Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,296 ✭✭✭White Clover

Some disaster alright. And I know of non milk supplying kanturk share holders that were very against the merger with NewtownSandes due to what they claimed they'd be losing themselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,361 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Glanbia Shares up to €20 today, a long time since they were at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭farmertipp

not to interrupt , But dairygold have taken on 6 kerry suppliers, what do you think of that? what way will kerry react i wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭ftm2023

Personally, I’ve no problem with anyone defecting. My one golden rule for them is that once they’re gone, there’s no coming back. Let them peddle their own canoe when the going gets rough in their new abode.

We had a few slow learners (for the want of a charitable description) in my locality that were crying back around December 2024 that they were going to defect to North Cork. It’s an awful pity that they didn’t do it 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭visatorro

He did say in the video the he knows the grazing season it different here than in new zealand, something teagasc are very slow to admit. Thought he made some interesting points on rotation length and energy into the cow. Another thing you dont hear much of. I dont take anything as gospel anymore but no harm to listen to a different perspective an odd time. Although you're reputation can take a battering when you preach something and it doesn't work out!!

I suppose I'm wondering why they jumped? has kerry a future? listowel plant worn out they say? kerry could incur huge debt buying out facilities. I'm just wondering what has kerry going for it now or is there a way forward? you hear so many stories its better to ask someone who knows for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

The listowel plant is fairly archaic alright but still functioning away.

When you see what the likes of Dairygold have invested in their stores Kerry maybe the ones to come out better out of it yet.

Does anyone know how are Lee Strand going to be effected by the north Cork situation...their excess milk goes there.

Last I heard they had approached Kerry but rejected the offer

Kerry has a bright future for certain. See the man they’ve running it? Pat Murphy. If Pat was told to land a man on Mars by this time next month he’d get it done. He’s a great man. It’s a great business too.

If anything Kerry Group sold the dairy business too cheap. We only agreed to pay €270m up front and we got €50m back again as a top up payment for our milk.

And we can do what we like as regards buying out the remaining 40%. That 40% is worth nothing to Kerry Group, they wouldn’t get €1m for that on the open market.

And I know what you’ve heard about the Listowel plant. We had a truck driver that used pick up our milk, he was closing the plant every day himself 😂😂 he couldn’t wait for it to be closed, the same fella had enough of his own business to mind in the end

good to get your perspective on it, thanks .

I just wonder why people would move to dairygold for a lower milk price?

must be some reason. or they are mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,286 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

wouldn’t be looking down or wishing bad on anyone moving coop …I know lads that left Arrabawn to go to Dairygold and tirlan …and lads tgat moved opposite direction …they all had there reasons ..in Arrabawn it certainly put rockets under our board and management and was catalyst for our price improving and other changes within the coop …it was a form of madness tho when you see suppliers within 10 miles of nenagh sending milk to cork and Kilkenny/Wexford etc ….and we’re now hauling milk from Carlow Wexford Kilkenny and cork back to nenagh …for a small country you could argue we have far too many coops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭ginger22

Any farmer should be free to sell their milk to who ever

they like and feck the begrudge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭captain hadley

Is that the same pat murphy who said that dairy farmers should be making money at 30 cent a litre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭ginger22

That's him. Lots of rumours going round of suppliers defecting. Hardly any wonder with the attitude from the top down. Farmers are only pawns to be used in the interest of big business. At the Kerry CoOp AGM last week it was all about the millons and billons they were dealing in. Not one word about the lad at home milking the cow. It is backfiring on them though. Their stores are doing f,,k all. Same with their mill in Farranfore. Most of the ratinon used by Kerry farmers is coming from independent mills in Cork and Limerick. They have lost most of the fertilizer sales. I wouldn't buy as much as a shover of the miserable h,,,s. And as for the new contract, anyone silly enough to sign it deserve what they get.

AFAIK contracts were supposed to protect the supplier but they have twisted it around for their own benefit. There is no other industry where supplier are expected to commit to supply exclusively for 5 years. All they have to do is pay a good competetive price and treat their suppliers with a bit of respect and they will get all the milk they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,614 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

House prices in 2012/13 were 30-50% of build cost then and build cost was less than half of what it is now. I would be slow investing in any property at present ( or in anything else either) we are probably looking at a recession in the short to medium term. How bad it will be is the question. Will it be a Y2K recession or a 2008-14 one. I think it will be a bit harder than the first and not as bad as the second.

There us always lads that have the hump and objective reasoning has no place in there decision making. Kerry Dairies has a significant advantage over Dairygold its brands.

Thrre is a state of the art plant for sale up the road from Listowel on the cheap, that would probably be easy enough to adapt.

Slava Ukrainii

Fully agree with you there. If a fella wants to make cheese and butter of his milk and go into the farmers market every Friday that’s held in the square in Listowel and sell it there then best of luck to him.

It’s a free country and anyone that doesn’t want to sign the contracts and doesn’t want to supply KDI with their milk, my attitude is best of luck to them.

I’ve a wife and young family and I can tell you with absolute certainty that I can sleep much better at night with Pat Murphy getting me the best price for my milk instead of James Doyle and the MDPO. In-fact, I don’t think anyone could tell me with a straight face that they’d feel in safer hands with James Doyle instead of Pat Murphy.

iI wonder will there be competition now for suppliers.? I was surprised dairygold made this move. aren't they now open to suppliers leaving them?

gentleman's agreement looks gone for now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭straight

Is it only now that you are noticing all the soft jobs off the back of the cow. They will all e enjoying their bank holiday this weekend.

I had to laugh during the blockades. All the politicians, guards and army were off enjoying their easter hols. So rude, to make them work on their time off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭jaymla627

When a td is this clueless and a dairy farmer at that supplying the co-op that where/are in a agreement re curd supply to this plant you'd be left scrathing your head, tirlain will obviously divert the curd into its cheese plants etc so how does willie reckon the plant is a runner when it has no contractual supply of product which it had in the Tirlain aggrement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭148multi

AAh now, they were all decked out in their riot gear, discussing strategy and drinking tea and biscuits while on trible time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,386 ✭✭✭alps

Coops will only take a farmer out of contract from another coop. If a dairygold farmer was to give notice today, it would be Jan 1st 2029 before they would be out of contract.

In glanbia, youre not entitled to bonuses and top ups while waiting out your notice period.

Not that easy to get away from some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Looking at putting 80 cows though a 12 unit parlour.Budget is a bit tight for acrs and an auto wash,are many lads working away without them?

Kerry Co-op management confident that all milk suppliers will sign contract | RadioKerry.ie https://share.google/DeKN3m6T1lRou3yOu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Grueller

Ya putting 75bthrough a 12 unit without either for 6 years now and wouldn't be bothered with them now.

Cheers grueller,I got a very competitive quote from dairymaster for a basic second hand 12 unit fitted and think ill give them the go ahead

100 through a 12 unit and dont see the point of ACRs. I see oneills on YouTube had theirs popping off too early. That's a disaster after spending all the money. I dont know if tgey even have meters.

Looks like some bollix of a parlour with no jars. Fooling with different groups in spring, dump buckets, pulling off pipes for milk recording. All a balls of a job imo.

I have a mate with the same make parlour and the acrs are too slow coming off so he justs works them manual.

To be honest I just want something basic with a bit of back up and keep funding for decent stock

Plenty lads happy with dairymaster around here and happy out. Backup is number one. I have a basic delaval myself.

I wouldn't overpay too much for this oversold stock. Alpt of liars out there selling stock. Management and feeding rate are just as important. Through milk recording and breeding you can be fine tuning in your own time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,195 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Easy knacker me. But I'm knackered!!

Milkbar teats all pushed back in and out with a screwdriver. And peach teats put in their stead. The black peach teats weren't in stock in the merchant where I bought the feeder. 20 perfect brand new milk bar teats free to a good home..

20260502_165612.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

SSecond Hand 12 unit is worth about 5 or 6 k so the rest is labour.just happen to time myself in the parlour lately and for 14 unit the row time is 7 min or or so.no need for cluster removers below 16 units.

Have a few lads that i know that will be selling the the type of incalf heifers im after.Will also be looking for some young ho/fr cows doing 500kg solids from 1-1.5 tons of nuts