Tesla Talk 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Grand job then we can move on from this and you'll admit this is what I said and think.

______

I have said it shouldn't get approval and it did .

I also said robotaxi in Austin will never get approval.

______

And we can all drop this back and forth and move jaysusin on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,382 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Cool if that's how you want to recollect it

Robotaxi in Austin will never get approval where just so we are clear ? In Europe in Austin anywhere?

Oh look I posted the word Austin, for the first time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Robotaxi Will not get approval in Europe as it sits with it's hardware limitations.

Youre fully aware I'm not playing with language here I'm fairly explicit in what I say.

As I have been. I apologise if I get things wrong or give people kudos where required. What I don't do is put words in peoples mouths and id appreciate it you would reciprocate. Using things like 'if that's how you want to play it' once again your trying to imply what I said was different and it's incredibly childish trick acting to be frank. Act like an adult .

One of us is being childish for sure, tell me this, if I am being so unreasonable why did everyone else take you up the same way and no one is saying anything to support your view of what you said ?

Haven't a clue, can't read ?

I mean youve yet to show a shred of evidence of what you think I said . Despite reposting what I said several times and it clearly saying what I said.

I mean where are you intending to go with this ? If everyone jumps in the fire do you fall them ?

Can you must park it here and acknowledge what I physically wrote is what I wrote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Quite recently in fact.

"Not a hope of this passing EU" was in response to the claim made in the image attached - which refers to the RDW decision on FSD Supervised in the Netherlands.

The same decision you said would never be approved. Will you at least own your commentary and man up to Cyrus there and quit the goddamn backtracking.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭John arse

Moving on ,any news on the mysterious smaller car at all folks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭KCross

It seems the "misunderstanding" over the last few pages boils down to one simple thing…

Is whats being approved actual FSD as we would envisage it and what its marketed as (no hands, no supervision) or is it a watered down version where the driver is still responsible. I believe its the watered down version that has approval?

I think listermint has been clear, even in the posts quoted above, that he doesnt believe real FSD(in Tesla's current h/w configuration) will ever get approved and what has been approved is the watered down version.

I will say though, listermint, that you confused it a little with this reply as unkel clearly said "supervised FSD" and you said that was wishful thinking… maybe that was a mistaken reply?

But I think overall, even in the posts immediately preceding that one, that its "real fsd" that you believe wont get approval. Its that important distinction between FSD and real FSD that seems to have caused pages of rubbish over and back here.

Whether we ever get real FSD approved or not…. i dont know. Those edge cases are a worry for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

It couldn't be clearer what he meant - the picture above shows it in black & white. He said the concept being put before the RDW recently would never get approval.

In the week gone it was approved. Not a revised version, or some modified take, or a somehow watered-down resubmission - the original concept of supervised FSD as presented to the Netherlands Vehicle Authority, and it has now been approved.

Once again you with your agenda have extracted purposeful 1 sentence out of my quote and got X3 thanks for it by the same two people who also misquoted me.

Can you perhaps be a reasonable individual and post the entire quote that you posted . My words in full.

I can guarantee you won't because it fails your argument.

Not one of you answered my question. Embarrassed?

Is FSD limited to Austin ?

Why would I specifically say this is failing in Austin and say it hasn't a hope of passing in Europe if I'm talking about FSD ?

You've no interest in debate just your goofball point scoring by deleting entire quotes and taking out bits to win your envisaged argument.

As I've said I've had enough of this. Your not debating in any reasonable capacity it seems beyond you. Deleting out comments purposeful just sad really. And you've done it twice today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭John arse

Oh no it's starting again!😳

Screenshot_2026-04-12-15-23-48-14.jpg

Full agree it's a watered down version and it had to be because it clearly was not passing the tests. It was not able to give it's decision making reasoning to the tester in specific scenarios , as is often the case with a black box LLM.

So they had to put in exclusions that satisfied the testing matrix.

The drivers remain fully liable.

Either way. I said it shouldn't pass, it has. I still say it's not safe as I've always said. Robottaxi which relies on total unsupervised is never passing in Europe as it is. Quite happy to be quote posted you can book mark this one mojo and Cyrus.

And the supervised approved one from the RDW is not safe and if it was then they wouldn't have put all the caveats in the terms and conditions. It shouldn't be on the roads and I stand by that. The level of compute required to analyse images on the go and make safe decisions remains absolutely incredibly high. The layman's trust in such a system for their family car is mine boggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,076 ✭✭✭✭unkel

RDW says it is safe after 18 months of rigourous testing

@listermint says it is not safe

Who to believe? Tough one…

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Believe what you like. They've updated their terms so it's you who is at fault and not their vehicle if you have it activated.

Screams confidence to me.

But sure look, your fully informed now do as you will. Your insurance will eat you for breakfast with this thing engaged and anything happens. That's not a listermint opinion, that's an insurer fact .

I even asked you at one stage if you were confusing FSD with what was being put for approval here with was supervised FSD, no one was confused about this only you. You have got the wrong end of the stick and doubled down continuously simple as that, no shame in it but Jesus man own it.

What's being approved and what was always being approved and what everyone was talking about is supervised fsd like what's available in the states, no more no less, it was abundantly clear.

Ah Cyrus will you put this shite to bed. It's boring now. Youve zero grasp of reading comprehension clearly. So let's move on. I'm not here to be your primary English teacher. Back to the cars man.

If I was going to be a prick and make a condescending remark about someone's proficiency in reading comprehension I'd at least make sure my post didn't have grammatical errors.

Yes it's boring because you won't accept you were wrong, some day when I've time I'll get out the posts because after all this back and forth I'm willing to be petty about it.

When was it in Tesla's terms that they were liable when supervised fsd was enabled ?

Oh yea your more than willing to be petty but I'm more than willing to respond.

(You know this)

So we're at an impasse , so maybe let's stop making it dam well boring for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,107 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

I can read perfectly fine, thanks.

image.png

Maybe you were talking about FSD or Robotaxi, but @unkel clearly stated Tesla FSD supervised in the post you quoted. Fair to say you mis-typed, or mis-read and then everyone can move on?

Stay Free

No idea was it ? I was just reading Tesla's and RDWs detailed response about who's responsible. Perhaps they were just reiterating or calling it out to driver on Netherlands that never had it before nor had to look at terms ?

Either way it's in there. I'm waiting for the screaming people will be doing when it goes wrong and insurance are rejecting claims. Which is what's happening in the states.

Still amazed how much your Willing to go to war over a feature that's positively dangerous for you and yours. This is the new reality we live in I guess. Thoughts and reality out the window . Woohoo! Waves flag. Let's jump into that fire. 😉😄😄

No thanks for bringing that up. They didn't actually do supervised fsd. It's supervised fsd EU version. It's nothing like the one from the states or even th earlier supervised version fsd that the states has previously.

Why ?

It didn't pass the tests. It wasn't predictable or at least they couldnt provide the prediction methodology for many scenarios. So Tesla had to rewrite it to pass, this satisfying RDW spec requirements.

I've been fairly consistent that the hardware is not fit for purpose and the black box LLM in car decision making isn't good. Even had an argument with random poster a from Galway who was an 'AI expert' then legged it .

Suffice to say this is an entirely new version built to pass the RDW. And what they presented last year didn't get two thumbs up.

Id even be suspicious of a diesel gate style setup here frankly building specialist stuff just to green light a test. I don't trust the company at all. Theyre a business more interest in cost management than road or customer safety .

In laymans terms the hardware simple isn't there for this stuff its cheap and lazy .

Like I mean this is what you're dealing with. An account with half a million followers.

97306.jpg

And another thread under same account telling a guy who had consistent problems with his that his camera was simply dirty regularly and to keep them all more clean.

I don't want this attitude near the road with my family it's **** incredible stuff . No lidar no radar to fully understand a 360 sensor based view around the vehicles.

Their are enough wombats on the road in Ireland to test your man's theory out in full. And then claim they weren't driving either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 815 ✭✭✭This is it

Ya I did. Perhaps that was wrong. I thought I addressed that above ? 🤷‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 815 ✭✭✭This is it

Well it's posted above have a look yourself 🫡

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭JOL1

The requested approval has always been predicated on the driver remaining responsible and ready to intervene…there is no surprise here in what was approved or most likely requested. In the US market where the latest FSD has been more widely available …it is the same…driver remains responsible and ready to intervene. The chosen labelling FSD is perhaps not the best choice of wording but nobody, Tesla included, is under any illusion that what has been approved is supervised FSD and many who have used it love it and consider it a huge step forward and a step closer to fsd (unsupervised) but thats another matter altogether .