Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,663 ✭✭✭✭cson

My take too, they're clearly the 3rd best team in the Championship this year and will be playing the 2nd best as an underdog in the semi, free hit for them.

I think the most important thing from this season is turning the squad over in the league and giving lads chances (we rode the 2017 squad for about 5 years too many) and getting the muscle memory of winning Leinster (which given the state of KK, we should probably be looking to tag on another couple of Bob O'Keefe's after this year).

Looks very promising, hopefully the footballers can make it 2 from 2 next weekend and there'll be two big days out for the lads in maroon in Croker over the next month or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,177 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Who are you likely to get in the semi lads? Definite dark horses for Liam.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,471 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

It's likely we'll play the looser of tomorrow's Munster final (maybe Cork, imo). The loosers play offaly and, with the greatest of respect, either Cork or Limerick will win that well imo.

Think we have a year or 2 more development of the younger lads before being serious All-Ireland contenders, tbh. The catch 22, though, is by then Daithi Burke, the 2 mannions and (maybe) Whelan will be gone/gone too old. Same for Conor Cooney.

Cork Vs Galway semi final would be a sellout. Might head up as a neutral but either team would make for a very appealing semi final.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,079 ✭✭✭✭threeball

I think we'd have a good chance next year. Another year S&C for the young lads. Cork will either have sated the appetite or will have suffered another final defeat which could set them back hugely and Limerick will have another year in the legs with a crew pushing 10 years on the go.

We'd need to add another defender or 2, we're well stocked up front with 2 or 3 more coming. Backs are a bit thinner on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭I see sheep

How will tickets work for the semi final I wonder?

I've never seen a full house for one but I guess this may go close to one?

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭Jizique

I think Cork filled it in recent years

They'll fill it again this time as They'll be full sure of turning over Gal-waay 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭I says

Young Neary is an unsung hero of this team so far. The headlines are all about Rabbitte, Niland and Rory but he’ll be mister dependable for years to come. He has a bit about him. He won that free in the 30th minute out on the left using plenty of skill and tenacity to win and hold onto the ball to draw the foul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭I says

You have the biffalys waiting in the long grass they’ve nothing to lose.They didn’t do too bad in the Connacht hurling championship this year 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭King Power Fox

All the talk about Cork getting another crack at Limerick in July. Fogarty in Examiner said they will probably renew rivalry later in the summer, totally disrespectful to the remaining 4 teams. Could Galways young guns show no fear and expose Corks mental scars in Croke Park ( provided they beat Offaly). Galway remind me of Limerick 2018. No pressure and nothing to lose, just tear into them.

Dublin were poor on Saturday but you have to ask the question, would Limerick or Cork have beaten them by any more than we did and I think the answer is no.

Now I think Cork are a worse match up for us than Limerick due to their pace and whether our FB line can hold their FF line.

But it would be sweet to get over them an end Limericks era with an up snd coming team just like they ended ours in 2018. Theres a great opportunity in the next 4-5yrs to try and nab a couple of AI's. Limerick are coming to the end. KK are down for the foreseeable. Clare need a massive rebuild. Cork will be the main threat and another fruitless year could see a good few depart the scene there. Tipp could start to come good if the u20s come through but theres a huge rebuild there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭King Power Fox

I think Galway and Tipp are best placed to take over from Limerick, if Cork do win one soon I can't see them dominating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The problem is Galway are reliant on a few players also well on in years. Burke & Mannion are both in their 30s & near impossible to replace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Feck sake is the Westmeath match sold out?

Was halfway through buying tickets online earlier and got distracted now none for sale.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

True, but Limerick could say the same about Quaid (37 this week) and Dan Morrissey. Granted, only one is an outfield player, but still..

The bigger issue would be if we had a higher percentage of older players still there. Then it would be a bigger issue. Hopefully, the next yeat or 2, a few more of the u20s will filter through - like what's happening with Niland and Rabbitte atm.

Did a woman in a Mayo jersey walk by the window?

I like this new format. So far Kildare Vs Kerry, Westmeath Vs Galway and Louth Vs Armagh all sold out.

Every team will have older players, we just have less of them. But you're right, the main issue is they all play in the same area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭mjp

Just see Westmeath match is now sold out. Got caught on the hop with this and was due to go with young lad and been to all the home games in pearse this year. If anyone has any spare pairs of tickets going could DM me and I'll revolut you the money or meet you there. Didn't expect there to be that big a crowd there that would sell out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭christy c

There's some available online now.

Edit: seem to be gone already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭mjp

I managed to pick up two just there in last 10 mins. Cheers for heads up. Went for another two just after and there was none there. Spoke with co board offices this morning and she said they were told by gaa head office that there was another 1000 tickets out there not sold but they hadn't a clue as to whether they be going up. There's obviously a trickle of them going up on Ticketmaster here n there so worth keeping an eye out there. 26,000 is last capacity figures I seen for pearse. Must be a huge westmeath crowd down for it and will make for good atmosphere with all in maroon there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭MfMan

Availability again now as I type…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭littlevillage

It'll be hilarious..... 🇶🇦

I presume Galway as the home team get to wear the Maroon for the game .... but the supporters will all be basically dressed the same 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Galway are usually white and Westmeath green. Don't think either team wear Maroon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,224 ✭✭✭✭flazio

O'Neill's brought out a new white and blue Galway away kit recently so I imagine they'll be keen to give it a run out. I know there's been a recent push to make kits easier for colour deficiency viewers to distinguish so green and maroon would probably be too close to each other.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,112 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Had a quick gawk on Elverys and both the White with Maroon and White with Blue jerseys are both described as GK jerseys

We might be seeing Galway in their Blue which would be a novelty but would prefer if in white

The Westmeath bottle green jersey is deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,224 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I'm fairly sure I've seen Galway field 14 "goalkeepers" and one "outfielder" in the recent past going by the kits.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭vid36

Galway used wear blue but way back.I think in the 1920s and before.

That would be strange to see a Galway team in blue. But, a few years ago, Cork played in blue and gold as a commemorative thing for something or other. They used to be blue and Gold as well - way back in the day.

White for Galway and Green for Westmeath would avoid the clash of maroon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN