Donegal GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭mjp

Good win for 20s tonight against Monaghan. Mac giolla bhride withdrawn before throw in which to me looks like he could be starting league final after mulreany went off with an injury in last minute against Monaghan the last day. Mark anthony mc ginley the only other keeper in squad which leaves mc Guinness with limited options which isn't ideal. Interestingly Mc Cole went off with a knock aswell and would be a huge loss if he's not there in full back line to tag Clifford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 FreeChocco

What's the latest on Thompson, O Baoill, Moore and Gallen? Would be a serious boost having them back in the squad, especially Thompson and O Baoill who are our main 2 point threats outside of Langan imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,609 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Based on the updates, I'd say all will be available for the Down match. Might be too soon for Thompson to start.

image.png

Strong team, light bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭harpsman

Light bench alright. I’d say for the 14 outfield positions we have 17 players who could start on any given day. 13 of them starting according to this. Malone would be the one non first choice. So no Moore Thompson O Baoill or Gallen in the squad. Or McCahill. Will be tough against an in form Kerry who are, at their best, well ahead of the rest. Mightn’t see it today but I hope we have some plan for kick outs both outs and opposition. I’d say we’re coming off second best in those and with the importance of primary possession niw it’s costing us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭poppers

MM lucky to get away with a yellow there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 371 ✭✭sugarman20

Fair play to ye! Serious level of fitness.

SUBSCRIBE HERE TO KEEP BOARDS ONLINE

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭poppers

Neil McGee must be the only man from Gaoth Dobhair that cant speak irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭overshoot

At Half time wasnt sure the lead was enough... 10mins later, didnt know what was happening, 20 up at one stage. The dominance on kickouts first half was a welcome sight

Great to add the league title. Murphy has every medal now, very short list of donegal players with that. Id say it will all be forgotten by the next training session. A few players still to to come back in (same for Kerry of course) when the u20s finish up hopefully it eases the depth problems a little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭The Subliminal Verses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,609 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Up Donegal

Not a bad day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,598 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Thanks for the congrats. Much appreciated 😅🤣😂

Not bad at all.

Some game by young Campbell, especially on the job he was asked to do at short notice. Fair play to Glenties, They just seem to keep churning these young talents out.

Campbell has looked the part at underage and in last year’s county championship. It was great to see him step up today. There is serious young talent in the county. Sean Martin is another who looks the part and then you have the Carrs, Muldoon and McCahill as well. Donnacha Boyle from Cloughaneely is another who might make the step up and there are a couple of young lads coming through in Termon too

What was really pleasing today was the cohort of lads in their mid to late twenties offering the leadership that they did. The lads that came through Declan’s minor teams are now key players for us.

Take the blinkers off lad, not the first time he's done it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 200 ✭✭topdecko

Kerry looked off today. Wonder if any team has ever scored 3 goals in 3 mins against them before . M Murphy lucky he is MM otherwise he would have walked for that punch. great result. now the real competition begins.

I'm sure you were complaining as loudly when McHugh and Thompson were done in the final last year.

Don't remember either of them getting a closed fist to the jaw

Do you remember the two of them having to leave the pitch injured or does your memory only work in one direction?

What has Thompson blowing his cruciate and Mc Hugh getting injured shouldering Gavin Whyte have to do with Murphy punching the kerry lad in the jaw today? And can you explain to me how

"they were done in the final" ?

Some serious talent coming through and what has impressed me so much about them is how they have seamlessly fitted in.

Whatever they are feeding them in Glenties we should be feeding the same to every player in the county when you see two youngsters playing on the largest GAA stages as nerveless as if they were kicking a ball around their gardens with a few friends.

During the week I wondered to myself - I didn`t mention it to anyone other than the wife because I knew I would be laughed out of it after his sending off - if Jim was considering putting McMenamin on Clifford.

I have this thing about Clifford since we drew with them in Croke Park in 2019 in the group stages, that lovely footballer that he is, getting a bit roughed up by his marker puts his game off. McMenamin did it that day and he only scored a point. And that from a free as far as I remember ? Mc Colgan did much the same to him today.

It`ll be interesting seeing how his markers during the rest of the year go about attempting to handle him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Well done to donegal . Serious performance yesterday. But that's a red card all day long as other donegal posters have alluded to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭LilNiall

Donegal fan here and no dispute it shoulda been a red card. I was in lower Cusack and a Donegal lad behind me even said Murphy is getting the line.

On the replay-closed fist, contact with the head, swinging arm I just cant understand how an offical from 1 metre away failed to see it.

I noticed also the officials were off the pitch before the presentation and Shane O Donnell thanking them. I think they knew they hadnt a great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Fantastic performance yesterday, really laid down a marker for the summer. On the Murphy incident, it was a red all day long, absolutely no dispute or doubt about it but for whatever reason the ref chose yellow. I think we would have bet them with 14, such was the difference in the teams yesterday. Kerry were as bad as I have seen in a long time but nobody thinks that will be relevant come the summer. Also on the suggestion that Clifford doesn't like the close attention, I've see enough evidence in the past that he can respond well to this type of approach not to fall into the trap of thinking this always works.

Main thing is, it's a title which we very much welcome, plus it is a nice yardstick to set for ourselves and it also shows that Jim took a lot of learnings from the AI defeat. It doesn't mean a huge amount for the summer but when you're in the bracket of AI contenders, every little advantage counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,012 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Agree with all this, I think it was important for ye that all ghosts from the All-Ireland final are now completely banished. The AI was a rough day for Donegal, the commentary was harsh on both players and management.

The two major talking points from the AI were Kerry winning the midfield battle, giving themselves a good platform for their lethal attack and the passive zonal defence that allowed Kerry pick them off at will.

Donegals changed midfield won that battle handsomely yesterday (when the match was a contest) and the defence that now tackles aggressively outside the arc worked well yesterday and throughout the league.

Donegal can now approach the championship with a lot of confidence that they have a game plan and system that can win the AI. Its a set back for Kerry, but not a disaster, they have plenty of time to set things right and it is probably a useful early warning that this championship is going to be a bit of a different beast to last years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 sullyown617

McMenamin on Clifford would be a disaster.

Clifford did him for the goal and Geaney did him do the very first point when McMenamin came on.

He very well might have been.

I was just wondering during the week if Jim might have considered him for the job based on how well he did on Clifford in Croke Park in 2019. A game that was way more competitive than yesterday turned out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭dog_pig

Whyte's shoulder impacted McHugh's head and neck so framing it as McHugh injuring himself is a funny one.