Gangland Shootings part 4 - Read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,765 ✭✭✭Jeff2

IIt Seems like it had something to do with the Irish garda paper work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭CajunSurprise

Will they risk a monk style fiasco court case against him here or will they hand him over to the Americans when they get him back to Ireland. Federal prison in America sounds better than the joy or portlaoise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Speedline

Its probably not as easy as that. Dubai have an agreement to extradite him to Ireland. Not America.

Mike the hack and Paul Healy on ther subjects of DK.

BTW Sean Mcgovern hasn't been sentenced yet after plleadding guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,929 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Would the Yanks not look to extradite him once he's served time in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭juno10353

The Irish have to charge him with whatever they have stated on the international arrest warrent. America would have had to issue their own arrest warrant.

Interesting days ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭lmao10

If he gets done in the Irish courts then I assume the Americans will be looking to pick up the pieces if he ever gets out and he'll be shipped over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭Hoboo

The high court has previously declined extradition on the grounds that conditions in US prisons may breach the European Convention on Human Rights so there’s a precedent set. He could well just do max time here and then up to the Americans to get him themselves if they like.

My layman’s understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭lmao10

Has he got any other choice than to go guilty over here considering others have pleaded guilty plus whatever evidence is in the encrypted chats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Spencer101

Apparently extradition is on charge of directing an organized crime gang. Maximum sentence is life but isn’t afaik mandatory sentence. So don’t think there’s a lot of precedents and a bit unclear what he might get. Figure you get a very, very heavy sentence in his position but not life. So if it’s a determinate sentence of 22 years or whatever he’s got an incentive to plead guilty. He will get credit for guilty plea and get out early. If however he’s told look you are getting the life sentence- he might as well try it on and plead innocent. There’s no incentive to plead guilty.

Post edited by Spencer101 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

If he's hit with a life sentence, and is in his 70's when he is released…the world will have moved on and he'll be a nobody just like when Tony Felloni or Gilligan were released. The yanks wouldn't bother their bollox with him then. If somehow he manages to beat the charge, if the yanks have anything concrete on him which I don't think they do unless they get the Italian to testify against him, and this could be possible in the SCC also, that would probably be the tact that'll be taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Spencer101

I don’t see how he gets off. Hutch got off as they charged him on basis he was a shooter at Regency. Stand corrected but understood they didn’t want to charge him with anything to do with moving guns as it would have revealed operational details of surveillance. It was you’d have thought obvious that the masked TAC1, TAC 2 did not include in their number a man (at the time) who was in his early 50s. You charge Kinahan with directing an OCG in SCC he’s getting convicted.

The Americans will extradite him in 2045 or whatever it turns out to be. That’s just what they do and what they are like.

Post edited by Spencer101 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭flanzer

I always laughed at them trying to pin Gerry as being one of the shooters. If you look at Gerry and his gait, he's noticeably bow legged. None of the shooters, from any of the footage made public, were bow legged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭winklepicker2025

Karl hyland arrested in Spain

Is this who I think it is winning a golf (or cash)? Nice timing if it is, not suss at all 😂

https://www.instagram.com/reel/DVQl7B9AnGI/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭GavPJ

She took the car. Thought she might have taken the cash and used it for their "washing/laundry"

Car will go straight through a dodgy car wash for more cash than she’d have got anyhow.

She can’t act that’s for certain. That winners video is farcical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭john why

Who is she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,157 ✭✭✭Pentecost

The wife of one of the Hennessys. Currently in jail herself I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,320 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

When is Sean McGovern being sentenced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,827 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Anois_

Why didn't Kinahan move once every Irish news site mentioned he was living in Dubai? Foolish to stay living there waiting to be picked up.

There is loads of countries out there keep moving once you are mentioned in the news again as living in the new country.

Absolutely, i could not understand it either. If they have the money they are supposed to have then there are plenty of countries where they could hole up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Petermc83

he was living in plain sight. He thought they had noting on him. Even though he was sanctioned by the US.. there was noting either the FBI or the Gardai had on him or the father/brother that would hold up in court.. That was until they cracked the encrypted phones.

The Thing is if the state really wants you they will get you whether or not they have anything on you. eg when the guards in limerick were finding it hard to get witnesses against the McCarthy/ Dundons they goaded them into threatening to kill, BOOM,5 years! Once they were locked away for 5 years the guards were able to work on the witnesses and build a case leading to convictions for murder against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

So, Biggie Little is Liam Byrne's son 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Speedline

where are you getting that from?

I thought that young lad was locked up for an atack on someone.