Fuel Protest (Read MOD NOTE on first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,312 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Basically they took on the taxpayer and took a hell of a beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Mobius2021

Well said, well said.

People forget how backward and dirt poor this country was. Several of my aunts and uncles had to emigrate. It's not perfect and can and should be better but it's not bad.

Hopefully everyone can work together and improve the country rather than butting heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

That is completely incorrect . A very small number of farmers avail of the RSS .
    Trying to say that farmers are in receipt of the same level of social support as the rest of society is simply BS
    Thousands of social and affordable houses have been built annually by Governments since the Housing Act 1966- how many are occupied by farmers ?
    Most farmers look after their own housing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Famous Seamus

I had to pass through Cork city centre at around lunch time today, saw very few tractors or trucks but plenty of engine revving and horn beeping from private cars, many of them waving tricolours, nothing more than boys racers trying to burn off their testosterone, bloody eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭pah

Why are fuel protests loaded with people waving Irish flags??? Paddys Day was last month lads

You need help

Can you ask someone for assistance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,236 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

They have farms in the country . I would hope they build houses to live in on that land . So that's a bit of a red herring talking about housing

There are many social assistance supports that farmers avail of . I only mentioned the main ones for lower income farmers .

I did not say every farmer ;)

What's wrong ? Do you object to being classed as similar to the general population ?

It's all our taxes paying for this .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

The thing is if the crazies take over they have to govern. You can’t just mouth off about someone having to do something, when you become the someone you need to do something.
    Populists are great at riling people up, but not so much on delivering. They just need to be constantly asked for specifics on what they will do and if they start waffling then point out they are just like regular politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭aero2k

I agree with the general sentiment of your post, but I suspect the authorities were waiting for public support to evaporate and also the early hours of Sunday was probably the best time for action on O'Connell St. in case things got rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,236 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Think you and he are not talking about the same "crazies " somehow 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Famous Seamus

In their minds they think they're being patriotic, probably couldn't sing one line of Amhrán na Bhfiann.

You need help

Can you ask someone for assistance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭mykrodot

Well it looks like the Government have caved, it seems they finally understood the sentiment out there.

1. 10c cut in diesel and petrol

2. reduced excise duty from last month to stay until end of July

3. carbon tax deferred to October from May

4. reduction of in green diesel of 2.4 cent

these measures are on top of the deal the farmers and hauliers are getting.

that's a win for the ordinary people. Well done to the protestors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭Glaceon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,449 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Farmers ain't poor. Ever seen what farmland goes for? There's money in farming. Here's twelve acres for €185,000,twelve acres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭rapul

This is Ireland , we're allowed have the Irish flag if we want , raising any other flag would be weird . One tends to raise a foreign flag when they are invading .

Japan is allowed to be for the Japanese

America is allowed be patriotic

Nothing is ever wrong with an Irish person waving an Irish flag . Yous are all allowing our identity to be taken away to easily .

Give it time and you'll all be kicking yourselves when we're being told about Sharia law or no more bacon adds or dogs allowed because of offending people , as is happening in Europe just mor here yet .

MOD NOTE: Threadbanned

Post edited by circadian on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

James Geoghegan back on the news....looks like he has at least sobered up before driving off home.…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭Notmything

Surely if price caps are the right response they'll be introduced in the North any day now....…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭joe40

I have nothing but respect for our flag but certain groups are trying to use it as a symbol of intimidation to immigrants.

A few of our so called patriot put up flags on poles where i drive everyday. The flags have been up for months and are now torn to tatters in the wind.

For all their guff about the flag they have actual zero respect for the flag or the way it should be used.

Don't be throwing around accusations when you have nothing worth actually saying, sound .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Ah no

"Then I fumbled through my closet for my clothes

And found my cleanest dirty shirt

And I shaved my face and combed my hair

And stumbled down the stairs to meet the day"

Apologies to Kris Kristofferson and Johnny Cash.

Simultaneously being aware of public order unit breaking up Whitegate blockade before going on the beer and complaining of being taken by surprise by gardai when he woke.

Is this tool helping Trump with Middle East strategy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭aero2k

The French are noted for their passionate protests, but they also had one noteworthy anti-protester. I don't condone the calls for extreme violence against our protesters, but maybe we could have done with this guy:

You get that in every country in every walk of life unfortunately. The more you's keep painting anyone who has a flag with being bad basically is just not doing any good . It's an easy wagon to jump onto .

I understand where you're coming from but I see no problem in being proud of our flag and that will never change .

Idiots are gonna be idiots with the flag no matter what all over the world , that's life .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,859 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭amacca

The majority of farmers can't afford to buy land....its gone beyond their reach

You are talking a small cohort of wealthy ones or ones with access to credit

You are also talking competition from wealthy business owners that see it as an asset and/or can use it to avoid inheritance tax for some kids while business relief takes care of the rest

A lot of it also has to do with the flood of relatively cheap money (thus devaluing and finally setting inflation going at a faster rate) looking for stable assets and diversification

Relative to what you could hope to earn from the acreage its price makes little sense.…...

Unless you are **** off wealthy in the first place and are motivated in other ways....thus its a small cohort of wealthy farmers and others driving the price up

The majority of farmers couldn't afford land at current rates and the banks would be reluctant to give them a loan......

Looks like you're the only person that doesn't understand the flag waving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Very few pro cyclists would survive throwing punches at ship yard workers striking.

They make them tough in Brittany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,911 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Interesting story.

I was having some dinner in the Mespil hotel last night after the rugby with three friends.

Around 10pm a man walked into the dining area with his three sons. He was about 45, the boys roughly 13, 9 and 6 or 7.

All were dressed the same, pale checked shirts, Barbour coats or body warmers, Levis skinny jeans and expensive looking chelsea style work boots. The youngest kid had a nylon tricolour around his neck.

The father had the vibe of ar5ehole off him from the off. His first words to the waiter who brought menus and asked for drink orders was "warm up the Pizza oven, boy"

So it was large pizzas, pints of Moretti and cokes all round for the next hour or more. The tricolour was used as a table cloth. The kids messed and made plenty of noise, the Dad was on his phone throughout, loudly, discussing the goings on at the O'Connell Street protest with others, and clearly they had been there.

He had two rooms booked at a cost of €550 and his dinner bill was €160.

My group and his ended up getting to leave at the same time, when I couldn't resist having a go at him for letting the lads dine on the tricolour and leave it crumpled up under the table, which it was by then. I asked him had he any true idea of what he was there to do today, beyond being on a day out and a jolly for the kids.

It seemed to me his greatest anger was embarrassment manifested at being called out for being a LARPer and a two faced moron.

Nothing escalated and we left the hotel.

But if that lad was typical of who was on O'Connell Street, they should all be mortified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭cheezums

might be some copycat protests now in France and UK. Will be interesting to see how those authorities will deal with it versus our soft approach.