Are fuel prices pushing you towards an EV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“I'd love to know what % of EV owning households only own an EV (whether one or more) versus an EV + a car with an ICE. In other words, what percentage of folks have gone "all in". Most I know have one of both, but I also know of a few households that have gone exclusive EV (him and her).”

We nearly went all in with both cars EV- but quickly came to our senses - but not because we were reluctant to lose the ICE-it was much simpler than that -it would have been a complete waste of money given our combined annual milage didn’t justify a second nearly new EV and because vast majority of milage now done is using the one EV between us.
    We still have the ICE but it will probably do less than 8000 kms in 2026, with a combined household milage of about 30k kms.

Would we sell the ICE and buy another EV? In the future if it starts to give expensive trouble yes. But having recently spent a few bob on it- tyres and some mechanical work- we’d prefer to get the value back from that and also, better secondhand EVs will be available to us the longer we wait.

But I wouldn’t be afraid to have an all EV household - depreciation whilst sitting in the driveway doing feic all miles is probably the biggest depreciation mistake people can make - you lose far more than you save on fuel /servicing - fine if you’re using the car- hence many are better off keeping older ICE cars which may be worth very little, on the road and serviced as their second car - rather than spending even 10k on a second hand EV that’s doing feic all milage .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,079 ✭✭✭✭unkel

All EV here. Recently sold my fully electric camper but still have 3 EVs left. Even 10k on a second hand EV? I bought several EVs for under a grand…

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

It depends what you want outside your door and what you want to drive around in unkel. And I know you’re a dab hand too- didnt you fit a battery or something yourself? Which would be beyond most folk.

There’s “needs” and then there’s “wants”- I’d say majority of people driving big expensive SUVs don’t “need” them- they want them. In fact most car purchases are probably based on wants vs needs- otherwise we’d all be driving 10yo Dacia’s or the like
    So I was only speaking personally- the quality, range and features of EVs under 10k will only increase year on year- but what’s out there right now for say 5-6k, I probably wouldn’t be interested in owning /driving.

For many, a 10 year old Zoe or leaf would meet daily driving “needs”- but not many want to own them - but in a few years time, a 10 year old Cupra or ID would be a cracking sub 5-10k car to own as a second car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭sept09baby

All EV here. OH has a 2025 Xpeng G6 and I traded my i40 diesel last year for a cheap 2021 ID3

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,292 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

we're 100% EV too. with one car. i don't know how common that is…

i work from home permanently, and my wife would take public transport to work regardless of access to a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,930 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

3 EVs here too, but I have a few classics that are ICE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,787 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

There's 32c of duty and 2.5c carbon due to go back on a liter of Diesel when the war ends, bear that in mind before making any rash decisions

We're EV exclusive, we were about a year and a half EV+ICE - but quickly came to our senses. Right now we're looking at paying about €10-€12 a week for both cars for 500 to 600km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 14.5psi

While anecdotal responses here are nice to know - especially where folks share their stories - I was referring to statistically significant data. I'm sure it exists for some markets. I observe in my neighbourhood that most (say 70%) of multi-car households are EV + ICE. Gotta start somewhere I guess. Let's say the figure is 60-70% today, my hypothesis is it'll decline over time (e.g., fewer mixed EV+ICE households in favour of EV only).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,627 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I have just changed, the second will emain ICE as I need a diesel for towing. Other half was hard to convince but now sold on EV's. Neighbor accross the way changed a year ago his wife was changing thiscyear and he could not convince her to go EV. Women seem more reluctant than men but when they change they see the advantage. Neighbors would have a big car his wife drives a small car.

First cousin of the better half has free charging at work and she was reluctant to change. Her husband has wanted her to get one for a couple of years

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

I think the more interesting question is- did you buy an EV as your primary or secondary car?

Given petrol prices right now, and the simplicity of driving an EV if coming from say a manual ICE, I’d argue that those buying a second hand EV as their second car, will likely move to using that as their primary car very quickly.

I’d advise anyone who has two half decent ICE cars in their driveway who are thinking of “dipping their toes in the EV waters”, to at least get rid of one, and whatever you buy to replace it, buy it with a view to actually using it as your primary car. Don’t just buy any cheap second hand EV- if you’re going to be doing decent milage on it annually, then get something you’ll want to keep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Izy

We’ve one EV and ICE.

Replaced a 2012 ICE with a new EV. Now both work from home and the EV became the primary car for both of us. The ICE serves one purpose only nowadays, bringing the dog to the beach as the new EV is still too precious to get a golden retriever that swam and rolled around in sand into the backseat (have seat covers but I don’t think they work well with that combination, dog gets a spin when being taken to be groomed etc.). The ICE is a 2015 and will be used for this until it dies when it will be replaced by a second EV (ideally another 3-4 years to have a better choice of a second hand one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Busman Paddy Lasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

2 x EVs here. No ICE cars anymore. But do have a diesel campervan.

No complaints, no interest in having any sort of ICE anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭fits

1 EV and 1 16 year old ICE that’s out with the horsebox at least twice a week now. It does more mileage with a trailer on it than off.

When it croaks I’d like to get a cheap EV runaround and move to a small 3.5T horse van. We’ll see.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Busman Paddy Lasty

Yes! How did you guess?

We are about to look for a second hand ICE van. Something very cheap for camping gear so we don't have to bring the good car down lanes and beaches etc. Would only use it for trips. No desire to use it locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

What's your range? If once a week would work for you, you could get the weekender plan with E.I. (free Saturday or Sunday, 8 am to 11 pm) and use your solar to offset the higher rate during the week.

And I know as soon as i post this, someone will jump in with all the perceived problems, but if you were saving €50 a week…… worth considering. (Btw, I have no connection to E.I. apart from using this plan).

It's a bit vague with E.I. (reasonable use or something like that), but in reality there doesn't seem to be any issue unless you're really milking it…. (and I don't know where that kicks in or if anyone has encountered it). B.G. though have a plan where the hours are more limited and they have a definite limit that's not great.

We've gone all in - two EVs.

Kept the i.C.E. (Golf) for a while for wife, but it started giving trouble that cost quite a bit to sort out (and realised I never had to use it as backup to the E.V.), so sold it and bought an E-Up as second car. Brilliant little car and works out even better having the two. Can always have one or both charged up (for free on Sat.), use the E-up around the city during the week, and use the main EV for work and long trips….

One you drive an EV for a while, you completely lose interest in ever buying I.C.E. again…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Thinking of getting my first electric/hybrid. Have 2 ICEs at the moment, a 09 saloon and 86 coupe that I'll probably get rid of.

Have a dog now so want something with more boot space. Something 2nd hand <€10k.

Was looking at the Nissan Leaf and Mitsubishi Outlander. I don't do much driving, mostly short runs and a long monthly weekend road trip.

There seems to be a bit of hate for the Outlander? I like the look of it though.

I test drove an E Up a few years ago when they dropped new prices to 18k- a great little go cart so it is- was just too small for my needs but anyone who’s just doing short city driving should really consider it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MightyMunster

Wouldn't pick a leaf for longer trips as you're going to have a very limited charging network available without CCS. Same with outlander but you can obviously just use petrol instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,627 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I see littlebor no advantage of a hybrid over a full EV. They are usually more expensive to buy, more expensive to run and you stui have servicing costs.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

In the dinosaur world fossils have a role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭mr chips

Another hand in the air for a 100% EV household. I work from home, and my wife does so part of the time now - she was commuting full-time when we got the EV though. We've had nothing but the one EV for over a year now and it has met all our needs.

Just completed another long trip today - might post details elsewhere, but they're not relevant to this thread. Suffice to say that all our regular journeys can be completed either with zero charging stops or one, at any time of year. Range is not a limiting factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭rayman10

You know a steam engine will always turn heads. And rightly so. Classic. A steam train in particular. Maybe a steam barge on a river.

But ICE are beyond gross. Heard a retard flooring his noisy exhaust the other day.

Only an idiot would buy an ICE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭joe1303l

A poor choice of words but the sentiment implies you’ve never driven an ICE with a big lump under the bonnet with a classic soundtrack ? A classic Flat 6 Porsche 911, 5 cylinder Audi Quattro, A creamy V6,V8 etc. Maybe even a V10 or W12 if you can still find one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭pjdarcy

Yeah but let's be honest. Most of the lads with ridiculously loud exhausts have them attached to an old 4 cylinder, sub two litre yoke (my neighbour's VW polo par exemple). Revving one of those is like masturbating in public - it might be fun for you but it's horrific for everyone else 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭rayman10

To be fair a genuine classic car would be worth buying as a hobby.

But if anybody is buying a new car buying an ice is daft.

Unless you have no driveway or do a lot of long distance commutes where you rely on public charging.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,292 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

That's one of the benefits of EVs too. Urban centres are becoming quieter as a result.