens’ as they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Most people fail realize what a nuke is: an extremely complex machine that is incredibly costly to keep fully functional.

I'm sure I read somewhere over the last 2-3 years, that the U.S. spends more just to maintain its own arsenal of nuclear weapons, than Russia spends (or maybe was spending) on it's entire military budget!!

When you hear figures like that, you begin to wonder how capable the Russian nukes actually are…

If I had to guess, I'd say they might have kept maintaining maybe 5% of what they actually have, and thanks to corruption being standard across the board in Russia, even that could be a stretch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Anyone who goes on holiday to Crimea in 2026 deserves a kinetic sanction for stupidity. Can't believe there's still a tourist section in Crimea. Incredible levels of ridiculous.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The war was never about resource rich land in the Donbas, some people are just incapable of viewing conflicts through any other lens (cf. Iraq was for the oil)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,163 ✭✭✭Big Ears

While I'm making assumptions on the mind of people I don't know, I think it's far more likely Putin is overthrown as a result of requesting a tactical nuke, that it is such a weapon would be fired.

No nuclear weapon would be fired without their top military personal knowing. Those guys are where they are because they are survivors, and know what it takes to stay around without falling out a window.

However it's unlikely they have any true loyalty to Putin. They would see such a command as an admission that the war is lost, and reprisals from the west could mean nuclear Armageddon reigning on Moscow and St. Petersburg. It is at that point, that the safest move from a survival point of view, is to turn against Putin and blame the whole war on him.

Again, playing guesswork with people we don't know, but while these men may be pawns, they're not stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭bored65

The EU should also stop giving out visas to Russians

Half a million shengen tourist visas for Russians in 2025 alone

Let them go holiday in North Korea

https://www.independent.co.uk/travel/news-and-advice/russia-visas-travel-europe-schengen-b2989738.html

Yeah, the mind kinda boggles at that one. Kind of understand some being granted on compassionate grounds - but not 500,000 worth of compassion! Even before 2022 (or 2014) if there was one thing guaranteed to darken the tone of a place on holidays, it was the Russian tourists. Would be glad not to see them return at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

36458.jpg 36459.jpg

Sitting in Foynes at the moment having my lunch and looking out at Aughinish Alumina. You sometimes forget how big the place it, not to mention the slurry pit. If the Ukrainians or Yanks decided to attack it like Nordstream we'd be rightly bolloxed. But how do you stop the Russians getting their hands on it for their war machine?

At the current rate, all Ukraine has to do is stay in the fight for another 4 years and they'll have retaken most of the territory lost since 2022. As opposed to how long it would take Russia to take the whole of Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭scottser

Another factor in Putin's downfall willl be the death of Ramzan Kadryov. When he dies, Chechnya will no doubt experience a power struggle which Putin might not come out on top of.

Chechnya: the Problem of Succession and the Future After Kadyrov

That prick can't die soon enough as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Half a million less Russians in Russia is bad for the Russian economy and ability to recruit soldiers. We were all delighted when we seen the mass exodus from Russia when they announced construction. That's the only benefit imo.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,048 ✭✭✭✭josip

A bit misleading that the Y axis doesn't start at 0. I understand why they did it from a screen usage perspective and to emphasise deltas, but they should squiggle the base. It gives the impression that in Nov 22 Russia had lost almost all the ground they had gained.

That being said, it's the first time I've seen a historigram for territory occupied since the start of the invasion and it's very interesting.

They don't even need to take it all back either. Retake Kherson and Zaporozhye and you've got a massive island in crimea. The logistics Russia would need to ferry across would be off the charts and Putin will never surrender it. It's his prized possession.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

Agree graph could been better

In other news on newstalk discussing why we giving out so many visas to Russians

If they're tourist visas you'd assume they're just heading for Spain/ France/ Italy and the coastal holiday hot spots? And returning per their visa terms.

I'd be shocked - and very concerned - if European countries were dishing out tourist visas to Russians and not monitoring/ enforcing compliance at a time when the same countries are banging on about the threat that Russia poses to them (which of itself raises the question as to why so many visas are being issued in the first place).

I believe the Estonians are less than pleased at how many Russian's cross the border there every day with tourist visas issued by Mediterranean countries.

As with the plant in Limerick, it's good that this is being brought into the public's consciousness now. Important that it stays there so that changes are made.

Why did it take so long?

You'd think opposition parties like Sinn Fein and people before profit would be all over this.

Our government is too busy with other matters like…

Actually never mind good question, seems other EU countries had finally enough of our governments crap and actively calling them out and various carry on that helps Russia

What could this be in Belgorod?

Definitely not a fuel depot and there's smoke trails leading to the ground. Something big went boom.

1000055089.jpg

I know. But to be honest I'm not surprised at all. For all our virtue signalling as a nation, we can be a pretty small minded lot too. It suited us to be on the fence when it came to Ukraine - we'll stand with you lads, but we're not investing in our military, we're not taking a financial hit in sanctioning Russians, and generally we'll just carry on as before until someone embarrasses us into doing something. Sinn Fein aren't interested in anything unless its populist. Especially as they've an old soft spot for the Russians. I'd say plenty of the PBP crowd are the same when it comes to the anti-US capitalist Russia (in their minds). The rest of the opposition are too focussed on their own little patch of grass. The sooner FF/FG go back to hating each other the better for the health of democracy and politics in this country IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,084 ✭✭✭✭briany

I see the war as one man's personal crusade, myself. Putin views Ukraine's independence as a quirk of history, not because Ukraine is really a nation unto itself. So, when Ukraine started making noises about a greater deal of political alignment with Europe and the west generally, he found that to be utterly intolerable. To him, it is all de facto Russia.

But my point was that if the Russian military situation continues to degrade in the face of Ukraine's drone strikes, can Putin pivot to say that it was really about Donbas, and really just the bit that they hold, as well as establishing the land corridor to Crimea? Can he sell that to his people and inner circle? I don't know the answer to that, but it may be a question he has to ask himself at some point because time appears to be running out right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Ukraine definitely wants to stop the war ASAP, for several reasons:

1. Russian drones and missiles are intercepted in huge numbers, but they still kill tens of Ukrainian civilians every week. This must be stopped, for humanitarian and economic reasons.
    2. If the war stops without Ukraine voluntarily surrendering Donbass, it means that Putin lost. Putin must have a symbolic humiliation of Ukraine or all his effort was for nothing, the destroyed occupied territories mean little.
    3. If the war stops now, Russia will have 100s of thousands of trained killers going back home, potentially seriously destabilizing the order in Russia.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I broadly agree with your view on the genesis of this, and the answer to the latter point is that Putin doesn't want to. He doesn't want an offramp. He is now full bore little fuhrer in his bunker thinking that the generals are letting him down and they can still win the war.

This article with hilarious photo of him in his bunker

outlines three options open to Putin:

• keep sending men to their deaths for literally nothing
    • give diplomacy a chance
    • do nothing (a variant of the first)

The fourth, which (alongside your option 1) I think he's clinging to now, being * try to fracture The West - pit US v Europe, pit Leftist Europe v Right Wing Europe - * maintain a chasm between The West and China/ India - * keep China close as an ally * destabilise Western economies - * encourage conflict elsewhere along the borders of the West.

What will do for Putin is an aligned and resolute West and a crashing Russian economy in contrast with the rest of the world doing fine.

Putin doesn't mind Russia's economy crashing if he can point to global turmoil… but if everyone can see that the only major economy suffering is Russia's, I think the chickens will come home to roost fairly quickly. It's why tarriff wars between the US/ Europe/ China suit him down to the ground. Ditto the situation in the middle east. Something kicking off in South America/ Eastern Europe would also make his day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭scottser

This is the lad widely tipped to succeed Putin, his former bodyguard Aleksy Dyumin - one of the only people Putin trusts:

Aleksey Dyumin - Wikipedia

Pun intended but it blows my mind the Russians would stock weapons this close to Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,084 ✭✭✭✭briany

@RoyalCelt

Pun intended but it blows my mind the Russians would stock weapons this close to Ukraine.

Yeah, well they're a bit short on petrol these days.