Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,376 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Think we're looking at Soroka as potential lock/backrow replacement for Toulon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭conquestscarer

I'd say Porter and McCarthy are being wrapped in cotton wool because they've niggles, everyone else who's feeling good is playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Benetton with their strongest possible 23 given injuries to Ruzza, Negri, Ferrari, Smith.

15 Matt Gallagher (23)
    14 Ignacio Mendy (56)
    13 Tommaso Menoncello (74)
    12 Malakai Fekitoa (45)
    11 Paolo Odogwu (35)
    10 Jacob Umaga (75)
    9 Alessandro Garbisi (86)
    8 Lorenzo Cannone (69)
    7 Michele Lamaro (C) (96)
    6 Manuel Zuliani (82)
    5 Riccardo Favretto (74)
    4 Giulio Marini (15)
    3 Tiziano Pasquali (152)
    2 Bautista Bernasconi (58)
    1 Destiny Aminu (19)

A disposizione: 16 Nicholas Gasperini (11), 17 Ivan Nemer (51), 18 Marcos Gallorini (7), 19 Niccolò Cannone (104), 20 So’otala Fa’aso’o (17), 21 Eli Snyman (75), 22 Andy Uren (61), 23 Leonardo Marin (53).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭FtD v2

Have read on Leinsterfans the expectation is that Porter will make the Toulon game, much less sure about Joe McCarthy though. He would be an enormous loss, especially given how potent Toulon's maul has been at times this season.

I like our selection though for the most part other than that.

The two centres need to deliver if they want to feature next week. Rieko has looked a lot more comfortable and effective on the wing in recent weeks and would have had him pencilled in for that shirt v Toulon, but Jimmy O'Brien was excellent v Ulster last week and another good showing here could see him nab the shirt. Jamie Osborne's last two outings at 12 in Europe were both poor performances. On the flip side, Garry & Robbie were excellent last week, and that's the pairing I'd go for unless Osborne puts in a very big performance here.

We have some nice impact to come off the bench here though. After the performance Benetton turned in last week, we have to come away with 5 points here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

That Leinster selection would indicate that the management have looked at the previous seasons selections pre CC semi & have noted that the resting of key players didnt work.

Its good to see & bodes well for ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,699 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

That's a good team, I like the backs on the bench. Osborne really needs to find his groove at 12, and our attack out to be looking to take advantage of Reiko's speed to create line breaks. The contrast with how Meloncello and Brex get used is stark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Genuinely no intention to take a cheap shot

Lies. All you have are cheap shots and whataboutery. Here you are, again, in the Leinster thread talking absolute nonsense. You'd have modded people for similar behaviour in the Munster thread.

MOD: Warned

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

MOD: Cut out the personal attacks. Actions will escalate if this continues. You are not obligated to reply to any particular post, but if you do then focus on the post and not the poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Disappointed we wont get to see Luigi Lynagh and Mario Ratave on the wings for Benetton.

The Tight-5 looks underwhelming.

His 'speed'!! 'Line breaks'!!

At least Cooney is playing in the AIL final!

That Leinster side should rack up a big score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Happy with that team. He has messed it up for years but looks like Cullen has managed these games well before the semi final. Pretty much anyone in contention for next week will have gotten a run out, bar the injured (Porter may be wrapped in cotton wool and only play in knockout games from here in my opinion).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,345 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

20 years? One could argue their last international centre was Mossy Finn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭ersatz

Outside of world class there is no other metric for a 'top player' that whether he is best or second best where he plays, which in the case of Crowley is Ireland. He also led Ireland to a 6N and second place in a 6N in the two opportunities he had as first choice ten. Maybe Russel or Jalibert/Ntmack ahead of him by 6N standards but most coaches would have him over any of the English or Welsh or Italian options. Sure, Ireland's quality at ten isn't what it might be, but bar Sexton, Crowley would give any of our pro era tens a run for their money, incl ROG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭letsbefair

Is this the Leinster thread ? Why are all the Munster supporters here? Give us a break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

Toulon resting Ribbans and Ollivon for tomorrow

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Mad that Ed Byrne has more Leinster caps than Caelan Doris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Because sometimes, something will come up and fans of other provinces will want to comment on it. And in this case, it directly involved Munster.

An obviously bigger story, but should all the Leinster fans commenting in the Munster thread about the Roger Randle appointment not have been able to do so?

Same principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Agreed, anyone should be able to comment on any thread.

I do believe that the majority of non Munster followers who commented on Munster Rugby’s coach appointment did not so using their own province as a comparator, but were simply expressing their concern on the possible detrimental effect on Munster. They weren't there to goad / gloat or virtue signal.

Outside of inter provincial rivalries, which sometimes becomes petty (and boring), all genuine rugby followers understand that Ireland need a competitive and thriving Munster / Connacht / Ulster / Leinster.

Maybe I'm out of touch but that's my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭shinana abu

Agree

The way things are going with Stormers Vs Glasgow, there could be three teams on 56 points by the end of this round of fixtures.

Edit: I got it wrong. A try bonus victory would see us go one point ahead of Glasgow and level on points with Stormers. Getting a home semi final would be huge.

Post edited by Clegg on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭letsbefair

Very poor, we kept kicking the ball back to them. Zero leadership on the field from experienced players.

Can we please, for the love of god, not go through another year of this coaching team. Cullen should have been gone years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭A-Train

Toulon coming to town next weekend and beating this poor Leinster team. Zero leadership and worse coaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Cullen out. Just go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭revth1990

Not a single brain cell across the entire coaching team or players, cant wait to see the back of this shower of frauds we have for a coaching ticket.

If Prendergasgt cant recognise when to kick it off because were losing momentum then he should spend next season playing AIL rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭scott1974

That was awful.... how are these the players from the 6 nations..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭LostArt

First half like most games this season, loads of opportunities but sloppy as ****. Second half pretty terrible all round.

Oh I fully expect we will limp through that game and some people will claim that getting to European finals is not to be taken for granted and removing Cullen could be worse.

Ah lads, this was a poor performance but I see no reason to dismiss our chances of winning next week.

Leinster have shown the ability to raise their game depending on the fixture and will probably beat Toulon. They'll snap back into a competitive mindset next week. The return of James Ryan will see to that. I think we underestimate how important he is for setting the tone of performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭A-Train

Unfortunately I agree. There are still plenty of cheerleaders around for the coaching ticket. Just bad decision after bad decision. Too many now and the team is going nowhere. Looks certain now to be no silverware in June. I wonder what the excuses will be then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Reiko two good outings at wing = centre.

Osborne two shocking outings at centre = centre

Penny POTM last week = 77th min entry

Henshaw 8/10 last week = have a week off.