Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭apache

Out walking my dog. People passing with their dog on a long lead.

Also an absolute scumbag walking their aggressive XL Bully without a muzzle. He can't control the dog. If the lead snaps under the strain then we're in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,319 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

And we have a Bork n' Roll. 🤩

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭The Continental Op

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,319 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Maybe haha I just couldn't read Apache's post so that's how you do it I suppose.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭maebee

Looking at this for the past few days, from my hospital bed. If i have to crawl out of the bed today, I'm going to straighten it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Hope you get well ( enough to straighten it ) soon. It would similarly do me head it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,037 ✭✭✭✭walshb

This absolute shite that you can win PL season off goal difference. There should always be a playoff if two teams top the league after 38 games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,178 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

fell asleep before putting my phone on silent, woken up at 6.54 by a notification followed by another half a dozen all in quick succession…all the usual cohort of AM scummy scammers trying to add / message me on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Its_D15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭mikemac2

I’m very good at typing , no issues here. Fast and accurate

So why do I fall to pieces when anyone watches me?? I had to share my screen with my boss and I was typing some comments and I was struggling. Same if someone comes to my desk and watches me

But 10 seconds later when I’m on my own I type perfectly, I cannot explain it

Our awful pissy, cold, grey, windy miserable climate. Draining, 5-6 more days of this ahead of us..no thanks 💀

23°, sunshine and no breeze right now in Alcudia which is only about 3 hours away. 😵👀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,604 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Giving high teens by the weekend,mainly in the west though I think.

Closer than Alcudia anyway.

Summertime itv schedule . All repeats . I thought I was st1t hot at Lingo until I realised I had seen it before .

Hit the mini supermarket far later than usual. Packed with students from the university mostly just walking around chatting and admiring the products on the shelves 😵‍💫. This was at the same time too as the staff were trying to do a big restock… and people like me just trying to grab a few things quickly and go home for my dinner… but them blocking drinks cabinets, entire aisles and even the fûcking entrance / exit to the place ⚠️…For whatever academic prowess got them to college, absolutely no cop on whatsoever…Browsing in a supermarket? Wtf that be about ?

I realise this may sound contartradictary ? but watching six silent killings and even an Irish person is calling the name Deirdre , dear-dree . Coronation Street has ruined some people , and I thought it was just Nordies that did it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭hhmmm?

People who press the pedestrian crossing button and cross on red anyway only for the lights to change when nobody is there to cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'm guilty of that I'll admit. In my defence some of the pedestrian lights in my area take ages to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Being told by a sibling that they are sick of ppl walking away from them while they are still talking, this one never met a redundancy they didn't use while speaking.

Guess who does this all the dam time? so I guess projection is my ta this am.

Post edited by Bredabe on

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I was a bit distracted when I made that appointment with the physio, and even though they only had my name, they still managed to find me and send out confirmation messages.

The message tells me its the boy physio who so wouldn't be my first choice but too late by the time I saw the message.

I can tell from the way he looks at me and his poorly hidden eye rolls that he thinks I’m fat and old, and wonders why he has to deal with clients like me. Now that I’m going, I have to shower, which leaves me cold to the bone unless the house is tropical (thanks, dyspraxia). Of course, the house isn’t tropical, and I couldn’t handle it if it was.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

People who ring the bell to get off the bus at the last stop. On a busy route terminating on Merrion Square during the middle of rush hour. I don't think the driver is going to whizz off back to the garage with you still on board if you don't let them know you want them to stop, lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,331 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

How would you know it's the last stop ? I would always ring the bell - don't want to end up half a mile away or worse from where I wanted to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Cause it literally says it on the front of the bus. Also, the fact that he turns the engine off as soon as he pulls into that particular stop is probably a bit of a giveaway.

I get it if it's a route you're not familiar with, but these are people I see on my commute several mornings a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,390 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

If a salesman rings you up on phone apologising for a quote before he emails it without naming the price….but says prices have increased….It’s not good a good sign !

Basically I think it is supposed to be a salesman trick to soften the blow. But it wound me up, had me asking myself why he did that ? Then saw the quote on the email ….Jaz-zus!!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,320 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Dandelions - a remarkable plant in many ways and serve an important role this time of the year. Just don't take over my feckin' flower beds, grow in the lawn if ye like 😁

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

I read this post and thought "ha, I started a thread on this exact topic a few years ago, wonder how long ago it was exactly".

Took a bit to find it, as it was under a different username, but find it I did………and it was almost 20 years ago. 😮Complete with "yore ma" jokes and a few oldschool posters who are gone (Dudess, Mike & Windsock, anyone?) and everything.

To answer my own question in that thread, yes, it does get faster and faster as you get older. Cherish your youth, folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭The Continental Op

Lost nut for my strimmer!

Swapped over from the bramble smashing blade to the strimmer head a couple of weeks back. Decided to go out this afternoon and bash down some brambles and couldn't find the nut which is of course non standard being a left hand thread.

OK Win for Amazon pack of 4 replacements to be sure to be sure ordered for Friday.

Wake me up when it's all over.

summer..single digit days away, so I hit the website of my favourite clothing label and find that while they have some good deals on t-shirts, they are sold out of regular sizes in particular L and XL for pretty much everything that caught my eye. Clicked on about 10 t-shirts I liked…only S, M, XXL 🧐

How are you sold out of so much of your summer stock ? given it’s the end of April and it’s your own labels site ? These were not in the clearance section and a couple of them actually had ‘new in’ on the photo. Dumb way to run a major respected label, people buy for (ahead) a season to be ready, so why is this shop..not ready ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭jacool

I disagree with this one. My related TA is that teams who know that this is a rule don't go out to batter every poor team they play against, just to boost their GD. Its as if they think that it only matters near the end of the season.

From supporting teams at the other end of the table, I was the one who asked @citytillidie to include the GD in the table, as its potentially worth an extra point, when you are down there scrambling.

Back at the top of the table, this made 2011-12 a cliff-hanger, between the two sides of Manchester.

That battle was actually bettered back in 1988-89 (pre-PL, I know, but, come on!!) where famously Arsenal scored their second, unanswered goal, in the last minute to tie with Liverpool on points, and GD, but win the title on goals scored.

Pre game table!

image.png

I remember that . Michael Thomas , and then he joined Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,037 ✭✭✭✭walshb

It's incredibly unfair and not at all reflective of who the real champion is when you are deciding winner and loser based off a goal here and there across 38 games and 9 months.