Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,685 ✭✭✭✭looksee

It was bin day yesterday here, so when it was discovered the bins were half way up the garden it was great that they were empty! A wooden bench and a metal chair meanwhile had blown over into the bog garden. My homemade (about 3 years ago) bench that weighs a tonne - its made of 7x2s, one of those with the x shape legs, stands solid through everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The complete lack of communication and accountability in work lately (the former being particularly ironic for a 'communications company').

So there I was this morning, arrived a bit earlier than normal to load a cage of parcels into the van as I would hit them along the route. Only to be told AFTER the fact that I was actually moved onto a different route yesterday evening, a route that had THREE days worth of letters sitting there undelivered. And had to help another fella on another one too as well. Thanks for the communication lads.

Anyway I subsequently move to the new van and as I prepare to start loading it, I was astonished (along with colleagues in the vicinity) that someone claimed to have delivered parcels in it yesterday but instead left them sitting in the van overnight, creating a backlog for me on an already busier than usual post. A huge no-no, and a dick move, and how they thought they'd get away with it, I don't know.

But judging by my supervisor's rather coy reaction to it (letting on he didn't know who was responsible), I'm fairly certain there'll be no accountability. Let's just say he is partial to nepotism, but addressing the problem by giving me over-time to deal with someone else's incompentency/laziness doesn't really soothe the annoyance.

And that's not to mention too getting it in the neck from some customers for the aforementioned letters not being delivered for three days.

Oh lord, its like listening to my daughter giving out - not the postal service but the general running of the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,179 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

people who just don’t listen, then get all agitated and defensive when I just stop engaging with them…

weather for tonight was as per reading the forecast last night, supposed to get better about 8pm….. 9.25pm now and it’s blowing an absolute fûcking gale and raining…. which basically has my evening stroll to the far shops getting canned ……shop open till 10pm but still fûck it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I left the milk out , no coffee in the morning 🤬

Its perishing cold out this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭The Continental Op

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Day 4 of being stuck in the Outlook sign in loop, codes dont go to the rescue email, older computer tells me to go to different devise and each of those tell me to the same, bc of my memory issues each devise is set up to remember its password, so I dont have a legible copy of these and on and on and on.

Just one single email that its vital to see and for obvious reasons I cant get to colleagues and cant think of where I can just rent computer time anymore, AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Driving onto a forecourt yes afternoon, was told that the petrol limit there was 30€ guy ahead of us in his expensive jacket and mid range car fills up to almost 60€ not a peep out of his body language that he knows he's talking fuel from others and nothing said at the till. This has so many ta's I cant articulate them.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

With the wind my doors are banging but all my windows are shut , so how is it getting in ?,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,635 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I can't see any though that has to be it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭Poochie05

The bulb in my security light is gone but I can’t open the casing to see what bulb I need to replace it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I've heard a few people say that. I would have thought the staff inside could put some lock on where by the pumps automically shut off when it it's a certain amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,722 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Could you look up the specs online?

That said I bulb is feck all use if you can't open the casing to access the dead bulb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

The amount of bars and restaurants whose playlists consist solely of "jazz" covers of absolutely shíte pop songs. Just stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Try having to listen to it for up to 40 hours a week.

It’s hard to find the exact one as there are different wattages and because halogen are being phased out it’s not in woodies anymore, so I’d rather know the exact bulb and buy a supply of them online rather than have to play roulette selecting the LED equivalent 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,604 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Throw up a picture. Somebody might have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

When Instagram makes a place look amazing, cool and cosy but in reality you queue ten minutes just to get a table, wait another thirty minutes for your food to arrive and then pay €18.50 for a sandwich with no chips, crisps or any accoutrements whatsoever on the side.

But at least it was in a yurt!

Good idea thanks! I found a few that look like it online but they are 150w whereas the back of the casing on mine says Max 400w. I don’t want to burn the eyeballs off the resident hedgehogs so prefer to keep the same colour temperature and brightness if possible.

IMG_8585.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,331 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Thought I was watching an interesting video about the return of the artemis mission, and several minutes in it became obvious that it was a conspiracy theory video. Evidence the whole mission was made up? It was launched on April Fools day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Was having a bit of a nostalgia trip listening to Bon Jovi’s early stuff, when my son showed me a video of what he sounds like now… one of the comments underneath -

“Like a donkey giving birth to a porcupine”

Can’t get settled back to listening to their old stuff now, totally ruined it 😖

I was going to post on the Woke thread only to see its been shut .?

Anyway what annoys me and is some animal woke sh1t is b&q not selling normal mouse / rat traps that kill them .

Scrap that TA . Their Web site shows them in stock .

Post edited by cj maxx on

Order I made on Amazon is coming from a 3rd party seller… they are shipping it standard Royal Mail without the ability to track it. Which is odd as it’s a box about 14x8x6 inches and weighing 2 kilograms.

I think they are being a bit cute as shipping is listed as free but obviously just tacked onto the total cost. I looked up the business which provides the address of a rather rundown and uncared for residential property near Heathrow airport. Be relieved if this purchase goes off without a hitch quite frankly…lots of red flags…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭The Continental Op

Lidl cheap beans (Simply Baked Beans). The feckers have only gone and changed them. Used to be in a tin with blue writing on a white label. Now the tin has orange writing and the % of salt, fat etc have changed, the sauce is thinner, the beans are mushier and of course the taste is different.

I don't mind paying more than 29 cents for a tin and would get Heinz Baked Beans if I liked them but I don't. So now I'll have to go through another period of Baked Beans testing. Maybe Aldi Baked Beans have got better?

Post edited by The Continental Op on

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I got one of their tins yesterday (blue with whitish label, I think, they're still in the bag). They seem to have fewer fake ingredients than the chesper white and orange tin. I did check the ingredients. I'll report on the taste once I've tried them. And I'll post the picture of the label later, if I remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,914 ✭✭✭blackbox

You can get LED replacements for those. Several years ago I replaced a blown 250W halogen with an LED bulb that only uses 18W(still working). Try Amazon.