Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Thinking back now I dont think its fair to say Armagh were ordinary. The recent matches between the 2 were always tight games. Armagh were trimming Kerry by 6 points last year until kerry kicked on to a level not seen in recent times.

Joyce doesnt owe Galway anything and if he was to go who replaces him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭MfMan

It was scores from outside the D that won it for Roscommon ultimately. They scored 2 goals in the first half by running hard at our defence; we nearly did the same in the second half - Comer got one and Kelly grazed the crossbar. I thought our defence improved in the second half; were it the same in the first half, we might have won with a little to spare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭jopper

Not many to replace Joyce but he needs to completely clear out his back room team. Cian O’Neill was the real deal and he wasn’t replaced with anywhere near like for like. In 2022 Galway also had Bernard Dunne as high performance coach. Why didn’t Galway go for Jason Sherlock who Roscommon poached this year. Kerry win the all Ireland and don’t stay stagnant and patting each other on the backs but immediately freshen things up by adding Kieran Donaghy, what a winning mentality they have down there. We can only dream of that mindset and ambition. I was near the bench on Sunday and Mikey Graham and Scan looked like Junior B coaches, out of their depth at intercounty level. What do they add??

And a goalkeeping coach????? The difference in kickout strategies on Sunday was night and day. Precision and well worked v hit and hope for the best. Embarrassing.

We have elite players capable of winning All Irelands but with subpar coaching. I don’t know how the players aren’t demanding better coaches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Imo the management team is far too cosy with each other,ive never seen what scan brings to the team but himself and PJ are a package deal I believe joined at the hip ,they needed someone ruthless and driven to come in there a few years ago who wouldnt defer so easily to PJ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Butson

Do Galway have a goal keeping coach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭cal naughton

Former cavan manager Raymond galligan is the goalkeeping Coach. Ironically Connor Gleeson is a self styled goalkeeper Coach for hire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭bike2wkr

Agreed. They haven't been the same since oneil left. Lack of cohesion and less defensively sound. There doesn't seem to be a game plan. That said they got knocked out in 2001 and won it via backdoor but need to find right first 15!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Indeed Galway did win the all Ireland in 2001 after losing to Roscommon in Connacht. A fair old bit of a distance in terms of quality between that Galway team and the current side though.

From looking at the stats, i've noticed that a lot of the historical powerhouse clubs in Galway football have gone into decline in terms of winning county titles, Tuam Stars haven't won the county since 1994 and Dunmore McHales last won it in 1983. St Grellans in Ballinasloe stand out in particular as a fallen giant of Galway football.

Corofin of course have had a remarkable rise in fortunes since they made the breakthrough in the 90's. It probably would've been unprecedented back then, that they would eventually end up being on the verge of overtaking Tuam Stars in regards to the amount of county titles won in the senior roll of honour.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭MattressRick

When you mention a difference in quality between this Galway team and 2001, I honestly don't think this team is far off. If this Galway team had a month after their Connacht titles to prepare for a semi final, and clear up injuries in that time, I'd be convinced they'd have been in ruder health in 2024 against Armagh, Comer and Walsh especially. Might have won it with those 2 fitter and firing.

Donnellan had a game for the ages in his first final in 98, and I'm fairness Shane Walsh did the same in his first final in 2022.

If Galway in 98 had to play a round robin plus a preliminary quarter final, and remaining matches, God only knows if they would've been able to name the same team that they did for the final. Could well have had injuries. Injuries hampered Kildare that day, sometimes luck just goes your way too.

Galway in 98 also barely beat Roscommon that year in the Connacht final, needed extra time in the replay. Those things aren't negatives worth looking at when you win the All Ireland, but if Galway lost the All Ireland it would probably be leveled at them that they struggled to beat Roscommon etc.

I don't see as many negatives around last Sunday as others I've spoken to. Absolutely the kickouts is a problem and the sideline should've worked to close off the short option Roscommon had all day, but as we saw in both 98 and 01, Roscommon beating Galway isn't a sign that Galway aren't good enough. Galway played brilliantly I thought last Sunday and got every type of score, whether goal via long ball, bursting through on a run, and all sorts of points. If they can fix the big issues last Sunday, they really have enough in their attack to beat anyone.

Yes they don't play solidly for 70 minutes and are accused of going in and out of games, but that's what I remember that Galway team doing, they were on the rack in 01 in the semi final and then had a scoring burst that won the game. So there's hope yet for 2026!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭The Subliminal Verses

I thought if anyone from the Galway set up was going to be on love island it would have been Pádraic Joyce himself, i suppose he's got one less stud to worry about now
    in the dressing room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

@The Subliminal Verses ....A hard dog to keep on the porch and no mistake ...but sure so was Picasso 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭Robson99

Eaten alive by the Dubs. Prob shows the level of where we are and how poor Leinster is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I've been saying for a while now that Galway arent winning a leinster title this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,077 ✭✭✭✭threeball

We always play the same against the Dubs. Wheels are starting to come off now. So many lads just going through the motions. Really bad first half followed by a less than convincing 2nd. Same as last week.

Theres a real psychological barrier in this county to putting away teams we should beat in both codes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭Robson99

Funny listening to Galligan say Monaghan really need to get after the Armagh kick out against the breeze when last Sunday he was part of a set up that kept giving up the kickout to Roscommon. Obviously just another yes man on the sideline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Hurling wasn't as bad as the result... well in my eyes anyway 🤣

20s win Leinster Final Wednesday. Footballers through next round Saturday. Hurlers into Leinster Final Sunday.

Week is a long time in sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Hard to say when you don't know the dynamic. He might be overruled by PJ, he's got the final say.

What I'm seeing since the new rules came in is counties in the lower league divisions, who are very well coached, are showing what can be achieved. I think Westmeath would've eaten Galway alive on kickouts today, and as we saw last Sunday that direct running game has us in serious bother. It'll take a huge slice of fortune, good play, and a fit squad to even make a semi final this year.

Thats 2 bad performances in a row from the hurlers and a history of underperforming against percieved weaker counties. The footballers havent been able to close out a game in over 2 years.

A week might change things if the general graph was in a certain direction but when the evidence all points the other direction its hard to argue against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,471 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Tbh, the idea of calling Dublin one of the "weaker counties" is doing them a disservice, imo. It may, also, be why we have a relatively poor record against them.

In other words, taking them for granted. Top teams, like Kilkenny in their pomp, wouldn't have that attitude. Kildare have shown that they can be competitive for a while, in matches, but don't have the bench/fitness levels to sustain it for a full 70 minutes.

The overplaying of Niland and Rabbite is a concern, though. The injuries/form issue for them is starting to become a problem, imo

Thats why I called them perceived weaker counties. Our hurlers seem to look down their nose at Dublin as I can't remember a game where we played them where the attitude was good going in and we just played to the level we should. And as a result our record against them is brutal.

This running the 20s alongside the seniors is just flogging lads for no reason. The whole point of the u20s is to bring through senior players. If they're already in the senior set up then in my opinion they shouldn't be played and croke park should stop it across the board. I think they had that in place before but counties were whinging. So we end up burning out/injuring elite talent who've already proved their worth. Its crazy. No professional athlete would do what these lads do, go from club to county preseason, Sigerson, U20 and Senior, back to club and repeat.

At underage its worse, they play schools, club, possibly 2 codes in 2 or 3 grades and if they're good enough, county on top. I've seen lads play 5 matches in a week already this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭laymansterms

Spot on! This was a draw game up until the 73rd minute and we had a ridiculous amount of wides. We'll win a Leinster Final against Dublin.

KK are still waiting in the long grass though. I'd be more worried about them in a Leinster Final. They just won't go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭I says

19 wides against Offaly I turned of gaa+ after the 14th wide on Saturday evening Glennons dumb effort from the left side sideline getting blocked while getting the shot away, I knew the dubs would get a result after that.
    The attitude against so called lesser counties stinks, lazy and unwilling g to put in the effort to obliterate teams in the first twenty is a big worry we’re too inconsistent.
    Also this codswallop of trying to score points from impossible angles or not looking for pass is on coaching and that starts in the development squads. Go back and look at underage games and schools the last few years and shooting silly wides is the hallmark of all these teams. Iron the glory hunting out and drill it into players it’s teams not individuals that win games. Dublin out worked and out fought that Galway team on Saturday evening that’s why they won they know how to beat Galway by that method. There’s no identity to this team, only individuals who on some days give there all but not necessarily for 70 mins either.

12676.jpg

Just throwing this up for context. Fully agree on the wides. 17 with 6 short is putting you under big pressure. Stupid choices, matched with some poor finishing.

Now on the flip side. Dublin with only 3 wides.... I'd like to see when they next hit a tally that low. For context in Clare hammering Tipp they also hit 17 wides. Low double figures I would gather is around the norm to win a match. Doubt Dublin will see a tally that low again this year. Sometimes it just goes that way.

Not sure how anyone sees us being "out worked" or "eaten alive". We dominated the first half with a strong breeze, just didn't score enough. They also got a fluke of a goal that seemed to unsettle things. Most around the place at half time felt we were in big trouble. Yet, we hassled harried and kept our noses in front until the second goal. Even then we battled back to draw level deep into injury time. I mean the turnover stat alone shows the work going in. Puckout stats a lot better than Dublin. So, as I said overall, a lot of the key metrics were positive.

Also from previous years I feel we have a clear style of play, where we keep it short and work the lines or try to find runners in the inside line. Don't think we lack identity of what we are trying to do.

Agree with others with the U20s. We are unfortunate we have two top class ones that the hopes of winning on Wednesday probably rely on. If they are any way fit I hope they get to play (even over them playing Wexford). Some lads on Wednesday if Galway lose it will be the last they will wear a Galway jersey and all should be done to progress to an All Ireland final.

Hopefully Dublin beat Killkenny. Would like to see them match up again and see what unfolds.

Been saying this for years. The underage is stacked with young lads with big egos, who are the main stays of their club teams but tend to be quite selfish in nature. We don't bring through the playmakers, the guys who make the whole thing tick. Our development is all wrong. We're focused on winning underage rather than developing the best talent. It ends up with teams of early developers who fall away as the playing field levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭I says

I’m not the only one that sees this. Coach them up to the ranks and start producing u20 winning teams than can step up with proper development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Ironically enough Dublin actually have won more all Irelands in hurling at senior level than Galway. They even had a senior all Ireland win on the board in 1899 before Cork won their first one a year later. Of course their most recent senior all Ireland in hurling was all the way back in 1938, although i think there was just the one Dublin native on the team. I reckon they would've beaten Clare in that 2013 all Ireland final if they got passed Cork in the semi final that year.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

There is a performance to warm yer hearts lads. And it's ducking baltic here. Young men in the making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭cosatron

impressive stuff alright. Impressed with burke on the line making the calls and switching on time no hanging around. Gus Lohan has the makings of a serious center back if played there.

12991.jpg

Interesting when you look at the current trajectory of the senior panel. This is last years U20 squads. In the senior panel this year: Darragh Neary, Josh Ryan, Rory Burke, Oisin Lohan, Trayers and Cillian Whelan.

This year add in Niland, Rabbitte, Murphy, Killeen.

10 players in two seasons and most (to now) look the part. A Few more of those are there or there abouts.

Appreciate how young that team is last night but Gus Lohan and Tadgh Maccarthaigh are big units for lads so young. Couple more like Coen, Donoghue and especially Poinard are hugely talented.

Patience can be limited at the inter county scene but give it and few years and keep these lads on the right trajectory they should have a very talented panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,471 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

No niland for the u20s tomorrow, and rabbitte on the bench. Once again, the double playing of these lads is coming home to bite, imo.

Good chance for the others to get the win, but this dovetailing of certain players between grades is just flogging them unnecessarily, imo. And, thus, leading to injuries.