Fuel Protest (Read MOD NOTE on first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,720 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Anyone posting in this thread is a regular poster....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,510 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Note that you don't name any of those "moderate voices" that you claim the Government should have been listening to.

And we know why. Because when you name any of the leaders of that "protest" it is a list of known scumbags.

Go on, name the person, the representative that was supposed to be the moderate voice?

Duffy, Geoghagen, Dallon, thats the scum that you all rowed in behind. Says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Mobius2021

In my opinion I think the chances of a global recession in the next 12 months or so has increased.

If people are this angry now, what's going to happen if a recession occurs? It's going to be fairly shaky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

You misunderstand .
    I make the point that those looking for assistance in the form of reduced tax take on Agri diesel are one of the few cohorts that don’t have the perpetual hand out to Government for housing provision, jobs etc

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,736 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Sample size is fine, though it was a text-based poll which itself comes down to a matter of the methodology used. One also must wonder if the question was taken in isolation. If the full details are available, it appears to be behind a paywall.

After all…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭aero2k

If it's a truly random sample, a sample of 1,000 is a good representation regardless of population size, at least in theory. Difficult to achieve in practice as Manic says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,181 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Sample size of the poll was fine, timing and vagueness of the questions changing anything.

The question is how many agreed specifically with blocking of eg ports and refinery?
    How many approved of the Garda action to remove those blockades?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,759 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

The Journal have a "how do you feel after the fact?" poll live now, which is showing a pretty straight-down-the-middle split in support. But of course that one's been sabotaged by far left groups mobilising on WhatsApp. Apparently.

Screenshot_20260412_163915_TheJournalie.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Neither Duffy nor Geoghegan should have been let within a roar of an ass of a microphone .
    Nothing wrong with Dalon.
    Someone like you wouldn’t have accepted the Virgin Mary so there isn’t any point in pursuing this .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,236 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Fintan is correct .

Looking at farmers alone,there are as the same social welfare and " gov. handouts " as you put it ,being paid to them as other members of society .

Farm Assist and RSS Rural Support Scheme to mention two.

Also farmers can claim disability payments and still work part time if able / allowed

No judgement here, if they need it they need it, but it's not true to say that these protestors do not avail of social welfare or government payments like the rest of society in Ireland .

Post edited by Goldengirl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,202 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

I see the likes of Dallon etc are happy for Sinne na Daoine to release statements on their behalf. Sums them up entirely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,510 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

John Dallon has multiple convictions for drink driving. What a fine upstanding citizen.

You don't pursue it because there isn't a name you can put forward.

The scum weren't "let" do anything, they were the leaders and you were the lads who joined them. Where are the reasonable men who told them to step aside and offered that moderate voice you were talking about? Nowhere, because the reasonable men stayed well the **** away from the moronic protests. The ones left were the ones ok with the scumbags speaking on their behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭goldsparkle

Saw a tiktok live about an hour or two ago from O Connel Street and it was just the usual right wing ranters and gatherers. It has f*CK to do with fuel costs now and it's just hate against the government. I am not a givenrment fan by any means but we going into a time where we need stability from the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

MOD NOTE: Calls for violence will not be tolerated.

Post edited by circadian on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭goldsparkle

What happened from these protests were despicable. Blocking oil depots and blocking oil going in and out from depots was unreal and the who entire after effects of that. Petrol stations running dry, the population doing a run on fuel, even shops have become bare. It's unreal. We were also in such a delicate situation in that there was an input of pip trying to get through but couldn't and Ireland was so close to turning oil away. It was so bad.

They had no right to do any of that. Then to have some protesters claim that they were doing it for the people. Who gave them that mandate to speak for me? I didn't. I didn't agree with what they were doing. I am sure it would cost a lot to fill up and drive big vehicles and it didn't make since to protest the cost of fuel and drive their massive vehicles up and down motorways and in and out from cities to make a point and a protest about it. I actually saw that as a waste. Surely they could have found a different way to protest. Causing havoc up and down the country and instilling fear in the population with shortages - that wasn't it. It was wrong.

I was genuinely petrified on Thursday when petrol stations were dry. I don't drive but still the knock on effects everywhere. At first I thought was it Iran related but then all is this was localised by protesters.

I wish the government could bring in something new and if protesters ever behave like that again and if people are receiving public money either through social welfare or grants - I really think if people are behaving in such a way - money should be stopped. Maybe give a timeline or whatever. Just as deterrent more than anything else.

The protesters were saying they were peaceful and to some degree they were in that there was no violence but they wrecked havoc up and down the country.

I think if people are found to be protesting in such a vile way, public money should be stopped to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭babyducklings1

We definitely need stability. Think the last week has shown how fragile our country is. I was away but couldn’t believe it was going on for days. But yes think its more than just about diesel, I've heard usc mentioned amongst other things. But we need calm heads and good leadership. Hoping that they offer a fair package tonight and that it all gets resolved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,647 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

What's the lesson here, come to Dublin set up camp and get a reward while sick disabled elderly and vulnerable people suffer.

Irish Government great bunch of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,958 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I wonder how many of the people both engaged in and supporting the protesters blocking motorways and access to other critical infrastructure condemned climate change activists who also blocked motorways in the UK (and went to jail for doing so).

Either you think blocking critical infrastructure is a legitimate protest tactic or you don't. It shouldn't depend on whether you agree with the protesters or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,777 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Wrong country if you want people getting capped, body bags etc. You should get yourself to a GP or Pharmacist and get support for your anger issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭doc22

Ah the farmers on 200k tractors aren't on farm assist or RSS, From 2032 there'll be limited farm payments to pensioners (like france) or those who have substantial off farm income. Farm payments will be be like a social welfare support to keep full time farms not handy money for jam…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

MOD NOTE: Calls for violence will not be tolerated.

Post edited by circadian on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,911 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

"the people".

The people of Ireland are not a homogeneous group. They are divisible across many criteria, one being the hardworking taxpayers with the smarts and experience to know that protecting the economy and the exchequer in the face of global economic and geopolitical hurricanes is the only game in town, versus unstable, gullible, easily led rabble rousers and wildcats of the sort we saw over the past few days.

People have every right to be angry, but also the responsibility to be adults and to keep calm and carry on.

The current government was elected democratically 17 months ago. It has a mandate until 2030. And at the core of its mandate is to protect the nation in all respects, most of all economically, from which everything else flows.....free GP care for kids, ECCE, subsidised 3rd Level, the medical card, home retrofit grants, cheap public transport, jobseekers starting at €450, hot school meals, etc, etc....

If some of those measures displease some people, then I suggest when the time comes, they pick up a nomination paper and have a go at seeking support for an alternative.

Anger is not a f**king policy. And certainly not when its public face is the sort of drunken donkeys we saw speaking to media "on behalf" of the assembled blockades in recent days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭lmao10

I wonder how many of them avail of communist style handouts like the dole and their social housing which we all pay for. It's a shame that they ruined it for the actual fuel protestors who are not far right scum and who were looking for communist style government help and probably would have got it with the right approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Agreed.

Things are usually fine until things get tough and when the tide goes out the creepy crawlys start taking over.

Im convinced there’s gonna be a savage crash and if unemployment ramps up and austerity returns , the crazies will absolutely take over. I don’t know why some people think Ireland is exempt from a Brexit kind of self destruction action. There’s been plenty of warnings already that far right is just waiting to pounce.

I’m gonna predict some financial disaster happens to Ireland in next few years , far right sh/8theads take advantage of the dysfunctional way our traditional parties keep f**king wasting our success (akin to FAI in 90s). Financial crashes often happen after energy shocks , history doesn’t always repeat itself but it has a habit of rhythming.

Most moderates will make the mistake by abstaining from voting for mainstream parties (cause they don’t deserve it) and the crazies will get in and destroy absolutely everything. The fragility of our economy is ridiculous, we are successful from being a globally flexible , rational (we are boring and predictable) welcoming economy that benefits from being part of the eu and working with our eu partners.

The protest was a sign of all the disillusioned people (some just w@nkers, but many genuine workers struggling) and if you consider our economy is apparently thriving , the question is will be asked “what have we benefited from it?”. It’s funny how even in thriving economies, many people don’t feel the benefit but politicians try to make explain to us that our feelings aren’t real and we should just take it that things are grand. It’s the reason why Brexit , Trump and all the other cumbucket crazies have easily gotten into power on a platform of dogsh.8t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,236 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Not at all worried about them

..they will be getting a tailored package now for their needs .😐

Sends out the message to everybody else in Ireland, this is how you get what you want , by fvvking over everyone else and bullyboy tactics .

Much as I think that the government should have sorted this whole situation earlier and told AGS to remove the blockades on Wednesday ,I do think the protestors did have a point about being ignored and the escalation of fuel prices not bring addressed or enough supports being given to citizens .

I could not believe Harris or Martins inability to understand that these fuel.and oil prices on top of the ever rising cost of living was putting so many families and businesses under pressure . They brought in a minute deal for hauliers but ignored everyone else

They went away off for Easter holidays with simmering resentment bubbling away ( MlMartins daughter getting married was unfortunate timing but the rest of the government should have stepped up or been delegated to while he was otherwise occupied ).

People everywhere are suffering and saying "we will keep it under review " endlessly was just not cutting it.

Then with Easter and school holidays and people having time to think about how little they get for their money , it was a recipe for disaster .

Not that blocking roads, stopping people going to work and to hospital appointments , or blockading essential structure like refineries and ports is acceptable protest , but you can see how it came about .

Surely there are paid political advisors or people in government who can see these escalating events and advise ministers and the Taoiseach to put plans in place to prevent or nip any extreme protest actions in the bud ?

But no ...we saw nothing except words being bandied about Trump like and almost complete inaction by AGS until Saturday ! Disappearing acts by our government ministers at a time of crisis allows nefarious actors to fill the void .

I would not support SF actions or words in this either but can see where they have a point about the government abdicating responsibility and leaving the country in a mess for days longer than was necessary .

They have to be held to account .

It won't make a difference because their numbers will ensure the motion is defeated but they have to take some responsibility for the last week's fiasco and ensure it doesn't happen again.

They are answerable to the people and those elected in the Dáil are out representatives and should get an opportunity to make our voices heard . That's democracy and that is why this motion of no confidence will need to be debated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,777 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

There were three questions:

Do you support the fuel protesters 56% agreed.

What is to blame-46 % blamed the government with mid 20s both blaming either Trump or our protestors.

What should the government response be:

With 46% saying a cap.

Mid 20% stating abolish the carbon tax

And 16% stating fuel rebates while a further 16% stating that the Government should not give anything.

There was a +-3% margin of error.

The actual paper has the full results and all the analysis.

Overall however the poll results do appear to favour the protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,796 ✭✭✭almostover

Won't happen, another political stunt by SF that will be comfortably defeated. They tried the same manoeuvre after the Dublin riots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,376 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,796 ✭✭✭almostover

I was critical that the government didn't act sooner but in hindsight I think they got it mostly right. They had to allow the 'protestors' to incriminate themselves before sending in the public order unit. That ensured public support. Once the blockade refused to move from Whitegate, Galway and Foynes the requisite threshold had been reached to break it up.

Doesn't change my point doc. That's not now .

And ..

Obv not wealthy farmers getting social assistance payments ...but still similar numbers of farmworkers and small farmers getting help in that community as any other in Ireland .