Garda Reserve Recruitment 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭LittleMissSunshine

Hi Jimmy. A new campaign is actually a positive sign for those still waiting. The 2026 budget allocated €2.74 billion which explicitly includes funding to double the Reserve.

​Also, we know from recent Oireachtas answers that there are only about 200 candidates from the 2024 competition left in the vetting stage, and only 31 have been called forward. That's not enough to hit the government’s target. They have to start a new campaign just to fill the gap, but they can't reach those targets without clearing 2024 batch first

There has already been significant funds spent on the 2024 campaign between ​public jobs interviews, medicals, vetting, and station suitability checks. Remember anyone entering a competition late 2026 won't be vetted until 2028

​My take is that they wouldn't launch a new competition unless they had a clear line of sight on clearing the 2024 desk.

Hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Jimmy.1733

Fair play @LittleMissSunshine. Thanks for the info, didn't know all that especially there only been roughly 200 candidates left, suprising!!

All in all that actually sounds fairly positive in fairness.

We don't know anything for sure, but I think so too 👍 Fingers crossed

What stage are you at yourself? Did you complete station interview mid 2025?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Jimmy.1733

I did, I did the interview mid 2025 and everything seemed good. When I was leaving I was expecting a call soon enough from the information I got but like many others, radio silence since.

What about yourself, Same scenario?

Yeah same here, in some ways , it's more reassuring to be part of a universal administrative backlog than to be the only one left behind while the rest of the cohort moves forward

28th April 2026 - Dáil Éireann Debate

Minister for Justice, Home Affairs and Migration

This Government is committed to ensuring that An Garda Síochána has the resources it needs to fight crime and a strengthened, well-resourced Garda organisation is central to this policy.

As the Deputy will be aware, the Policing, Security and Community Safety Act 2024, provides for the appointment of members of the Garda Reserve. The Reserve is a volunteer service drawn from individuals who seek to give back to their communities, who perform duty alongside full time Garda members, and work to keep people safe.

Reserve Gardaí are a key asset to An Garda Síochána as they provide support during policing operations, enhance ties with local communities, and bring with them a wide range of skills and talents.

While on duty Reserve Gardaí are granted policing powers by the Garda Commissioner. Under the supervision and support of full time Garda members, Reserves help to prevent crimes and to provide greater reassurance to the community.

My priority is to increase the number of Garda Reserves to 1,000 in the short term and once that level of membership is achieved to proceed towards our ultimate target of 2,000. It is my view that Garda Reserves have a huge contribution to make to policing in Ireland and achieving our recruitment targets is my immediate focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Peter_Piper

Word is the weekend vacancy at the college and instructor availability aren't the problem. It’s actually down to Garda management just not pushing the Reserve recruitment like they should.

I hear you on the management side, but the reality in 2026 is that HQ doesn't have the luxury of sitting on their hands. Between the new 2024 Policing Act and the €2.7 billion budget, there’s massive pressure from the Department of Justice to show results.

Management actually just tripled the Reserve stipend to €3k to stop people dropping out, which is a big sign they’re trying to keep the current batch engaged. The 'limbo' isn't a lack of will; it’s likely HR team being drowned by the 11,000 full-time applications they're trying to process at the same time.

Ultimately, we’re the only group that can help hit their 2026 targets, so they’re incentivized to push us through as fast as the Vetting Bureau allows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Marty1476

I’m just going to have a little vent if that’s ok with everyone!

I’m so frustrated at the lack of information from AGS on my application for the reserves

. The full time role is now open, but I don’t think I can put myself through the waiting period again. Having to re-do the tests, meeting the Supers and Sgts, jumping through every hope that I’ve done in the past.

this is just a vent! But I needed to say it, I hope you understand

Vent away! Honestly, everyone on here completely gets it. It is incredibly draining to see a brand-new campaign launch when you’ve already jumped through all those hoops and are just met with silence.

But if it’s any consolation, you are in a totally different league than the people applying today. You’ve already cleared the hurdles that knock out 80% of candidates

The full-time competition opening today are at the very start of a 24-month mountain. It feels like limbo, but you’ve already done the hard miles

Hang in there—the system is moving at its usual glacial pace. I completely get it, and feel the same frustrations, but remember you’re too far along to let the frustration of the wait cancel out all the work you’ve already put in!

Keep going 👍

Post edited by LittleMissSunshine on

The consensus appears that things have gone eerily quiet, I haven't touched base in quite some time, but has anyone reached out or heard anything back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Coolguy111

same, and I think there’s no channel for experienced reserve to go and join full time I think if they wanted to go full time they’d have to apply from the very start and go about doing the whole lot again! That’s putting me off applying for full time, like LMS said 80% done, we are over the worst of it , but it is quite draining

While both the budget and allowances increased threefold, Garda Management ultimately controls the scheduling of training classes. Because they are currently failing to meet full-time recruitment goals, the Reserve remains low priority. Furthermore, management must resolve the widely acknowledged personnel deficits within the vetting unit.

Regrettably, they have, and with the holiday season approaching, a class will likely start right when some of us have trips booked.

Sometime ago I emailed my local TDs to express my frustration over this fiasco; some acknowledged it and others ignored it, but with no follow-up, I have little hope.

I also emailed the Vetting Team months ago without a reply, and after seeing what another user here received from them, I will just wait and see how things unfold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Marty1476

thank you for your kind words, I sincerely appreciate them.

I do think that it’s important that we keep information active on this forum, and also to have a vent if needed.

It’s so difficult and disheartening to be left in the dark for so long, which is why I think it’s helpful that we motivate each other when needed.

Some of you may not feel the same way about redundant ‘updates’ on this forum, but for me I take comfort that I’m going through the same journey, and we will get there

I completely agree, there is a nice support network here and it's nice to share experiences.

We do know GNVB process applications in batches, so once these are released to HR, it's likely that the gates will open for many simultaneously

Happy weekend everybody, hope you are all doing well 🙏

Do drop a message if you have any developments on your application, but also, don't let it hang over you. No news is good news 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭CLUM2022

No update or news from me either at this point.

Still in the game so fingers crossed for sime positive developments soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddy 42

I see from the News that there was questions asked to the Minister for Justice, about when the additional 1000 Gardai will be deployed to Dublin City as per the recommendation from the Dublin City Task Force Review Report.

His response was they have to be recruited first. Since the Report there has been an increase of only 40 Gardai to the City.

Might mean preference given to reserve applications listed for Dublin , with the upcoming European Presidency starting July 1st. Think all events are in Dublin so likely a requirement for Reserves and full time

Could also explain 141/193 recent graduates assigned to Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 ian 21

I haven't heard a cricket since this time last year with a vetting request for more info/missing information.

The way I see it is if your working full time this is part time/voluntary so it realistically in theory it shouldn't make any odds how long it takes.

Don't pick me up wrong that's just the way Id imagine the process is viewed.

For me it's the unknown but this forum has been a great outlet at least then I know I'm not the only one and because of it we aren't all completely in the dark.

After the zoom interview my oom got significantly batter than what I had during the application acceptance.

I couldn't justify applying for the full time the training money wouldn't be financially viable with having a mortgage and bills to pay.

Agreed Ian, giving up a career isn’t viable for some people

I’d differ on the idea that the timeline doesn't matter. There are still training and personal commitment that require planning. Since the initial application, life changes. Would only be fair that people are kept in the loop so they can manage accordingly

I've no doubt many of the 90% drop-off from the original applicants would have been voluntary retractions. When people are left in the dark for so long, they lose interest or move on to other things

Very true on forum, knowing we're all in the same boat is reassuring. It proves the delay isn't about individuals—it’s a systemic bottleneck affecting everyone. Hopefully, we will all see some progress soon.!

Don't read too much into the silence . We’ve all experienced it, with the focus on full-time campaigns, the Reserves inevitably get pushed down the priority list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 PostmanPat365

would you ever stop spoofing AI nonsense and get a grip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Hopeful32

Not this Moron again.

Will you crawl back under the rock please..

Anyone who has forgotton this clown check out page 46+47…..

retired mules just cant help themselves…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 RonnieDrew911

At least he livens the place up anyway 😄

no news ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Road Runner 999

Hi all,i recently emailed garda hq as to any updates.I too am in the 2024 reserves campaign. I recieved a email stating my file is still live and still with vetting and they hope to get back to me soon.

Thanks for update.

Will you upload email address again please as the more that keep emailing and ringing the better.

Thank you

Would you ever just go and take a flying jump and land back in that **** hole that youve managed to crawl out of again.

As with previous comments in the forum, your comments are irrelevant, baseless and unwelcomed.

Hope this cclarifies and reminds you of why no one has any time or interest in you or your ignorant thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Coolguy111

lads I could be wrong but, I think there’s no point to be hounding them with emails/ phone calls looking for updates, we’re just gonna get the same generic response back, which is disheartening,

it’s just a waiting game really, just put it in the back of your mind and continue to live life, check your email every now and then to see if anything has come in, like ye all im in since 2024 but last august/september I’ve just forget about it really because no point being wound up looking for updates because we all know the the vetting system is a disaster , and priority is for full time people.

Just forget about it, don’t let it consume you and keep doing what your doing, enjoy the summer! keep the faith :)