Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭The Bernablaa

How Jack prendergast has stayed out on the pitch in the last 2 games is beyond me. His supporting runs actually narrow the space, or he runs into space for puckouts that Pirlo wouldn't find him with a ball. On TV maybe people can convince themselves he's mediocre, but in the flesh he is dirt.

2nd half was class. But in the first we lined up with 4 men in the half back line (some might say a sweeper) and Dessie as our centre forward. No wonder we are tanking that is some top quality Quelly-ball. I would love to know what was said in that dressing room at half time, by both players and management!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

I’d say he had run himself into a standstill. Needed legs for that last gruelling 10 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭upthedeise16

Feel the criticism of Jack has been over the top, especially here after last weeks match, watching the match back last week, he won 3 frees that were scored and ran himself into the ground, same again today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭HikingBeatsSport

Christ above....That was a proper game of two halves... woeful in the first half & magnificent in the

The subs (Sean & Kevin) positional changes completely flipped the gsme on its head along with a much more aggressive approach.

​Billy was class again. Jamie, Stephen B, and Aaron O’Neill were nothing short of phenomenal once they cut loose. I don't agree with the negative comments regards Paddy. He was one of our better performers again today.

​It definitely felt like Tipp outnumbered us in our own backyard, which is honestly a bit disappointing.

​We’ve got Cork on Saturday week and it’s do or die. The shift the players put in during that second half proves they’re playing for the jersey. We need to make sure we at least match the Cork crowd next day.

It's now that this team needs all the support it can get.

All the more reason to take him off if he ran himself into the ground!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,112 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Clare vs Limerick next Sunday won't be for the weak and could have a big baring on our season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

Proud of the lads for the fight shown in the second half. Not many teams could come back from 11 points down. I don’t care if I get abused for it, but I’d bench Dessie Hutchinson. We’re seeing nothing from him only a piss poor attitude. I think Joe Canning made a very telling statement last weekend on the Sunday game, Dessie is “probably the best club hurler in Ireland”. It’s something I’ve said for a long time and Canning made sure he got his point across by bringing the club into it.

Dessie is a fantastic player and a nice lad but he needs to stand up in a county jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

I’d have dropped Dessie a long time ago but there’s been nobody to bring in. Today was Mahony’s first game where he stood up and was counted so fair play to him. I think the Paddy Leavey debate is basically west v east here, there’s no way he’s comparable to Brick as a previous poster stated, Brick absolutely dominated the half back line. Leavey gets on the ball but he’s pretty loose when it comes to defending. He might be better in midfield but I’ve yet to see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

leavey? He can’t hit the ball. Less said there the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Giveitfongs analysis would be great to settle the Paddy Leavey debate!

Have to say I was surprised to not see Mikey Kiely or Curran make an appearance today but on the whole Queally got the subs spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Dessie needs to be played in the correct position and get the right ball delivered into him…dropping him would be crazy.

Jesus what’s with the cowardly attacks on your own players would ye cop onto yereselves. Leavey and Prendergast like everyone today emptied themselves, as for Dessie having a bad attitude I don’t agree at all the man works his bollocks off to try and effect games, finds it hard to get on the ball we know county is a big step up from club but we also know he’s capable of magic moments. It’s a day to be praising the efforts of lads not knock them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 jmf1993

Calum Lyons performance at the start of the 2nd half up until he was taken off was amazing. It was the most Roy of the Rovers performance I have ever seen in person, especially at a time we were dead and buried!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭914

Yeah it was, and Jamie Barron too.

In fairness to the lads, men stood up all over the pitch when all seemed lost.

A nice break now and Cork at home. Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭carq

not sure what can be done given it has existed for so many years but the accuracy and shot selection is what killed us

Compare the 4 teams on show yesterday - shot conversion - shots/scores

Tipp 40/31 - 77% ( from play accuracy 76%)
    Cork 37/24 - 64% (from play accuracy 57%)
    Limerick 39/24 -61% (from play accuracy 55%)
    Waterford 50/27 - 54% (from play accuracy 45%)

Last week

Clare 46/36- 76% (from play accuracy 68%)
    Tipp - 30/23 - 76% (from play accuracy 66%)
    Waterford - 37/25 - 67% (From play accuracy 52%)
    Cork - 44/29- 65% (from play accuracy 70%)

When Waterford get a chance it is a coin toss if they will get a score

stats pilfered from Gaelic statsman on twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭dk1982

………………

Post edited by dk1982 on

Thanks for laying it out like that. I did feel even when we were bossing it in the second half that our shooting was the only blotch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Kilkenny man here was roaring ye on the 2nd half. Hard to get the contrast between both halves, even the crowd seemed dead in the first half. Tipp lads had all the time in the world. 2nd half was peak munster hurling, Bennett and barron are 2 warriors, lions outstanding too. Mackey great impact.

With a 2 week break, and cork likely down their no 3 and 6 id give waterford every chance if they put a full 70 minute performance together. In reality they were flat after last week while tipp were always going to come out fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Punt Road

Jeepers what a crazy game yesterday. We're still in with a shout…..just……one win could do it …. but any Waterford win from here would be a massive shock to be fair

• Clare loses to Limerick - not beyond reasonable thinking
    • Waterford beat Cork - Long shot to be fair based on form
    • Tipp beat Clare in a close match - not beyond reasonable thinking
    • Limerick beat Waterford in a close match - Possible if we bring 100%. Need to avoid a skelping
    • Cork beat Clare - not beyond reasonable thinking
    • Limerick beat Tipp by a good bit more than they did us - not beyond reasonable thinking

Cork 6 pts

Lim 6pts

Waterford 3 pts [Better score diff than Tipp]

Tipp 3pts

Clare 2pts

Tis a very long shot lads …..

still gasping for air after that yesterday. If ever a performance typified Waterford, not just this team but Waterford teams stretching back to the 90s, this was it. Mixing the sublime with the ridiculous.

those point scoring stats paints a fair picture but this has been a feature going back as far as Derek McGrath teams, taking 40/50 shots out the field from crazy angles with the law of averages that at least 50% should go over. Theres a wider issue around team setup and systems, we need to find a way to work our way into more scoreable positions to make it about quality of shooting and not quantity. I think the battle on the sideline was intriguing yesterday with Liam Cahill flummoxing everyone with 4 changes to the starting line but then the changes made at half time by Waterford management including introduction of Mackey, players roaming around and attacking in droves right from the throwin in the second half caught Tipp unawares aswell

one thing we can’t say is that the players are not playing for Queally and this management team. He’s got everyone rowing in behind him and the hunger and desire for the Waterford jersey is at a level I haven’t see for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,371 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Fintan O Toole on twitter saying Cork management have confirmed a cruciate tear for Joyce and that Rob Downey is out for 6 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,112 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Footballers drawn at home to London in the Tailteann Cup 1st Round

1000445130.jpg

Fully agree, the most Waterford statistic every is scoring 7-45 in two games while conceding 3-63.

If someone said prior to the two games that would be our scoring I think we all would think that we would be sitting here with four points and practically qualified, yet here we are with a single point.

Too many ifs and buts especially with the level of competition in Munster.

Next up is Cork where in all honestly we need a win, take one game at a time as we can't worry about what others might or might not do.

Wow, that’s their 3 and 6 gone. I wouldn’t take any pleasure in that, shur we’ve been without ours with Prunty Daly and De Burca struggling aswell. this Munster round robin is cruel on players. With lads being flogged week on week there’s inevitably going to be injuries.