Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,376 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Rumours that Casper Gabriel is off to Munster. I think that's the wrong decision as Munster isn't a good place for player development or growth. But if he sees an easier path there for more senior minutes I suppose he has to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭FtD v2

I've seen the rumours.

It doesn't make huge sense if his long term plan is to play 10 - because he'll be firmly behind Crowley, and then competing with the very promising Tom Wood for minutes too.

This guy just turned 20 last October (same month he debuted for Leinster), I genuinely don't know how many minutes he could have expected to have gotten at this point.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

For now I just assume it is a ploy to get a senior contract at Leinster.

Yeah agreed. There's a bottleneck at Munster also. Apparently he's been offered a place as a hybrid back at 10/12/15. But if that's the case there's an opening at Leinster with Frawley's imminent departure.

On top of Munster not being a great place to nurture talent, the overall environment seems incredibly chaotic from the outside. The squad isn't in a great place with performances varying wildly from very good to abysmal. Beyond that their coaching structure is in a constant state of flux. The Demented Mole guys made a good point that MacMillan really hasn't "raised the floor" like he set out to do. He won't be staying long term either if there isn't notable improvement next season.

First of the new contracts today: Tom Clarkson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭letsbefair

Quick question, not an expert. Lets say winger standing still under where high ball going to land in his bread basket, next thing a flying winger at full pace launches himself from a few metres away into the air, catches the ball but lands on the winger. Does the standing winger get a red card? If so will unscrupulous coaches not use this to their advantage? (this is a question nothing to do with the Max Deegan card, which has been decided).

We need clarity on this as much as with a head to head red card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,686 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Contact in the air - Challenging players in the air - Law 10.4(i)

Play on – Fair challenge with both players in a realistic position to catch the ball. Even if the player(s) land(s) dangerously, play on

Penalty only - Fair challenge with wrong timing - no pulling down

Yellow card – Not a fair challenge, there is no contest and the player is pulled down landing on his back or side

Red card – It’s not a fair challenge with no contest, whilst being a reckless or deliberate foul play action and the player lands in a dangerous position

Quoted from the post above.

I'd imagine it's the first of these options from the scenario you give. Play on according to the rules mentioned above.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,403 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

a couple of things in that i think

1. if the winger is standing still and wants to catch the ball into the bread basket, but is beaten in the contest for the ball by the opposition winger who rises high to gather, then that poor play / judgement / decision making etc and as such shouldnt be rewarded in any way.
    2. if the winger who jumps to gather, but doesnt gather, and lands into the standing still player who has gathered the ball, then THEY risk being sent of for a reckless act.

in my opinion, in the situation you describe, the question comes down to whether its a fair challenge for the ball, and the definition of that. If i rise high to gather a ball, and do gather, but im flipped by a player standing still on the ground, then in my mind thats not a fair challenge for the ball and the standing still player is subject to the sanctions listed above.

Fair play to Tom Clarkson. His rate of progression has really been staggering. Three years ago I was sure he wouldn't be offered a new Leinster contract when his was up for renewal. He really struggled in the scrum and was making no impact in the loose.

Now he's a fairly competent scrummager and excellent in the loose. His last few appearances off the bench in the Champions Cup and his start against Ulster have underlined that. Leinster should have no real concerns about their future at tight head post Furlong. That's a huge complement to Clarkson and how hard he has worked.

His carrying has noticeably improved this season.

Still a worry against top tier props i think, but you could say that about any irish prop these days I think.

Loads of time to improve also.

3rd of the day goes to Alex Soroka - glad to see him renewed. Big opportunity for him to have a big role this season with Baird hurt and Deegan suspended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,096 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I've seen a fair bit of Gabriel and I reckon he ends up a 12/15. He's a strong carrier, fast and good in the air. He's a good passer and kicker but takes a lot on himself when he's playing 10. Given Frawley is going next year I'd be shocked if he moves anywhere, I'd agree that it's just a ploy for a deal at Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

He's a great example of how people (me especially as I shared your sentiment) should be a bit more patient with the big men. And I'm sure glad the coaches have better patience than I!

We've got a bit spoiled with less common athletic specimens like Porter, both McCarthys, Ryan and even Boyle to a certain extent. I.e. these fellas were physically ready to thrive at an extremely high level in their early 20s.

The case for a lot of big lads isn't always that. I think lads who can do it in their early 20s are more an exception.

Clarkson started delivering when he was in and around 25. Once his body had settled into the physical demands of his position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,087 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

But if that's the case there's an opening at Leinster with Frawley's imminent departure.

An opening to be filled by Joey Carbery, by all accounts.

Gabriel isn't really in a position to be playing mind games with Leinster, this is likely just idle chatter rather than anything concrete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Baptiste Serin for a year. What ye say?

Will be 32 in June. No realistic prospect of RWC with Dupont, Lucu & Le Garrec in front of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

I think basically every prop in Ireland is a worry against the absolute top tier props (mostly thinking SA, maybe some French). Not really sure that's a huge point of difference between anyone else and Clarkson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,699 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

How does Gabriel compare to Tector? I don't think we're really in need of another centre/fullback given the logjam of players there.

I'd love to have him, but think he just extended his deal out till 2028. If we did sign him, you could be sure the French would act the bollix and call him into every squad though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Luke Pearce confirmed as referee for the Champion Cup SF.

Best of the available options I think, given it was always likely to be an English ref.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,403 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

yep, given the choice of Carley, Dickson, Ridley or Pearce, id pick Pearce every time.

Nika obviously as well, but hes doing the other semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,699 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

He's been pretty solid lately. Thought his performances around the time of the last WC took a poor turn. Happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭ersatz

I don't think he speaks English, which would make a one year deal fairly tricky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭bingobango12

By far the best option in terms of a referee who can officiate. Miles ahead of the likes of Carley who shouldn’t be rewarded with his dreadful performances this season. Will be a fair fight on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,346 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,880 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Oh dear.

Last five years capped Irish internationals - Jack Crowley, Craig Casey, Edwin Edogbo, Calvin Nash, Jeremy Loughman, Tom Aherne, Gavin Coombes.

Is the Munster strike rate that much poorer than Ulster or Connacht in that timeframe do you think? Go and have a Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Absolutely none of them have developed into top players (although still time for Edogbo to do so).

For someone with Gabriel's ceiling, and with the absolute mess that Munster is on and off the pitch at the moment, I wouldn't be happy with him going there at all.