Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Seems odd thought it was tomorrow the fixtures were being announced especially with the Louth venue up in the air .Maybe some small print to be read .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

He probably has to put time and day into his system to set the odds. There is one scheduled for 1700 Sunday Donegal v Cork.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

Think Dublin will be Sunday.
    Ger allowed to take charge if its the Sunday but not if its the Saturday.
    They know the fans are rightfully pissed off with HQ so they will probably do that as a sweetener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭mobby

33/1 PP Dublin Outright winner. It's a long long long time since I have seen odds like these for a Dublin team. Stuck a tenner on for the laugh. 🙃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

should have doubled it up with the hurlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2026/0603/1576520-niall-moyna-dublin-jarlath-burns-reaction/

I didn’t know that Brennan incident actually involved somebody who technically wasn’t part of their backroom team. Which means GAA could of technically not considered it part of the rule breach they used to ban him for the season.

Good to see somebody from Dublin side call out the hypocrisy from GAA. I think Burns would of been better off keeping his mouth shut and just let their mishandling of this filter away.

Also, Brennan can’t even coach his kids ? I mean I presume he doesn’t anyway but that’s a bit steep. Again my biggest issue is if this rule was being applied to Brennan as a “it’s too serious to ignore and we want to stamp out managers engaging opponents” it just looks worse and worse how they bottled the McGuinness incident.

The more I think about the more damaging their handling of this has been. We effectively don’t know how Ger is working out so have lost a year of knowing if we have the right man and we don’t know if things are as bad as they look because Dublin haven’t had a manager for the majority of the serious end of the season.

I’ve been paying a few quid going to all these games with my kids so feel really short changed by this. I get many want to move on but it’s left a really bitter taste for me. I had accepted the decision against Brennan cause it didn’t look good (and I had my kids there) but their mishandling of McGuiness was galling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Gael85

Same every year. GAA hand out bans in the league and come championship rules apply differently.

• Subscribers Posts: 17,215 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

fair play to Moyna for calling it out, total hypocrisy from Jarlath, would’ve expected better from him than sure what can we do the congress made the rules rubbish. Blames congress, the referee, the 4th official and then basically says they know they should have banned McGuinness too but it could have been overturned and that’s even more embarrassing than not enforcing rules in the first place. Really tying himself up in knots with thst logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,248 ✭✭✭MFPM

It was good Moyna spoke out, Burns was completely disingenuous not unlike his position on Allianz earlier in the year.

Some disingenuous bleating from Martin Breheny in the Indo today too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭VONSHIRACH

game confirmed for Sunday 14 June 2pm .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,248 ✭✭✭MFPM

Think it had to be given the controversy. Though GB will have to be a genius to have any real impact by just being on sideline though probably better than Rock..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Good old RTE have it scheduled for Saturday at 9am.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Ger has gotten his lawyer involved. Whatever Burns thought that he'd accomplish with his comments, he has made the situation significantly worse.

“My client considers the description of “irrational” in respect of comparisons with his case and another incident in another game as insulting to those holding that widely held view. Moreover, he is further concerned that the Uachtarán stated that “its more embarrassing for the CCCC to lose a case” brought by it at hearing, appeal, or DRA.

It's fairly damning, to be honest. It's all in legalese, but even so, it's an incredibly bad look for the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Gael85

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Yes, meant to say that it's a damning letter for the GAA, because he makes some great points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭mobby

GAA have made a complete dogs dinner of this whole issue. Burnes statement has just added to the mess. The effect it has had on Dublins championship ambitions have to have been an issue. No one denies Ger Brennan deserved a ban but 12 weeks was an appalling decision, and now it turns out the Galway lad was not even part of the backroom team. Ye couldn't make this up. And people wonder why Dublin supporters have given up going to games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,304 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Jaysus, I didn't realise the ban carries over to the 2027 league campaign as well. We should just bloody well ignore that part if I'm being honest.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

They were afraid of the backlash from Mcguinness imo, too high profile, brennan is not.

We saw Murphy getting away with as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭Jizique

Dublin regained Leinster, few expected them to. They really aren't great and using the ban to camouflage this and say this is why crowds are down is naive at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Burns loves the sound of his own voice.

Fair enough, McGuinness got lucky on a technicality/loophole - good luck to him. We move on.

But for Burns to say it's "irrational" to compare the two similar incidents……like, does he think people are idiots? The whole country was comparing the two incidents. Brennan is right that it's insulting. No need for Burns to say that, or be saying anything more these incidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,130 ✭✭✭Trampas

I think it was more they’d have to both McGuinness and Clifford.

Sometimes you’ve got to stop digging and burns took out the big shovel

I'd argue a manager putting hands on an opposition player is way worse than what Ger did, who was basically getting a bowsy, who had no business being on the field, away from one of his players.

Of course, Burn's won't acknowledge that McGuinness is in the golden circle of the GAA so going after him would be going after one of the boys.

To be honest, I'm loving this pushback from Ger and the team. Long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,054 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

What on earth is the golden circle of the GAA and how does one become part of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Shhh, the first rule of the golden circle of the GAA is that you don’t talk about the golden circle of the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The part of the GAA where a “nod and a wink” is not even needed. The part where “We’ll look after you” is implicitly understood. Ger Brennan clearly is not in that circle. Had the decency to remain quiet until the President of the association made some ill thought out and unwise comments on his case. This is 2026 and it is still going on.

Which proved that the GAA is still about the amount of “pull” an individual has. It is not based on consistency or fairness. Burns seemed more concerned with the optics of the GAA losing a case, and potentially banning a high profile manager for basically the duration of the championship. A normally very careful Burns basically said the quiet part out loud. The fact he felt comfortable in saying it, further belittles Ger Brennan. It is no wonder Brennan instructed a solicitor.

Burns proceeded to hide behind the convention that the refs report is “sacrosanct” ! It is not likes priest in confession.

A new precedent could have been set for management and coaching staff with retrospective action via video evidence; irregardless of whether it was in the refs report or not in exceptional circumstances.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Exactly this, normally Burns is way more savvy than that, really surprised at him.

Did he think his comments would dampen down the story “nothing to see here lads” type of thing. I would view this as Burns first major error of his presidency. He was impressive until this .

Comments he made are now on public record and can be taken apart by legal professionals as an example of the real thinking of the GAA hierarchy. Instead of letting it be, we now see the mindset of the GAA in very high profile circumstances.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Well said Gorm. I'm also calling BS on his comments. There's been plenty of examples were they were willing to stretch the infallibility of the refs report when it suited then. Funnily enough some of these included Dublin players, what a coincidence.

He felt comfortable saying it because it involved a Dub and he didn't think he'd get any pushback on it. So I'm delighted Ger and others have started to kick up a fuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭Martin567

Dublin didn't regain Leinster. Westmeath are champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Ah come on ger pulled the guys earpiece and then shoved him to the ground. Saying he shouldn't have been there is an excuse. He was way out of order, though I do agree 12 weeks is very harsh

Who's making excuses? Just laying out the facts. McGinn got a fair lesser ban even though he instigated it and had no business being on the field either. Sure, Ger deserved a ban but 12 weeks, plus 30% of 2027 NFL games, along with not being able to coach go-games or take training? That's completely ridiculous.