Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Todd_UnctiousGael

Two very silly yellows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭kksaints

What was Cian Kenny thinking flicking out like that when on a yellow? The stupidest sending off you can do.

Wides, Wides, Wides sums up our performance. We're dreadful and we could easily lose this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

I am so depressed I don't even know where to start. Clueless. Worst half I have ever seen from Kilkenny in decades of hurling

Two yellows. One for a chop down in the first few minutes, sometimes you get away with them, others you don't. Second yellow was a clear flick out, fairly obvious yellow. Really stupid decision when on a yellow card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

I didn’t even go or listen to it just in from the garden now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭KK36

Throw in the stones Derek. It’s over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,783 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Okay it looks like a game of two halves going by the score timeline. Good to see the scores being racked up. Adrian Mullen coming on a huge positive.

Offaly v Wexford looks to be going down to the wire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Give it to tj

Cody confidence really back in this second half gave 2 great passes for 2 goals scored his own goal and chipped in with points too, Great to see Adrian flying it,Tom phelan on 🔥 too and finally we gave a bit of ball in to the big man. Backs solid throughout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

23802.png

Mullen and Clifford a point each as well.

Hopefully the trajectory is upwards from here on.

That 2nd half performance was the complete opposite of the 1st and we outran and overwhelmed Kildare. Still a decent few wides but that's a minor quibble. Need to put in two good halves next week, won't get away with a half like our 1st half today. Thought Kilian Doyle had a fine game today, linked the play excellently particularly when we went down to 14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Never mind tactics up the fcuking cats that was a super second half great to see lads digging in like that and steam rolling Kildare everything you want to see lads doing in a kk jersey

Still loads of issues but there tomorrows problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

I'll never get tired of sitting in the sun watching TJ Reid hurl, the greatest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭ttowncat

Who got MOTM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Didn't hear but from what I heard on the radio Tom phelan must have been in with a shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 driveitshort

are ya having a laugh, should have been gone after half time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Working and listened to a bit of the first half and turned it off after \kenny got sent off and all the bad wides. We really have to do something about that. Congrats to the team and that was a massive turnaround in the second half down to 14 and against the wind.

The table is very interesting now. We really have to get a result in Dublin. That draw last week has thrown the spanner in the works. Dublin are the only team through ATM. We win and we will be in a Leinster final. A draw will probably send us through as Offaly would have to beat Kildare by 30 plus.

Did Kenny get 2 yellow or a straight red? Just the local radio here said a straight red.

Just looking at the table... and the potential permutations for us (with the assumption that Galway beat Wexford)... Am I correct in saying the following:

• KK beat Dublin - KK will be in the Leinster final regardless of other results (both us & Dublin will be on 7 points but we've obviously won the head-to-head)
    • A draw against Dublin and Offaly lose to Kildare or beat Kildare by less than 30 points - KK finish at least third (due to better +/- difference)
    • A draw against Dublin and Offaly beat Kildare by more than 30 points - KK knocked out (due to inferior +/- difference)
    Screenshot_20260516-204020.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

ye two yellows first one in the first 10 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

At one point in the first half, we had 5 points scored, 9 wides, 2 goal chances blocked, 1 shot dropped short. 5 points out of 17 shots. 13 wides in the first half, a further 10 in the second half. Kildare completely ran out of steam in the second half.

At half time, I had wanted Eoin Cody to be replaced as things hadn't been going his way. He then set up 2 goals and scored another. He is poetry in motion when in flight.

It is win or go home against Dublin. We would have to improve a tonne on anything we have done so far this year.

There was a decent crowd at the game. A lot of mumbling at half time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,471 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

A Dublin win over Kilkenny and Offaly beat Kilare would put Kilkenny out as well, I think. Assuming Galway beat Wexford, of course.

A Kilkenny loss could still see them go through if Offaly fail to win against Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Hopefully today was a turning point. Things were grim at half time. Ridiculous wides and a badly missed goal chance. Offaly was in my mind.

Savage 2nd half, different team. It's like we remembered how to hurl and the nerves were gone. Fair play to Eoin Cody. Thought he'd be hooked at half time. Excellent 2nd half, showed real character. Plenty of men stood up.

That's arguably the most important 35 mins of hurling we have played in a decade. The idea we may have lost to Kildare was real for 15 mins at half time. Thank God we remembered who we are.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

Just hope that terrible decision to award a 65 doesn't come back to haunt us.dublin will be all.out to get rid of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭DAVID AKA MACKY

If Kilkenny lose to Dublin and Offaly beat Kildare it would put kilkenny out of the championship regardless of the galway result. Kilkenny has a great record against Dublin so lets see what happens

I didn't want to contemplate a Kilkenny loss so I didn't bother with the permutations but you are correct 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

There not guaranteed a Leinster final spot so for that reason alone they'll be all out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 NJoyKkGAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Not wanting to sour any perspective here but I do need to point out that when we were under pressure Cody wasn't at the races. He cane good when we were up by 10 or 12 points. He needs to do this when we are up against it. I hope he does as he has all the attributes to be one of the top hurlers in the country. Kildare fell asunder 10 minutes into the 2nd half. We started moving the ball a lot better. Backs goid all day really. Forwards not able to win a 50/50 ball most of the first half. Mossy and Cody lucky not to get an early shower at half time but they did turn it around 10 mini into 2nd half.

It needs to be from the start in parnell Park next sunday as dublin are on a roll ATM. A win secures a leinster final spot. We don't want to contemplate any other result. Great to see mullen back in action. He will probably take Liam Moores spot next week. Would have like to have seen makeesy and luke hogan in for a spell last 15 minutes. Makeesy good last week in tullamore when he came in. Its all or nothing really next sunday. Here's hoping for a savage performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 NJoyKkGAA

After the first half, with one man down, it would have been easy for heads to drop. However, the players and subs showed incredible spirit.
    Supporting the county team means standing by them, in good days and bad- not wishing for defeat to prove an argument. The team should be very proud of their attitude today, and fair play to all involved.