Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I didn't say it was Rock's fault. He has been put in an awful position, through no fault of his own.

I don't think even the 00's lads were as mentally fragile as this group. At least the 00's group had a misplaced confidence in themselves. This group of footballers overall don't even have that. If Ger Brennan manages to lift them after this it will be some achievement.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Dessie Dolan on commentary yesterday, seriously suggested that Cluxton goes back in goal.

And Cluxton going back in goal, would really send out the wrong message to the other two keepers. But Cluxton himself was really starting to show his age in the last year he played. It would be an embarrassing look. But at least he would be calm and not lacking in confidence.

O'Sullivan plus points (I thought until yesterday)

1. is that he can take two pointers (he didn't step up for any yesterday v Louth)
    2. He wasn't as nervy as Comerford (that theory went out the window yesterday)

If a goalkeeper is nervy a team has no hope. It is bad enough with a keeper playing behind an inexperienced back line.

Alternative would be find an average keeper at club level who is vocal and grizzled, keep that defence in order. It is a pity Mayo got Hennelly back. As with him being in Raheny he might have been tempted to line out for the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I’m a fair weather fan? Weird insinuation to just throw out out of nowhere! But not surprising from somebody who doesn’t really know what they are talking about. Been following Dublin since 80s, I can’t correct your post cause you can’t really fix nonsense.

I didn’t say Dublin didn’t have a fanbase , I said they didn’t have a fanbase that you should expect big crowds at low ranking games. At least only respond to what you understand before trying to cobble together a preferably more coherent response.

I don’t care about other Dublin fans not going to games , I’m just responding to thick uninformed posts about the fanbase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭VONSHIRACH

Very disappointing yesterday. The first 10 minutes of the 2nd half were hard to witness.
    4 goals conceded was fatal and inability to score goals when it seemed easier to do so was telling.
    Dublin had some good scores and really should have beaten Louth but the 2nd half became a dogfight. It’s a seismic defeat. The last Louth goal was embarrassing and the other ball should have been forcefully fisted out. Louth players running upfield and scoring without a hand laid on them in any tackle also. Congratulations to Louth on reversing their big LSFC defeat.
    It’s last chance saloon now with the next game a knockout. In 2026 the GAA makes everyone wait until Tuesday morning for a draw…..on radio..

At least everyone has the same preparation time now. Totally wrong that provincial finalists had significantly less time to prepare and focus than their opponents on these games and it was a factor in all games.
    I haven’t been to the new Newbridge, hope we get Kildare there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Really think that is a non runner ref Cluxton ,its a huge concern that for the second game in a row we failed to start up again in the second half,a nine point turnaround in under ten mins yesterday was disgraceful .Hugh might have done better if we had no let Louth have that second half start which is obvious I suppose as it was us who should have got a couple of scores to snuff out any ideas Louth would get about a comeback .Louth fair play to them smelt blood after a few mins on the restart and we had no answer and the last goal really showed the mess we are in .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,771 ✭✭✭dobman88

I said at the time when people were calling for Dessie to go, including some posters in here, that I thought it was premature and he was doing a good job with a limited squad. Brennan was the flavour of the month after the top class job he did with Louth but stepping into what I would say is a top 2 or 3 job in the country carries massive expectations.

I don't think Fenton stepping away in his prime has helped matters either. Could do with someone like him to steady things and with the way kick outs are now he'd clean up in midfield. And then the Con injury just exacerbates that because of how good he is, that goal yesterday for example was far more difficult than he made it look.

So it just seems to be a run of bad luck all coming at the same time along with the team being in transition leading to poor/annoying results in an already difficult period.

Think it was the end of his term so Dessie was going either way and the idea of staying maybe one more year proberly wouldn't have been a great idea.Of course a big problem we had was that we had almost nobody with inter County experience other than Ger.It has gone badly but I doubt Dessie could have done much more with what's about .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I think Cluxton in goals would make little difference. When Cluxton was in goals he had 3-4 different runners to work of, even Commerford used to have them early in the season 2-3 years ago. You need young fit players to do that. I love to see the ground covered by the Dublin players I expect its away back on other teams.

Fenton saw the writing on the wall, no point hanging around. And the team.us not in transition, its an old team getting older every year. Mayo threw a couple young lads in the deep end yesterday. I suspect that AOS will only be a sub from now on. Kerry probably used more new players this year than Dublin did

Slava Ukrainii

Fair point about it being end of term for him. I think he'd have done better staying on that what dublin are seeing now though tbh but I know that's just 100% hindsight talking. Dessie won the all Ireland, he would have brought a bit of continuity with another term and give Brennan (or whoever else) some time to have a proper go at it. I thought it was too early for Brennan when he took the job but we will have to wait until his term ends to judge him fully.

And I concede the point you made about other managers with experience. I don't know that much about the scene in Dublin to know who's who so i can't comment on that

We can all say things with hindsight ,the last year with Dessie and getting beaten by Galway proberly seemed the natural end of the road with Dessie .I think a lot of people thought we might be re energised with a new manager and some not sure why thought Jack and Paul would return .The penny started to drop a little when the paucity of suitable candidates became clear .I also would have had reservations about Ger getting the job early and definitely had them when his backroom team was announced. Ger has a lot of things to do to get back his creditability back but has to be given a bit of time hopefully a bit of experience from somewhere to help him which I think he certainly needs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,130 ✭✭✭Trampas

If Dublin end up playing on the Saturday it’s quite obvious it’s done deliberately to keep Ger out and makes it more farcical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭GHendrix

The thing is, I could put up with bad results if I could see what we are trying to do. But I see no real identity in this team. We’re not very strong in attack. We don’t score many goals or 2 pointers. Not very fast in attack either.

And we’re not particularly strong at defence either. Give away way too many soft points, goals, 2 pointers. As a team we fall apart easily.

I’m struggling to even see right now what it is that we’re trying to execute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,248 ✭✭✭MFPM

14th is about right..3 years ago they were ranked 1....some drop off...

So, draw tomorrow, what's the feeling? I tend to think an away draw might not be the worst given performances in CP. I think Cavan, Kildare are the best draws in terms of progress, but I think it's just a stay of execution, hard to see them progressing the following match to a QF . I really dont want Kerry.....

I think they'll schedule the match on Sunday to allow GB be on the sideline but if it's on Saturday then I think GB should just ignore the ban and turn up...as Oisin mc Conville suggested today...

The alternative coaching team around Darcy always seemed preferable to me though not sure how real it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,304 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Just a continuation of where we left off under Dessie really.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Are you getting your conspiracy theories lined up before the draw? What real difference is it going to make if ger is on the line after being "out" for 12 weeks.

Cavan away...probably best result bar Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,130 ✭✭✭Trampas

Will they try and temp them along with Kildare to move them to Croker?

Not a bad draw at least its not away to Kerry where a mauling would be likely ,its last chance saloon to regain a bit of respectability before the inevitable beating which hopefully won't be too severe ,then get back to the drawing board .

I'd say Cavan will want home advantage notwithstanding Dublin's abysmal showing in CP lately.

at least an away game will hide the embarrassing attendance from the Dublin fans. Hopefully those that do attend will start to create some atmosphere, it’s been horrendous lately from the few that do attend, very muted and defeatist, no getting behind the players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭GHendrix

I think a lot of people don’t seem to understand the championship format at the moment.

I saw people on actual Dublin GAA social media pages saying it was better to lose to Louth because now Louth have Armagh and we have Cavan.

I get the impression they don’t realise that Louth can lose that and not be out. But we’re gone if we don’t win. And we’ll still have another round with a tricky opponent if we do win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I’m happy away, our best performances last 2 years were on the road. Also more fun as a fan.

Was really as good a draw as we could of hoped.

In fairness to the Dub fans, the fact they usually congregate behind a goal at away games always makes for a great atmosphere. I always enjoy seeing them in Tralee anyway.

Good point even the the 00's you had Alan Brogan. And that mad run of scoring Cossi went on in the 02 championship. There is nothing for the more casual fan to get enthused about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

The dubs will travel to breffni in big numbers albeit cos half of ye are in Cavan already

But one thing for sure is that ye will bring a bit of atmosphere to the place before handing out the inevitable beating

So come in your big numbers and spend plenty lol

A Cavan person telling others to spend money….

🤤

That Virginia is a nightmare to drive out of after matches there even in the league. Anyone selling sandwiches in Virginia will make fortunes on that alone.

At this stage Cavan and Dublin are two well met teams. Might be a tough one to call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭poppers

Virginia is a disaster every day game or no game anyone travelling give yourself at least an extra hr to get through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭VONSHIRACH

Saturday 13

All Ireland Football1 X 2 Cavan Dublin 14:00

A well known bookmakers has betting up for all the SFC games and has dates and times up but how is that possible before even the GAA website……