Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v10] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭mengele

Wasn't that barrister going out with Anto for a while when he separated from Sharon. We're they both recovered addicts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Famous Seamus

She was, would that would be a conflict of interests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Court room looks decent enough actually. I take it all back 😳

They went mad on the non speaking extras too.

Incidentally why is Victor giving evidence via video link? Is he in fear of Hayley and the Collins'?

Post edited by littlevillage on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭tradfan1

Trailer for the next episode shows Hayley being questioned by the barrister and Hayley calling her a drunken slut - or words to that effect! She really has no redeeming features.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,119 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

His mother had a massive heart attack! Take it he's in London!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Agreed, thought the court rooms scenes were well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

she looks like only the heat of her shite is keeping her vertical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

….

Post edited by mrslancaster on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Sparko

Speaking of conflicts of interest, not only is the barrister Anto's ex, two of the jurors also have links to Carrigstown. The two speaking jurors, I'm sure the woman is Paul's accountant and the man was involved in a storyline with Jackie years ago. I only vaguely remember it, he's a trans man and Jackie knew him from before he transitioned or something along those lines.

Small world in that juror pool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Otis Hill

On the one hand I'm (mildly) impressed with the production values FC have put into the trial and the show in general has had a filming look to the last few episodes.

On the other hand, I'm disappointed (but not surprised) in the lack of realism in the other aspects of the trial. As you mentioned, the two speaking jurors have previous links to Carrigstown and I'm pretty sure yer wan has had accounting meetings with Paul at the Station which is the scene of the crime. But I suppose if they live locally its not beyond the realms of possibility that they’d get summoned for jury duty.

What's really ridiculous though is the amount of shared sexual partners involved in this trial and I can't believe the prosecution hasn't brought it up in court to discredit Mondo's case. Its common knowledge he was riding Anto's daughter (Hayley) back in the day and common knowledge that he was riding one of his legal team (Melanie) up until a couple of years ago and she continued to live with him and his current fiancé up until recently and said current fiancé (Kira) was actually riding one of the key witnesses (Victor) up until around the time Anto started the fire. And top it off Mondo's barrister was riding Anto while both were recovering addicts. Mondo's daughter (Juliet) was formerly a sugar baby for Anto's current son in law (James). There’s so much sordid backstory that's actually relevant to case in present day and also to the background of the circumstances that led to bad blood between the Collins and O'connor families.

Not to mention all the shenanigans going on between both families in the in the aftermath of Anto's death.

The judge himself also has a conflict of interest because Joan's firm is representing Mondo and that same firm (or at least just Joan herself) was hired by the judge to represent his son with his legal trouble in Canada where she's still working to this day.

I presume Nicola and Paul will be getting it on again sometime soon. Hopefully it'll lead to a return from Oisín. I actually liked Nicola's understated return and she gives Paul's character a bit of a new lease on life away from pizza wars and knock off booze.

I'm going to guess Melanie will be pregnant following her one night stand with Mondo.

I actually really like Nikki as a character of late. She actually seems a better fit than Sash behind the bar in terms of interacting with characters.

I can't see where this Ben storyline is going but I doubt its incest as Ellie knew who he was right away. That scene in Lidl was weird, where she basically said OMG you're my brother how random. I didn't know they knew each other let alone that they would recognise each other. If they hadn't recognised each other then an incest plot would probably have been the route it would go. I can't see the point of Ben unless he's just a Lorcan type replacement. As usual Zoe is a right misery guts towards anyone who crosses the threshold of that house. In the eyes of the law Ben is Dermot's son and probably the heir to his assets including the house if anything were to happen to Dermot. So if anything she should be trying to keep on his good side. She's been living rent free in a 4/5 bed house in Dublin for the last 4 years and a massive chunk of that time was spent there on her own. Does she realise how much money Dermot is losing on rent at her expense. Easily €3,000 per month if not more. Its bonkers that nobody moved in after Dearbhla. So Ben should be more than entitled to a room there. Pity they couldnt have had Dermot and Jo actually appear for a cameo on that Zoom call with Zoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,274 ✭✭✭Deeec

I think Ben is looking to claim the house. Zoe and will find herself evicted. We know Ben likes money and straight away he got himself keys cut. He's out for himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

well… when you put it like that😛….its a **** show and so many conflicts of interest it beggars belief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Photobox

Fair play for remembering. Recognised both but couldn't remember who they were. Now I know 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

poster above mentions Melanie becoming pregnant- what age is she supposed to be? Am assuming Alex is 22/23.
    for so many characters we are never given a clue what age they are supposed to be 🤷

Mondo and Kira are both 38(ish). Kira was only 15 or 16 when she gave birth to Juliet around 2003/2004 i think so she'll be either 38 or 39 at some point this year. I would imagine Melanie is a similar age to both Mondo and Kira. Alex is still in college so can't be more than 22 (but is probably younger if he's not finished his degree yet) so even if Melanie had him at 18 she'd only just be pushing 40 at most so definitely not beyond the realms of possibility to fall pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭apache

Couldn't get over how bad Nicola looked.

Post edited by Archduke Franz Ferdinand on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭tradfan1

Orla is really only in it to roll her eyes and interfere - surprised people don't tell her to mind her own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Looking forward to Mondo getting off and wiping that smug look of Hayleys face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭threetrees

I always said that Claudia Carroll (Nicola) needs volume or body in her hair. It's so limp and nothing. Nice to see her back as Nicola though, she was always a bit sneaky so let's see what's in store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭John arse

She was great when she was younger in Lord of the rings.

Screenshot_2026-04-02-23-03-18-13.jpg

I think she looks well enough considering she must be coming up to 60 🤷‍♂️. Paul must be near that too. He's been in the show since day 1 and Nicola first arrived circa 1993 or 1994 i think so both have been knocking around 30+ years and they weren't teenagers back then either so definitely close to 60 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

No Way a judge would have let Ger answer the Way she did, and no objection from the opposing barrister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,274 ✭✭✭Deeec

Im glad to see her back. She is a good actress. She was great last night at Deans food truck

As regards her apearaance she is far too thin and that is aging her. As we age our skin needs to be a little bit plumper.

When she was walking with Paul last night her legs were like twigs. She was always thin, but she is now unhealthally thin.

Wikipedia says 57, honestly ld have said late 60’s

Post edited by Archduke Franz Ferdinand on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Curlysue76

I think it’s time to stop commenting on a woman’s looks. She is just doing a job, let’s not lower ourselves with such immature behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Then they can all retire back to the Station (where else???) for post court pints..... Mondo and Hayley can glower at each other accross an empty bar.... while standing literally a few feet apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Photobox

Hayley and Holly having a conversation about the blackmail and lying under oath the minute Holly stepped down the witness box was laughable. As if you would have such a conversation there in case you were overheard 😄 delighted to see Nicola back, one of the more enjoyable characters for me. Way more entertaining than boring Emma (when comparing 'posh' characters)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,621 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I reckon Mondo gets off. Although he was angry and had a grudge against Anto, there's not much evidence he was planning to do serious injury to or even to kill Anto on the night in question. They got into a brawl in the pub (both squaring up to each other) but it would be hard to prove that Mondo threw a punch with the intention of killing him or even that it was a grossly dangerous or reckless act.