Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,622 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

If I was Farrell, I'd be very tempted to leave all 4 home. Aki and Henshaw are over the hill, and should've been jettisoned last season. Ringrose just doesn't deliver for me, and seems to get selected more by default than anything else. McCloskey is brilliant, but given his age, might not hurt to be judicious with his usage. He'd probably be mad keen to play though, given how long he's been behind other players.

We have so many young centres in form, who we should be blooding with a view towards the WC. The lack of threat from our centres, McCloskey aside, has been a big part of our issues in attack since the last WC. We use our wingers to provide the line breaks that other teams get from their centres.

Osborne has been a disappointment at 12 so far, hopefully that's more reflective of Leinster's poor attack. At least one of Osborne, Frawley, Postlewaithe, Gavin, Forde or Tector should be starting every international for the rest of the season, injuries permitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭50HX

You can bet any centrally contracted player wont be left at home to rest up.

Osbourne will play all of them internationals either as a starter or sub.

RWC centres...Aki,Henshaw,Ringrose & Stu Mc with Osbourne as back up, possibly Frawley as well depending how his Connacht time goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,622 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

That would be an unmitigated disaster of a selection. I can't believe Farrell would be so blinded by loyalty or sentiment to think they are up to the task.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭50HX

Ringrose & Stu are certs to start & i'd be amazed if Henshaw didnt go, i'm more doubtful on Aki.

I just can't see centrally contracted players not being bled for the last drop they've to give, wheather we think they are good enough or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭ersatz

Yeah, I wish we had a young player who could take the jersey off GR, but he is still far better than any of the alternatives.

What other alternatives are there though? Was thinking about it yesterday, for most of his career, he's had pretty much no competition for the jersey. Henshaw would've been, but since he was elite at 12 and 13, he just shifted inside. Hume seemed to get injured everytime he was in good enough form to get looked at, Olding was a ****, and Munster haven't produced a centre in decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,974 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

We've got two very talented 13s over in Connacht. You've all heard of Hugh Gavin but while he was out injured Harry West stepped in and was outstanding.

The Connacht lads are promising and Postlethwaite is in the mix with Irleand A at least. He's 24 and a unit, not sure what his ultimate standard is, also Tector at Leinster has played 13 afaik, he is very skilled. West is exciting at Connacht, he's impressed a lot of people over th last couple months. Anyway, about time some of these lads are given a run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Although I would rate him primarily as a 12, Postlethwaite has played a few times at 13 this season. Would rather see him at inside centre, but there's so much traffic there.

Hume looked like he was going to get back to his best this season, but - inevitably - was injured quite a bit towards the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭bingobango12

We actually look ok at centre if some of the lads above are thrown in and given a few chances. McCloskey is clear first choice and Ringrose is still probably first choice 13 but I would definitely be looking to at least have Postlethwaite, Hume, Tector in a training squad to have a look. Gavin is a unit but is poor defensively, very young so this is not a huge issue imo at this stage of his development. A pity he picked up that injury last weekend. I haven't seen a huge amount of West so can't comment. Dan Kelly looks a good player also. Hugh Cooney is a good young physical player. Has been injured a bit this season and wouldn't be ready quite yet but at 22 has lots of potential.

Frawley and Osbourne will be around also who can play centre so I would hope both Henshaw and Aki are left at home for the summer to recuperate after the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FtD v2

This was my team from a few weeks back (before URC Round 18), and going to make a couple of injury adjusted tweaks to it:

• Hookers: Dan Sheehan, Ronan Kelleher, Tom Stewart
    • LHPs: Andrew Porter, Paddy McCarthy, Billy Bohan, Tom O'Toole
    • THPs: Tom Clarkson, Tadhg Furlong, Finlay Bealham, Sam Illo
    • Locks: James Ryan, Tadhg Beirne, Joe McCarthy, Darragh Murray, Edwin Edogbo
    • Back Row: Caelan Doris, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan, Nick Timoney, C Prendergast
    • Scrum Half: Jamison Gibson Park, Nathan Doak, Craig Casey
    • Out Half: Jack Crowley, Harry Byrne, Ciaran Frawley, Sam Prendergast
    • Centre: Garry Ringrose, Stuart McCloskey, Robbie Henshaw, Bundee Aki, Jude Postlethwaite
    • Back Three: Hugo Keenan, Tommy O'Brien, Robert Baloucoune, James Lowe, Jimmy O'Brien, Jamie Osborne, Zac Ward

Development Players: Bryn Ward, Ben Murphy

Assumed injured: Jacob Stockdale, Jack Boyle, Mack Hansen, Ryan Baird, Paddy McCarthy, Shayne Bolton

Thinking

• LHP - I should have had O'Toole in originally. Bohan goes as #3, with a view to getting on the bench against Japan. He offers considerably more upside than Loughman or Milne (who may be injured anyway)
    • THP - I've gone for Illo over Bealham; seems little point in carrying both Bealham & Furlong, and Illo deserves inclusion IMO
    • Locks - Seems unlikely we'll bring all of D Murray, Edogbo & Izuchukwu. I've assumed Izuchukwu to be on the outside of those three based on the 6Ns. Edogbo's injury status could change things.
    • Back Row - There's an argument to bring Sean Jansen, but he's too similar in style to Jack Conan IMO, and just an 8 really in positional terms.
    • Out Half - if healthy then Crowley & Frawley are sure to travel. I think Sam will have nudged back in ahead of Harry over the past two weekends, but there's a possibility both could travel depending on Crowley's injury status.
    • Centre - given contract status and 6N selections I fully expect both Aki & Henshaw to be selected. I'd go for Jude Postlethwaite over Tom Farrell (who may well be injured anyway I think) as he is a lot younger with more potential upside.

I wouldn't bring Zac Ward, he's been really poor in defense too many times. Needs to improve that aspect before he can be looked at, same as Kenny. Lowry deserves a call up, he's been excellent this season. One of the best back 3 players in the country imo. Disagree on Prendergast, Byrne is still comfortably better, if only because he can tackle. The difference in effort between his hit on Woki and Prendergast's flap couldn't be more stark.

Can't see how you can put Edogbo ahead of Izuchukwu, other than a nebulous view of potential. Izzy has been excellent and with Baird's absence, he brings an athletic profile sorely lacking. Edogbo just hasn't shown the consistent performances and stamina to prove he's ready for international duty. I'd take both if possible, but Izzy should be in line to compete for the starting 6 shirt, along with Prendergast and Conan. Honestly wouldn't be against them leaving Conan out of the squad.

Lowry is not a winger, and I don't see them looking at him at full back when they have Keenan and Osborne there.

If not Zac Ward, what wingers are you bringing?

I agree Ward has weaknesses: his defence, kicking and fielding are all below par, but he's also big and strong and fast, and scores tries. It's worth taking a closer look at him.

Izuchukwu and Edogbo aren't playing the same position; hence the split. Edogbo is a pure TH lock, of which we are lacking. If he's healthy, it absolutely makes sense to bring him again.

Izuchukwu is another tweener hybrid / LH lock / blindside. He's competing with lots of players, but I wouldn't be shocked to see him tour, Farrell has liked him in the past.

I like Ward too, but I don't think he's shown the ability to perform at that level yet unfortunately. Had a horrorshow vs Montpelier, and previously for Ireland A. Lowry is class, and I'd much rather him at FB than Osborne tbh. He's a very talented player, and plays above his stature. His ability to step in at 10 too makes him a very versatile option. Osborne should be at 12/13 going forward exclusively imo. Both Keenan and JOB are superior at 15 alone. With respect Edogbo and Izuchukwu, if I can only take one, I'm taking Izzy. He's a proven performer, and can play in the 2nd row. He's just a superior player at this point in time, and should've had more game time in the 6Ns imo. Happy to see Edogbo get squad time as a development player, but I don't think he has the fitness and skills yet to contribute much at international level yet.

I dunno if he does (Lowry) tbh - he's a good rugby player but a fundamentally poor athlete at this level. He's brave and committed etc, but it doesn't make any difference. I'd have no confidence in him playing 15 for Ireland in a big test match.

As I said before - I don't see it as an Edogbo or Izuchukwu - they don't play the same position. And, fwiw, Izuchukwu missed a lot of time this year with injuries too.

I like Izuchukwu, I think he's really talented, but we're not short of big athletic rangy sixes - we have Ryan Baird, Cian Prendergast, Tom Ahern, Alex Soroka, and probably James McNabney coming back into the fold (and not to mention Jack Conan is still the incumbent at 6).

We are short of heavy TH locks after Joe McCarthy, so we need to get some minutes and exposure into Edogbo IMO.

Yeah, Izzy for me is an X factor player, does the job in scrum and lineout but is the kind go guy who can operate as another quick back in attacking play. Rugby is definitely going in his direction.

Certainly agree on the need for a player of Edogbo's profile. Mangan is another lad who's impressed this season, can't remember what side he slots in at. I think we need to look at moving past Conan as a starter, or at least be willing to countenance someone else ahead of him. Baird probably would've taken the shirt if he'd stayed healthy, and I think Prendergast has been in irresistible form the last few months.

I'd disagree on Lowry's athleticism, he's looked very quick and twitchy any time I've watched him this season. He has a level of playmaking that we could do with, especially in the absence of Hansen and Lowe.

I'd love to see Cian Prendergast get the chance to stake a claim on the 6 shirt this summer, I think he's earned the right after a really strong 2026 to date.

Mangan, thus far, scrummages on the loose head side. Even when alongside Brian Deeny (who you'd think Mangan is more powerful than), Deeny tends to switch to TH lock. Mangan is another good player, but another one of those hybrid lock / flanker types.

I just don't see it on Lowry - the nightmare scenario for me would be a situation where we have Lowry, Sam Prendergast and Craig Casey on the field at the same time. Three exceptionally poor defenders. You can't carry that kind of risk IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,862 ✭✭✭leakyboots

I dunno how Lowry hasn't gotten more of a look-in at 15, especially in a relatively pedestrian backline like we often put out and have been putting in wingers and centres out of position when Keenan was out.

I do - it's because he's 5ft 5ins tall and weighs around 77kgs, and even for that, he's not exceptionally fast.

If Leinster win on Saturday against the Stormers, the first test in Sydney against Australia is 2 weeks after the URC Grand Final.

When you consider a sizable chunk of the squad were playing last August for the Lions, and most then played a very season in Europe, URC and internationally for Ireland, it's definitely a huge amount of rugby to be putting on the players.

I've been thinking about this and the impact for next season. An aspect of Leinster's so so form has to be the Lions disputing the Summer and players return. This Summer w the Nations thing will be just as intense for even more players.

It can't be as intense, it's still just three games, and it's done and dusted by July 18th.

The URC season doesn't begin until the end of September.

The Lions tour by contrast was 5 weeks in total (plus more time in camp before that), and was a 10-game tour altogether (although granted no one played that many games).

I definitely agree though that it's likely been a big factor this year. It's just a huge amount of big games, different tournaments etc to keep trying to get yourself up for.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The irritating gap between the URC final and first Nations League game seems entirely to placate the french. If they dont send a full team after this...

Right, I misunderstood the format and thought there were more games. Basically the same as a Summer/Autumn series, but with a league table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭DBK1

Something that’s never referenced when your listening to all the waffle about Leinster being “a team of internationals” that are “the most expensive club team in the world”

The rest of the Provinces don’t know how lucky they are to have the majority of their frontline players fully rested coming into every season and under full control of their province whereas Leinster have a team of worn out Internationals that spend most of the season recovering from fatigue and injury from test matches and then when they are fit they’re following rtp protocols.

The sooner the rest of the Provinces start doing some of the hard work to produce test level players the better for Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭shinana abu

Accurate , well stated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

Cian has a great shot at nailing down the 6 shirt imo. He's really moved up a level since the 6 Nations. He can't really have any complaints after getting the start in Paris and not doing himself justice but on the other hand everyone else involved that day got another opportunity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,368 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I think a fit Ryan Baird is a level above any other blindside flanker Ireland can field, bar Beirne. Unfortunately, he's been hampered by two leg fractures this season. Hopefully he recovers fully and is ready for the start of next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,049 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

CP did get a run against England, in fairness, but I agree he deserves a decent run this summer, especially in Baird's absence. I hope Conan is limited to bench impact and Beirne stays in the second row.