Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 NJoyKkGAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

You're spot on, f**k Johnny Murphy but right now we have a Leinster semi final to play and it's knockout for us. Like the old days.

Hopefully we'll embrace it and we win. Dubs are qualified. That may help

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

It's funny. All Ireland's are hard to come by and it's been so long for us it seems like Everest. Yet last year Tipp won one from absolutely nowhere. From further back than where we are now.
    I said that they were possibly the most fortunate and maybe even the worst All Ireland champions ever, and now we now that's probably true.

I also think the gravy train they're convincing themselves they have coming, may not be quite what they thought.
    From what I've seen I wouldn't swap what we have coming, with what's coming from across the border. Our issues the last 2 or 3 years may have been less to do with talent, and more to do with Co Boartd incompetence.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

My thoughts entirely on the last few sentences Chaz . It kills me when people say we haven’t the players, it showed tonight, Bolger ,Doyle, Moore and Shine all very good, it’s the structures are the problem I was delighted to see Shane Murphy introduced.

Tipp virtually gone now probably some of those lads might not see an all Ireland medal again, too young to appear what they achieved and thought it would be no bother to repeat it, never going to be easy. They could make a big mistake by replacing Liam Cahill.wonder will Sheedy give an analysis of Tipps demise tomorrow night on the Sunday game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭conor05

I wouldn’t be dismissing Tipps achievement last year or their young talent coming through, some serious hurlers in the pipeline from what I’ve seen and the reality of it is Kilkenny so far have beaten a truly desperate Wexford team, Kildare and drew with Offaly.

The real test was Galway a few weeks ago now another big game b Dublin, albeit they are guaranteed to qualify anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

My feeling on Tipp last year is they got a head of steam up through the back door and then lady luck was on their side. They have a lot of young hurlers and will come back.

Under age success doesnt always mean you will be successful at senior. The history books tell us that. It helps though. I always feel that KK playes development is better with time than some other counties.

The players are always there in KK as the great Ollie Walsh said to me before he became manager. You just have to look. I think that was one of Cody's great traits. He knew the players up and down the county from going to as many games as he could at all levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

Have to disagree on Cody, he set up the first two goals brilliantly and really stood up at the start of the second half, yes he might not of scored until well ahead but he linked everything and worked his Bollix off, he is clearly lacking some confidence with the missed chances but he doesn't shy away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭robbiezero

The most fortunate All Ireland champs? To win an AI in the round robin era? Hardly.

And what exactly is coming from across the border?

All I am seeing is a team getting worse, year on year since Cody stepped down and no obvious well of talent to draw on over the next number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Yeah once he set Tj up for the goal I thought he really clicked into gear and you could see his confidence rising all the time he started winning the ball first time and taking on his man he also set up shines goal aswell I’m sure

Where as the first half nothing went right and you could see he missed a few shots the confidence was low

Everyone in the stand just wanted him to get a score as you could see it wasn’t happening for him

Fair play to him for working himself into the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Yes. It did click for him 2nd half but we are so reliant on his creativity we need him on it from the start. Let's hope he pushes on in parnell Park. It may not be coincidental that mullen coming on had a role in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Tipp have won 2 underage All Irelands against Kilkenny in Nowlan park the last few years. I read lately here that 13man tipp winning minor side were nearly at an advantage and had it stayed 15 on 15 Kilkenny would have won. Non-sensical arguments, your posts are normally informative but your anti-tipp bias is a bit ott. Tipp u 20s hammered Kilkenny last year yet you would rather what ye have coming, again at the moment that is a non-sensical argument to have.

Seems every All Ireland Tipp win is handy according to some online.

I thought Cody was busting a gut to get on the score sheet and had himself under pressure.He actually passed good ball yesterday and if he could only see the benefits of this he would be brilliant. Keher, DJ,Shefflin and TJ, the greatest of all time always placed the man in the better position leaving defences wondering what they are going to do next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 hurleronthefence

There is no handy all irelands won these days especially coming out of a round robin Munster championship. as bad as Tipp were, we’ve been hammered by Galway, beat the worst Wexford team in years, drew with Offaly who were Joe mcdonagh a couple of years ago, and convincingly beat Kildare (in the second half) who were Christy ring a couple of years ago. We’ve also lost a minor all Ireland and an u20 all Ireland to Tipp in the last 2 years. To say Tipp were further back last year than we are now.. Come off it Chaz whatever your on.

I have to see Dublin v Galway yet. Galway had to win that match to secure their position and I was surprised with the Dubs win on that alone. I said it here about the team I feared most was Dublin and posters scoffed and said we are always able to handle Dublin. They have a good manager and players. They usually do not travel well and that kills them in the back door system, no back door for them this season. Watch this space.

Well Newhouse I wouldn’t think Chaz is down on Tipp most people including Tipp people said they were lucky to win the AI last year, worst team was probably a bit strong all right but it was always going to be an up hill battle to try and keep those young lads grounded and as I said earlier they might never get back to those heady days. Sport is like that.

Not expecting to win and being lucky are 2 different things. Nobody in Tipp thought we would win it out at start of 2025 but nobody i talked to called it lucky to win a final by what 15 points, it would be lucky to score a last minute goal deflected in off a seagull.

Its not lucky to win so many games, things fell right but any team that wins an All Ireland gets the rub of the green on the way. It is disrespectful the talk online about the 2025 win now and tbh the Kilkenny lads i know never mentioned tipp being lucky to beat Kilkenny or win the final.

Some online especially this thread seem to always have a lucky reason why tipp win any championship at any grade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Christ almighty, good win but if you're whooping and hollering over beating kildare it shows where we are !!

Saying that I'd be confident of beating Dublin. Rushe has improved their defence and structure but I think they're lacking up front especially without sean currie.

well Newhouse any AI you win everything has to go in your favour and that’s for sure.

minor team named for tomorrow night in Portlaoise.

just heard Darragh Fitzgibbon gone for Cork, a big blow for them.

I’m well aware of where we are as I mentioned in my post above

I was in Salthill and tullamore and have seen us make the same mistakes over and over which is infuriating.

There are still plenty of issues that won’t be solved in a week but I choose not to come on spouting negativity because I enjoyed the second half apologies for enjoying how we hurled in the second half 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

Its Kildare we played.... that was no barometer. If that first half performance had continued a tribunal of enquiry would have been necessary.

The Dublin game is really a knockout as i expect Offaly to beat Kildare. We need to go there and be on our A game for 70+ minutes. A lot players are still not firing consistantly for whatever reason but proabably low in confidence. We really are a hot and cold team this year. Dublin will know that a Leinster title could be up for grabs by knocking us out so they will bring everything at us while we will know the season proably will be over. It has all the makings of a great game. Its an absolut disgrace its not live on TV. The GAA really should hang there head in shame.

Lucky is probably the wrong word, you're right. Tipp deserved to win the final but it was definitely a case of the stars aligning for what is a fairly mediocre team. I'm not being anti- Tipp by saying that and I'll back that up.

On my comment that Tipp came from further back than we are, Tipp came from absolutely nowhere whereas this Kilkenny team at least have been ultra competitive at the business end of championship for a number of years and has won 6 provincial titles in a row. We can scoff and say it's only Leinster, but that's not in our control. It would have been far less of a surprise had Kilkenny won the All Ireland last year for example, than it was that Tipp won it. That's a fact.

Tipps 2025 unquestionably looks a complete outlier now. Since 2022 Tipp have won 3 of 19 games in Munster. Three. Most recently they won none in 2024, 2 last year, and none this year. Absolute respect for whey they achieved in 2025 but they went from absolute zero to hero, and straight back to zero again. I don't recall a similar example at that scale in All Ireland hurling history. That's why many people, not just me, are saying they are probably the worst All Ireland champions in recent memory.

Don't get me wrong, I'm still very jealous of that win and I'd much rather have a poor team win one, than have a decent team never win one. But any time I looked at the players Tipp have, I couldn't escape the thought that the team was far greater than the sum of its parts, which is very admirable and a credit to Liam Cahill and his management last year. Seems to me now though, that they are now performing closer to the ability of those players. 🤷‍♂️

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

The point is last year this tipp team played very well and were deserving champions. If they never win a game again it doesn't take away from the fact in 2025 they were the best team. It wasnt as if they played badly last year and won.

Cahill may go now and will need rebuild for few years. Getting bet at home like that in front of big support is not good enough.

so you don’t agree with that the above mentioned don’t deserve praise for their performance’s last night, one of which didn’t hurl for a year.

100% we need that level from him and others for a full 70mins

Mullen just seems to be great link man taking it from the half back line moving up the field and knitting things together

Our forwards always play better when he’s involved others seem to have more space to work in with him on the pitch