World Snooker Championship 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

A reminder (because I forgot too), priority tickets for next year on sale now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Shaun is a bit of a twat, I think he'd admit that himself, he certainly did when he had his podcast etc.

But he has good qualities too, like his overall promotion of snooker, trying to get it into the Olympics, which I think it should be, or the way he gives £100 to a local childrens charity for every century he makes at the Crucible. This gets mentionned, but he is not out bleating about it to the World every broadcast.

It has always been a big part of snooker that we have players we love and players we hate.

Not been mentionned much, but is it a coincidence that this is the first year he has not done commentary during the tournament, and he is probably favourite in the final. Big chance to win a second World title.

Ebdon probably told him to knock all that on the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,697 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Joe Perry said as much during the week. Shawn could be a bit of a poser etc and Ebdon told him he needed to cut that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,037 ✭✭✭✭walshb

typical begrudgers.. inverse snobbery at its finest. But not surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Makes sense I remember Murphy used to cod himself that it helped his game etc. Commentary while still in the tournament!?

But to me it gave the impression that he was snooker player getting ready to “wind down”. Even in the last world final he was in, he gave the vibe of “happy to be here, might not get here again” - the fist pumps animation to the crowd etc. it was all very theatrical.

He seems much more businesslike this time.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Gas part is Murphy had a more working class background than Ronnie, whose patents were millionaires. Even paying the likes of Ken to play him as a young kid. I think the “posh boy” perception really annoys Murphy. He wants people to see working class lad, who did well.

I’d really like to see Murphy win his second. In 2005 I rooted for him against Stevens

Post edited by walshb on

I don’t know where you got the Murphy information from? It is incorrect. He never went to Eton.

He initially attended Huxllow Science college in Irthlingborough, Northamptonshire, but he left the school system at the age of 13. This decision was because of severe bullying and a desire to focus on his snooker career.  

After leaving mainstream school, he was home schooled by private tutors and took his GCSEs several years earlier than usual at a local school in Northampton.

Brian Wright (Coventry shirt man) there the first half of 'is there a gap?', 'there's always a gap'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

There is no way in hell Snooker should be in the Olympics , or Darts for that matter.Way too many sports been added to the Olympics in recent years that don't need to be in it and shouldn't be in it , ruins the whole honour of being an Olympian when you see mickey mouse sports like flag american football , 3×3 basketball for example in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,697 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Assume they're keeping a few "Wheres the cue ball going" shout outs for the final

Parrott appreciated it. I always wonder how Wright keeps getting tickets. Must be difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Hope Wu wins it , he's been great to watch and snooker needs as many young players coming good as possible, need to create new stars for people to get behind.

If you sign up to WST play, are organised for the priority sale, and have a big enough budget, tickets across the 17 days can be obtained.

Both players well on it early doors

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Murphy left school at 16 because he was bullied so badly. School did feck all to protect him.

So what if he doesn’t like football and reads a decent newspaper

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭John arse

Shaun 'MARMITE' Murphy eh?

Jayus Wu winning the first two frames that could have gone the other way. Massive in the context of the match. Didn’t think Wu would be winning those type of frames.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

No ill effects on Wu from last night's late finish, 2-0 up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭testtech05

Murphy is. Abit all over the place so far

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

He seems to be doing that all tournament. It’s a real change for him. He won all the tight frames against Selby.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,860 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I didn't get to see a lot of the snooker yesterday and missed the end of the Allen v Yize match. I heard about it, Allen must be sick. I'm sick thinking about it, and only now have brought myself to comment on it.

I hope Wu Yize goes on now to win it. Allen and then Yize were my favourites to win.

Epstein files last night and tv licences today. Who are these freaks?

Some protester has been quickly escorted out. She didn't get on camera, but you could hear her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭spurshero

Jesus some amount of idiots in crowd this year. They weren’t long dealing with that person whatever they were shouting .

How is it so many loo la’s get into the crowd at snooker? Sounded like another one there off screen.

Obviously “snooker loopy” means something different to them!