Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 kasporov

Stephen Bennett, what a performance in the 2nd half, the man is an animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Wow. What a second half. As someone said you couldn’t analyse it. Huge credit to our lads on that second half, fought like warriors for the cause and can’t ask for anymore .
    the pessimist in me is saying a draw is not really much use to us. This was a must win game which didn’t win and have left ourselves with it all to do to beat both cork and Limerick.

Anyway me move forward to Cork on Saturday week, plenty time to get the bodies right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭seananigans

not necessarily, cork could win all their games and we could sneak in second or 3rd ,with cork unassailable , a win against limerick could do us, and we are due one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 handy_out

Definitely would have taken a draw at half time but I feel disappointed with a draw.
    Some second half!! Mackey was unreal.
    That first half was a disgrace but thankfully there’s fight and belief in this team. If we play like that second half against cork, we’ll have every chance but I’m not sure that’ll be enough now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭cbwfd

Being honest I thought he showed well,won ball and set up a good score. Would be disappointed with the wide no doubt. Definitely should've had a free on the sideline. The quick free was a poor decision in hindsight but if it goes to hand and in the back of the net hes a hero. We could name a few other players who cost us a score in the last few mins with silly mistakes but Aussie is the first name on everyone's lips every time.

every armchair hurler would agree , ultimately he saw an opportunity and it didn't happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Glenomra

A Clareman commenting. A brilliant come back. Great boost for Waterford hurling regardless of how the rest of the year pans out. Ye always produce brilliant hurlers, some wonderful hurling but struggle to realise yere full potential. It will come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Some fight shown by Waterford to come back and get the draw in the end. This team will be tricky enough opponents for Cork the next day. Waterford are well overdue a bit of luck in regards to getting out of the group, but that defeat to Clare in Ennis could prove to be costly in the end.

Today though is all about recognising a fantastic display of character by this Waterford team. We'd give anything in both Cork and Waterford to be like Tipp, and keep winning the odd all Ireland here and there to keep things ticking over, but it looks like the men of 1965 record as the last Tipperary team to win two all Irelands back to back will still be intact at the seasons end.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

67 years waiting…….think it’s at least 5-6 away yet

things happen slowly,and then all at once ,after 2 rounds last year,tipp had one point and were -15 ,we are one one point and on -6 , we are 9 points to the good better than the all ireland champs last year

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,371 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I have no issue with the decision to take the short free by gleeson. We were in the stand at the city end and dessie was shouting for it and in space. Unfortunately the execution wasn't the best. He had to rush it as that space wasn't going to last long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 itsontheline42

it’s not scapegoating? It was a horrendous decision… 2 down 72nd minute… that free to go 1 down with 2 minutes to go but no they went up and got another point to go up 3 and luckily and thankfully we got a goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 handy_out

Ah lads, the first half performance cost us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 914Deise

Billy Nolan brilliant again today. Fair play to the team today never threw in the towel, nothing seemed to go right in the first half and Tipp hardly missed a chance however Tipps work rate in that half was the big difference. Sean Mackey a real find this year and Sean Walsh is a handful if we can get enough ball into him with Bennett lurking we'll create plenty of goal chances.

Kevin Mahoney made a great impact and young O' Neill had a fine second half. Plenty of positives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,096 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

It was woeful. To go from the fight in the Clare game to that at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭dk1982

Absolutely brilliant second half fight back. Are we going to have to keep watching Paddy Leavey for the rest of the championship though? Its an awful indictment on Queally that he keeps persisting with him. Like playing with 14 men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,114 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

No way did I expect that 2nd half showing after that abysmal first half but have to give credit to the lads. They fought for the jersey. No more words are needed about Stephen Bennett and Jamie Barron absolute warriors

We could easily of won the game too

That Tipp crowd are hard to take at times felt sweet we costing them the win after the amount of piss taking by them at half time

Saying that we have a tough road ahead of us and Cork is must win Saturday week as they'll want to 'secure a Munster final place

Thank god was keeping track myself as the 3rd goal wasn't added to that scoreboard

1000445012.jpg

The ref was beyond $hite today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Ian OB

Who knew that murmering gentle words of encouragement at the television could make you lose your voice?

#Hurling #Déise #CamánYouGoodThing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭decies

The two worst fans are Kilkenny and Tipperary have had multiple dealings with both of them down through the years , the Tipp ones will tell you it’s Kilkenny I have to remind them ye are equally as bad !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Deiseen

I've been unbelievably critical of Kevin Mahoney over the past while (but chose to leave his name out of this board out of respect). But what a great half of hurling he had today and then the goal to rescue it. Please god we see more of this going forward.

I'm not sure what people on here see in Paddy Leavey. He may have potential but I feel like having him on the pitch today for 70 minutes was fighting with one arm behind our back. Don't want to single him but it's not working. Aaron O Neill is one I had doubts about during the league but he's settling in more and more with every game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,114 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

add the rebel army into it

A 6pm Saturday throw in with them drinking around the city will be delightful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 westwaterfordaqua

Hard to put words to that.

Every single player put the shoulder to the wheel in the second half. The effort, the passing, the bench, brilliant.

Fitzy and O’Neill bossed it.

Bennet, Barron and Mahony were unmarkable at times.

Can’t understand Calum coming off it was some throwback to lockdown watching him rip up the middle, maybe had a knock.

Jack Pender worked like a dog also, credit where it’s due.

Just on the hassle Leavy gets here, it’s bizzare, the amount of ball that man gets on, he works hard off the ball and he’s never turned over. Maybe it’s way he strikes it but it never bothered anyone with Brick.

We can beat anyone with that level of hurling, how management get it out of them for 70mins is the big challenge for Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭914

Fortune favours the bold. The goal was on, granted it didn't work out.

We got a 21 v clare last week, Aussie stood over it to go for goal, Stephen took it and got the point and we ended up bet by 6, had we went for the goal and got it things could have turned out differently.

If we coach bravery out of players and play safe, then the game is gone.

I always think of Paul Flynn V Cork in Thurles, he should have went for the sensible point but had the balls and bravery to go that step further resulting in a goal.

If it worked out today he's a hero etc, if it doesn't he's the worlds worst, the joys of playing on the edge.

I couldn't see the sense in taking calum off either. His shooting was a bit off but the amount of ball he was on was unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭914

How do we even sum up today. If you told me at half time that we would get a draw I would have taken the hands off you, and full time I felt we could have won it, absolutely mad feeling.

First half, the less said about it the better, poor first touch, soft in the challenges, second to the ball, shooting dreadful, Tipp getting scores far to easy, looked like a team nervous, over thinking, second guessing what they were going to do, conceding 1-18, dreadful.

Like many others, I worried this was going to be a hammering.

I don't know what happened at half time, but by God what a performance. The lads absolutely left everything out there, talk about dieing in your boots for the cause.

Granted we still had some poor decisions in the second half, but the running play was great, shooting massively improved, players seemed to play with freedom, they just seemed more sure in themselves.

When we get back to reality, I'm not sure where we are. Clare and Tipp games are two games that I would have targeted for wins, so to only have 1 point from both of those is disappointing, but if we fail to obtain another point but show that level of fight, passion and desire that is all that you can ever ask for.

I'm delighted for the lads to put in such a performance and also gutted for them that they couldn't see it out, undoubtedly extremely proud of them all for that second half performance.

Sport is mad. If he had of taken the point, who knows we may have ended up losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Montys return

It was terrible first half, really poor performance.

But the group of players have gotten a lot of flak over of the years for giving up etc. In my opinion, you could not level that at them the past 3 years. They fight incredibly hard. Today exemplified that, unlucky not to win it in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Ian OB

Will they start with hurling or football?