Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,087 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

we could focus on the positives.

People predicted we’d be destroyed in the scrum, it was the opposite. Porter destroyed Sinckler at every opportunity and Cahir did very well in his cameos.

We played some lovely rugby. Flowing moves, changing the point of attack, nice support lines.

We defended well, for the most part and managed the 13-man period very well. Yeah it got very ragged in the last 15 minutes, but overall pretty solid.

Ioane was outstanding as was JGP.

We had a lot of bad luck with injuries, cards, kicks gone astray, and we were still considerably the better team. People are quick to sh1t on us when the scoreboard flatters us but today it absolutely flattered Toulon.

And a very respectable crowd.

We’ve three weeks now to talk about how UBB are going to tear us apart. Maybe just for today we can enjoy being in the final.

I got sneered at yesterday for suggesting we cheer up and enjoy the rugby. That’s fine. Some people only want to follow rugby to complain and rant, I think it’s a bizarre way to “support” a team and an even more bizarre way to spend your free time, but each to his own.

We’re in a final, we deserve to be there, we played well, I’m going to enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭FtD v2

For whatever reason all day long Pearce decided he wasn’t going to award jackal penalties - something that hurt Leinster far more than Toulon who didn’t seem to attempt to compete on the deck at all.

The most irritating example of this by far is the ruck on around 33:43 for anyone who is watching back:

Ribbans carries, Porter tackles, and Doris is clearly first man in, great body position, gets a good lift on the ball and it’s clear as day Ribbans is holding on. Doris is cleared out and the ball actually travels a metre or so backwards in his hands as the whole ruck moves with him.

It is as obvious a jackal penalty as you’ll see.

Pearce doesn’t give it, and literally the next phase penalises JVDF for offside (even though Ben White is holding the ball, has picked it up and looking for his receiver). He gives another advantage to them two phases later against Doris for “swinging around the ruck” - a fair call, a phase later Porter makes the high tackle (which results in a yellow) and a phase or two later (after ignoring another situation where Doris has a legit jackal) he penalises James Ryan for not rolling away (again fair).

It literally the first time in the game Toulon have had the ball in Leinster’s half. He yellows Porter for the high tackle, warns Leinster, then yellows Harry Byrne off the restart for offside. Toulon score off that phase.

Great example of the butterfly effect - if he gets the first decision right (and I think 9/10 pro refs give Doris the penalty there) then neither yellow card happens and Toulon don’t score the try. Massive potential turning point in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭ironingbored

The scoreline flattered Toulon in all honesty.

We lost Robbie after 15 mins, Josh after 45 mins and Conan after 55 mins.

No one will ever convince me that JGP knocked that ball on.

We played 10 mins with 13 players and scored a try and forced them into a YC in the process. Harry got a YC for offside in the 22. Toulon were living offside just before the Doris try and nada. Not to mention Sinkler's scummy shot on JGP not looked at.

We're now in a final with everything to play for with hopefully a few lads (Baird?, Lowe, Furlong) back in contention and positive experience for Penny & Soroka. If you're not in you can't win.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Yes, it is truly unfair that the head coach is "under scrutiny" after losing at home in a semi final to a team that finished 8th of 10 in their domestic league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,346 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

Even easier... stick Hugo on the wing and Sam at 15. He's played there a few times already this season after coming on as a sub. Just plain daft sticking him on the wing particularly given how lethal Dréan is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭johnh6767

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Nobody said anything about it being unfair, give it a rest with the strawmen.

Simply pointing out your assertation that he doesn't get any scrutiny is complete nonsense.

The winning of the game was the 10 mins after half time, when we’ve thirteen players versus their fifteen. We’ve only 5 backs at this point as Rieko left for Jerry Cahir for the scrum before half time.

Our linespeed and aggression in defence forced them into a poor exit, and Ben White hits his poorest box kick of day, which Tommy O’Brien (immense again today) does brilliantly to regather over Ollivon just inside the Toulon 22.

We have some brilliant carries them from Ringrose, Clarkson, O’Brien (ref ignores a high shot on TOB here), Doris and others and put them under huge pressure. The accuracy and physicality of our clear outs here is top class. They stop VDF with a high shot and get the yellow.

Worth noting - they concede three penalty offences on this sequence (two offsides and the high shot) but don’t get a warning like we did in the first half, even though all three offences are inside 5m.

We score off the quick tap, and there is an even more obvious high shot on Sheehan here (by Sinckler) that never gets reviewed.

Huge couple of minutes though and decided the game IMO.

I didn't say he didn't get any scrutiny. I said there was a lack of critical coverage and, while I didn't say this at the time I will say it now, his tantrum over the media is ridiculous. They are getting poor coverage this year cause they are playing terribly, have had a piss easy run to the final in the Europe and have a back catalogue of failure in Europe. If he wants the story to change he can win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,287 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Pathetic.

Who said it was fair or unfair? You said hes faced essentially no scrutiny and I've shown you he has.

"I didn't say he didn't get any scrutiny, I said something that means pretty much the same thing but used different words!!"

Yeah alright.

I essentially said he is blessed in how little scrutiny he has faced and I stand by it.

There should have been pitchforks out for his removal after the NH game. It was the latest, and worst, in a long line of failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,287 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Nah. You said hes faced almost zero scrutiny in 8 years which is just büllshït.

I, quite literally, said he faced a lack of critical coverage. That does not mean zero - it means that he has faced less critical coverage than he probably deserved.

If we look at the current shitshow in Munster, they are getting plenty of deserved coverage, but we see very little about the repeated failures of the Leinster management.

I will happily both enjoy it and piss off for a few weeks should we win in Bilbao. However nothing will change my opinion that the coverage of Leinster and Cullen had been tame at most, and him crying about the media is fairly pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭letsbefair

Leo is right everyone is jealous of Leinster's success and are only happy having a go. If its not the players, its the coaches or the IRFU. This thread is full of non Leinster supporters having a go, trying to talk us down. Well we are in the final, a great achievement despite adversity. Keep going lads it's a great motivator, hopefully some day your team will make a final. We are very very happy to be going to Bilbao.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Credit to the Leinster coaching staff, they sent the team out with exactly the right plan to deal with being down to 13 at the start of the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭antfin

Lets be honest, you could focus on the lack of Champions Cup trophies, but since the 2008 win there hasn't been another club as consistent in Europe. Some have risen and fallen... maybe on the way back up again, Toulon, Saracens, La Rochelle and Toulouse, but there isn't anyone else who has won the competition and consistently competed at the business end as much as Leinster. You could argue they should have won it more often and threw a few away but to win it for the first time in 2008 and then follow up with 3 more wins and 9 finals in 15 years is rightly the envy of all other clubs in Europe. Knockout sport can throw up surprises at any stage but that's a ridiculous level of consistency.

Some say it's a rich club and basically a national team but the budget is nowhere near some of the French powerhouses or even some English clubs. Irish rugby is managed conservatively and wisely, or so it seems. Even the "little" La Rochelle are operating with bigger overall budgets and player pools than Leinster. In a country where it's our 4th sport, it's great to see our provinces representing the country at both levels of finals. We've become a bit complacent about reaching finals and it should be celebrated more, regardless of the outcomes in the final weekend. We might yet, with a bit of luck, end up with 4 Irish teams back in the Champions Cup next season too to top it all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Billy_the_Kid
    Master

Well said Leo !!! F*** the begruders here and in the media.

The IRFU are almost certainly absolutely delighted with the job Cullen has done over the last decade, he is churning out players for the national team and the national team has had an era of unprecedented success over that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,806 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Pearson said it was "clearly shoulder to shoulder" at the time. Which is a soccer thing, right?

Once again, made an immediate decision with absolute conviction and got it completely wrong. I think its unconscious bias but he definitely seems to be quicker to decide/ignore stuff to our detriment, and vice versa.

The fact he never even warned them on the scrum, the hit on JGP hits his chin and neck, the "knock on". Even the excited little way he announces during play re Byrne "well he'll be going in the bin too". Its just not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,376 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Watched the game back. Scoreboard doesn't reflect Leinster's dominance across the pitch. Our attacking game isn't quite there yet, but there were more signs that it's clicking into place, I think. We're starting to fix defenders again before passing the ball and it's creating gaps and soft shoulders to run at. Was notable how Osborne was far more direct with his carrying in this game. He was looking to get across the gain line more often rather than passing out the back.

The Nienaber defence won us the game though. Might not be to the taste of some posters here but it shut down Toulon for large parts of the game, especially when they were trying to build between the 10 metre lines. They just got stuck with nowhere to go. Gael Dréan was given nothing to work with. A 13 man Leinster suffocated Toulon in their own 22 and forced a rushed box which we eventually scored points from. That's remarkable.

A negative though, was our poor fielding. Byrne's contestables weren't great and didn't give us the chance to compete. Toulon, on the other hand, were far more successful at regathering possession from kicks. It was one of the few routes they actually had at pressuring Leinster yesterday. Bath especially could exploit that. And we know that, even if we defend as well as yesterday, if we get even one yellow card, Bordeaux will murder any side on transition.

Post edited by Clegg on

He warns Sinckler in literally the first minute about back chat (pointedly says “one and done”), but then warns then multiple times throughout the game for speaking at him, warning Sinzelle the 12 on two separate occasions.

They’d conceded 5 scrum penalties in the first 51 minutes without a warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭johnh6767

Atmosphere yesterday was incredible, as good as I’ve been to in a long time whether in blue or green

Rieko Ioane deserves huge credit for his performance yesterday. His work rate and effort was exceptional all day long - chasing grubbers on opposite wings, busting a gut chasing back on Drean late, a big tackle after their line break in the second half.

He was great yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

Sometimes my written English is not consistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Greengrass53

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,405 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Nothing wrong with writing ye as a plural of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

Pearce is a really poor referee. Him and Carley are bottom of the barrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,087 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

maybe on the Munster thread

Here, only “you goys” or “youse” are acceptable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,197 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I'm a much happier TV viewer than attendee at Lansdowne Road - due to the endless up/down of the thirsty crowd. I often feel like the atmosphere in the stadium is akin to that of people watching at home while on their phones!

Anyways, I went to the game yesterday. And was pleasantly surprised at the atmosphere & vibe in the stadium. Wouldn't be a big fan of the piped music but it was (relatively) subtly done.

The return of the RDS will be significant for the club.