Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Completely agree about the SA commentators. Great knowledge of players which they use to paint a picture as they call the game. Very even handed too.

The general commentary around the game and social media stuff is very tribal and footballesque. Victor Matfield was talking about Ireland had become arrogant. He said back in the day, it didn't matter who won, they went for beers after the game and had the craic. My guy, it didnt matter to you who won because SA won almost all the games. The only thing that's changed is that Ireland wins around half the games so now we're arzeholes.

But that's social media commentary. Balanced commentary wouldn't get any traction. I'll bet they look at Irish social media and get the same outrage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭johnh6767

O’Connor comes across as incredibly arrogant. They have created & nurtured this combative attitude and are now relishing the story being about Jacques/ Leo v media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

I'll have to hand it to Nienaber, he's certainly making it crystal clear.

Asked whether he expects to remain with Leinster next season, the 53-year-old said: “Let me put it this way, do you know who fires you? The public, the media, they fire you.

“Not the (Leinster Rugby) CEO, Shane (Nolan) – he doesn’t fire me. But you guys (the media) fire all coaches because the pressure builds up and builds up. The fan then builds the pressure on them and then they just say, ‘Listen lads, I think we must part ways’.

“Your question is, am I going to be here? I hope so. Currently I’m not sure, to be honest, because people don’t value me here. They don’t.”

Asked whether Cullen values his contribution, Nienaber suggested that was not the decisive factor.

“The moment you lose the changingroom or the club’s fan-base, you’ve got to go,” he said. “You could just hang there and take your cheque, but no. They don’t want you there.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/2026/06/02/people-dont-value-me-here-jacques-nienaber-claims-leinster-future-in-doubt-due-to-public-criticism/

He's 100% correct. We dont value him here.

Thanks and goodbye.

Never have I heard a coach in Irish rugby issue such a clarion call - 'Fire Me'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 FestivalFrank

Great news. Ridiculous bringing him in based on his style and the fact that he would likely be going back to south africa for the world cup having coached the bulk of the Irish team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,287 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

O'Connor doesn't bother me at all, just a journalist doing his job.

Criticism of the teams style of play has largely been reasonable, Nienaber has hardly been eviscerated by the media.

And if he can't handle a fairly benign comment thats still living rent free in his head 17 months after it was made, probably best that he moves on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭jimbob955

I watched the lions game, really impressed by Leinster, to get back up and go again after last weekend, the intensity and how easy it was in the end
    It got me thinking how come they can’t do it against Bordeaux

One theory in my head, are Leinster too used to home comforts, Leinster have played a ridiculous amount of play off games and finals at home since Covid

And then by association the same lads are used to playing at home with Ireland

Is it when Leinster have to play a big away from home that are just not used to it, not used to a different ground, different environment on a big day and struggle, is this a contributory factor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭FtD v2

They're right to be a bit aggrieved that they're held to an entirely different standard to the other provinces, and 90%+ of other European clubs.

I would argue the Irish media are very culpable for completely devaluing the league as an accomplishment, as they tend to talk it down at every juncture, and I've heard directly from current Leinster players how frustrated they were at how little fanfare there was about winning the league last year.

Ah, sometimes in rugby a team gets on top and prevents the other team playing. This week leinster got on top and prevented Lions from putting anything together. Last week, Bordeaux did the same to leinster. The difference between the teams is exaggerated when one team prevents the other team from playing.

Leinster were just a little more physical, faster, and put Lions on the back foot which creates a bit more space and makes it harder to stop the momentum. The small advantages can build on each other and it ends in a blow-out scoreline.

I think it's actually pretty rare to have two teams playing really well and slogging it out. Ireland V New Zealand in the world cup comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,880 ✭✭✭leakyboots

That's the Dublin meeja for ya lads 😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭johnh6767

If any other Provence won the Challenge cup it would be hailed as a massive success. When it comes to Leinster even URC is rubbished up front as a failed season given the European Cup wasn’t won. So it’s either absolute perfection of pure s#%¥ , nothing in between

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭jimbob955

Yes I know that Leinster were well on top v the Lions. But is there some kind of mental block when Leinster haev to play a big Finals game away from home? Just something I thought of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭OldRio

No. Luck in a number of games or lack of. Totally out coached in the BB game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭OldRio

And as for being out coached look at the Northampton game.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I would argue the Irish media are very culpable for completely devaluing the league as an accomplishment, as they tend to talk it down at every juncture, and I've heard directly from current Leinster players how frustrated they were at how little fanfare there was about winning the league last year.

I would argue that Leinster are partly culpable in this too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,087 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

just a journalist doing his job.

A journalist is supposed to have some sort of impartiality and is supposed to report on things but is not supposed to become part of the story himself. None of those apply here.

It looks like RoC is rebranding himself as a controversial hard-hitting pundit, which is fair enough, but he's not really a 'journalist' any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,287 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

I agree that the URC has been devalued by the media but also by a lot of fans. And so have Leinster who consistently market the European Cup as the big goal. There's probably a hangover from when dominated it for years that winning it is the norm which I would disagree with.

That said, are you suggesting that Leinster should be held to the same standards as Scarlets or Zebre? They're in the top 10% of clubs in Europe so should be held to a higher standard. Every top team in their sport are held to higher standards, not sure why that's controversial.

Journalist, rugby correspondent, whatever... Nienaber getting so wound up about a very old comment, particularly when hes worked with someone like Rassie, is a bit soft.

No, I'm obviously not suggesting we be held to the same standards as Zebre or Scarlets ffs, and no where did I say that.

But I would compare us to the Bulls, for example. A team that fielded a side last weekend that had 12 Springboks in their starting XV (and another 2 or 3 on the bench). They've won nothing in years, and have made it past the Round of 16 in Europe once in their history, yet don't come in for criticism like Leinster do.

Even Toulouse - they crashed out of Europe in the QF this year - well beaten by Bordeaux, but were only playing Bordeaux because they lost twice in their pool.

The other Irish provinces are very routinely written up as gallant losers when they lose a meaningful game, whereas Leinster will regularly be criticised for not winning stylishly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,087 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

The four consecutive Pro14 titles we won are dismissed because the SA teams weren't there. The URC we won last year was dismissed because we choked "when it mattered". In the run-up to the Bordeaux game, one of the most regular posters here claimed that Leinster were the only URC team who ever got to European SFs because the others don't care about Europe. Sorry?!

Come Saturday night, they'll all be hoping we lose so the cycle can start again. And I count a lot of Leinster people in that.

I was in the pub watching the Champions League final on Saturday and I was struck by the number of Irish people cheering for PSG, or rather cheering for Arsenal to lose, and it's the exact same mentality at play here. It just seems a very odd approach to me, but each to his own I guess.

RoC has obviously twigged what drives traffic to independent.ie and he's going to milk it for all he's worth.

I think they keep coming up against teams that are peaking and will have a trough. Leinster doesn't have a big peaks and hasn't had as big troughs in the last 18 years (retirements and Matt o Connor period aside). The other teams have tended to be really peaking and were better than leinster in most of the finals. Bordeaux is better than leinster this season. It's disappointing but i think it's the flipside of being incredibly consistent and without going bust to buy short term performance.

Beating La Rochelle the last couple of years is little consolation, but would leinster fans prefer to have been more peaky? Beat La rochelle, win the CC in 22 and 23 and then not make the round of 16 and finish 8th in the league this year? I doubt leinster fans would be happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,854 ✭✭✭theVersatile

If any other coach of any other team made those comments, people would be saying their heads are gone.

I agree that Irish sports media is absolutely muck (and that ROC in particular is a gowl of the highest order), but unfortunately it's part of the job for a Head Coach (especially one with the ambition of Leinster). If they can't handle it, feel free to walk out the door.

I can't help but feel that Leo and Jacques haven't quite dealt with this well, compared to say McMillan's handling of the whole RR-fiasco down south.

Maybe it's a tool to light a fire in the players' bellies with an us-versus-them attitude, I don't know.

You said that "they're right to be a bit aggrieved that they're held to an entirely different standard to the other provinces, and 90%+ of other European clubs"

Given that there are 40 top tier European teams (including the SA teams with the URC) 90%+ is at least 36 of those teams of which Scarlets (which is just a random example) would be a part of.

Point is, which you seem to be agreeing with, is that they should be held to a higher standard than the majority of other teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 FestivalFrank

I'd accept Leinsters current dip a lot more if

1. They didnt choke against la rochelle that year
    2. They made the champions cup final last year and put in a performance

You have to make hay when the sun is out and Cullen has failed with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

I don't. Complete distraction against the poor job he has done and the decline in skills of our players since he got here.

And I'm no fan of O'Connor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Very hard on players who have grown up with the drift defence to change to a rush defence, play for Ireland, back to a drift defence, back to Leinster "are we still playing rush defence", Ringrose's head in particular must be flaked out.

Farrell must have been involved from A-Z on the appointment and continuation of JN's contract, Leo would not have done this without Farrell's involvement.

Saw this headline last week but the actual comments from O'Callaghan (hardly one of the great intellectuals of the game tbf) are somehow even worse:

He calls the decision to start Tom Clarkson over Tadhg Furlong in the European Cup Final "a bigger mistake than not starting Jordie Barrett v Northampton" - in a comment that shows how little rugby he actually watches anymore. Beyond anything else - our scrum was absolutely fine in the final, and Furlong did nothing when he eventually came onto the field. Clarkson has comprehensively outplayed Furlong all season.

I've be very doubtful Farrell was involved. The IRFU Performance Director (it would still have been Nucifora at the time) would have had some input into the decision, but Leinster are the ones paying him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,376 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

O'Callaghan couldn't make it more obvious that he doesn't actually watch Leinster games. Clarkson has been our best tight head for the guts of 18 months now and been a big part in our scrum successes over the Bulls and Toulon.

MOD EDIT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Your first mistake was reading anything that Donnacha O'Callaghan has said or written. MOD EDIT

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

MOD can we please stop the insults of pundits.