World Snooker Championship 2026

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,273 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Two amazing semi finals! I am disappointed it's not Murphy v Allen though. Add me to the too wired to sleep list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭John arse

Well he certainly likes to talk about himself, that's for sure!😍

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Holy shite. I had to go out at 16-14. Thought it was done and dusted for Allen. Just saw the resulted! Delighted for Wu Yize. Some player.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Murphy always embraced them.

People complain enough about him, no need to be making stuff up.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

You should look it up, when Ebdon made his debut year in the crucible. Can’t remember was it gradual or a specific year. But Ebdon then completely changed his game, slow very methodical. All basically designed to psyche out better opponents. In fairness it worked for him one world title win and three world final appearances.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I thought Ken’s missed one for the 147 was bad. But I think you are correct that Allen one looked even easier. Allen said post match it was “pressure, pure and simple”.

The nickname “Magician” basically his cue ball control, technically excellent. Has all the shots.
    Anti - Murphy - many are die hard O’Sullivan fans - if you type in “Murphy comments O’Sullivan millionaire” you will get an idea why it rattled a cohort of his fans. Also personality wise Murphy can create a perception of being a “know it all” well spoken . He views himself as an ambassador for the game of snooker. That can wind some people up. Plus added to that he is well spoken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭spurshero

Hard to see Allen ever make a world final after that .numerous chances to get over the line but that black in particular will haunt him for a long time . I don’t think it’s unfair to say he pots that 99 outta 100 . Feel so sorry for him . Thought this was his year . Final very hard to call but I think if Wu gives Murphy chances like Allen had tonight he will take them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,951 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

fcukin' moron. Imagine paying £££ for a hard to get ticket and it gets to a deciding frame and then doing that.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,951 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

A hard loss for Allen, he really should have won that. He's unlikely to have a better chance to win a world title.

He's not wrong though, Ronnie has acted the twat far too often and doesn't give a damn about the game in general.

I think Allen’s unique “jabby” cue action didn’t help him either. Wouldn’t that pressure mean it was more likely to collapse, than if he a more traditional conventional style?

Oh I agree with Murphy on the point he made. He was one of the few brave enough to say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Lets just hope Wu can do the business tomorrow and Monday. I can't think of one remotely positive thing to say about the other lad, so will leave it there. I still can't believe Fan lost that decider in the first round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven
    MEGA - Make Éire Great Again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Allen was hardly a regular visitor to Epstein’s gaff in the day…..🤔 more likely to be in Ibrox..?

Murphy was raised with a silver spoon and was schooled in a Eton, amazing that he ever took up a cue, reads the guardian as opposed to red tops, despises ‘football’ but a big oval ball fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,610 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Lovely interview by Mark Allen after, I've just watched it now - very generous, very magnanimous, has improved my feeling for him plenty (that sounds kinda stalkerish!! )

I'm still delighted that Wu won, and hope he "annihilates" Murphy again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Are we talking Jimmy missed black levels of proportion here ??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,037 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Jimmy’s black was way harder in comparison. Allen’s black was very basic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Greengrass53

Is this the reason behind the pile on. Seems very ill informed if so. Surely the man is entitled to his own choices. Was this campaign fuelled by the red tops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Sadly, it’s the worst miss in pro snooker, all the other famous misses were harder shots, this was a gimme.

Even just less power takes it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

It's only after looking at the replay a few times that I actually copped the ref was going to take off his gloves to shake hands after Allen took his shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,697 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

When they cut back to the studio

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭Martin567

Is this satire? It's not very clear.

Murphy doesn't come from a wealthy background. Quite the opposite.

Much of the antagonism between Murphy and O'Sullivan comes from the fact that Ronnie is depicted as a working class hero despite always having a lot of money backing him. Murphy is seen as privileged but is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭rolling boh

I think when you read up on Shaun Murphy it wasn't an easy life that he enjoyed.Have no real preference for either just hopefully a good match .That black ball miss by Mark will be one that he never forgets a real what if moment ,feel sorry for anyone to lose out like that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭ebbsy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

My first thought when i woke up this morning was that missed black. God knows how Mark gets over that. Put me in mind of Ken's missed 147.

Never got the Shaun hate myself. Reminds me of Graeme Le Saux and the abuse he got for reading broadsheet papers, books and being into art. Obviously dodgy. I always liked Shaun and when he's on it there's few better to watch.

Hope i don't jinx it but this could turn out to be one of the quickest finals ever.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭jj880

Deary me. Was a long way from cushion to cueball for that black. As said in commentary why no hand on the table? Really feel sorry for Allen there.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,906 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Murphy was raised with a silver spoon and was schooled in a Eton, amazing that he ever took up a cue, reads the guardian as opposed to red tops, despises ‘football’ but a big oval ball fan.

Ah, so it's just people with an inferiority complex?

Bloody stupid reasons to dislike someone; if anything…

Anyway, gutted for Allen. He'll be replaying that over in his mind for a long time to come - hopefully he can get someone good to help him work through it, that was brutal.