Women's rights under attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

In the 80s and part of the 90s, marital rape was still legal and divorce and homosexuality illegal.

You're deriding countries that still allow that abhorrent treatment of women and the LGBTQ people, while simultaneously revering a time in Ireland where all of that was accepted. Come on now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 714 ✭✭✭waterfaerie

I've stayed quiet on this so far because I don't really enjoy heated discussions, although I have been reading all of it. I can see valid points on both "sides", not that there should be sides.

If everyone really listens to what each other is saying instead of being defensive, I think there is a lot of common ground there. A lot of what people are arguing about is just language and technicalities. If you look at the fundamentals, everyone here just wants everyone to be allowed to be who they are and to be safe and happy. Empathy and listening openly would go a long way.

If we could start with the common ground and then co-create a society where everyone has the autonomy to be who they are and everyone has their rights and needs met, or at the very least listened to without being shouted down, it would be a huge step forward.

I know the perception is that trans people are the minority and need to be protected, which I believe is true, but it's quite apparent that the main "side" being shouted down here and in the wider world is the women who are making very strong valid points that are in no way hateful or against trans people in general and then being accused of being bigots and in some cases, even having their own human rights violated.

It is actually possible to simulatneously have respect and compassion for trans people, to accept them and allow them their right to live their own lives as they see fit, and to also be able to state that the true fact that trans women are not the same as biological women and that there are certain circumstances where it's important to separate the sexes by biological sex and not gender identity. I think it's horrific that in most situations it's not even safe for women to voice that and that's absolutely the biggest problem with the trans issue. We all need to be able to be safely heard.

It's very unusual for me to find myself disagreeing with some opinions labelled as being the "left" (I hate the whole left right terminology!) because I would have always considered myself to be extremely progressive and very much the opposite of what anyone would call the "right". I oppose all things that remove individual people's autonomy. I am autistic and part of the LGBTQ+ community. I have trans friends and have met other trans people. I strongly believe they have every right to live their lives in whatever way they like and to be treated as the gender they present themselves as to the world in the vast majority of situations. I have enormous compassion from them, as I do for all people and all living things. (After all, my spiritual belief is that we are all part of the one living thing which is nature / mother Earth.)

The reality is that the situation is complex and that biological women have rights too - rights that have taken centuries to acquire and are still not fully realised. As many have rightly pointed out, there are indeed much bigger threats to women's rights and safety in the world. I do think there is a divide and conquer situation at play and the fact is that women's rights are under attack from many different directions. But just because one threat is bigger, doesn't mean the smaller threats don't matter. And just because they appear small or don't affect that many Irish women, doesn't mean they don't matter. One doesn't negate the other and when threats are coming from all directions it's even more important to be aware of them, including how they are making people divide. Again, if we truly hear each other we can choose to not let it divide us.

To clarify, I don't think in any way that trans women are a threat to women. I happily accept them as they are. I believe they should be immensely proud of who they are - trans women. I just wish that instead of undermining the experience of biological women by saying they are exactly the same as us, they could acknowledge that that is simply not true.

Instead of the term "women" being applied to everyone who identifies as female and forcing biological women to use terms like "cis" women, or worse, "people who menstruate" or "people with uteruses", why can't biological women just be women and trans women be trans women (when the distinction needs to be made, which it doesn't need to in most cases)? After all, there is nothing wrong with being a trans woman and, as I mentioned, if that's what someone is they should be proud of that identity. Considering the enormous rage that is displayed when trans people are "misgendered" and how much they have fought for their rights to decide the language that's used for them (which I don't disagree with - that is their right), I find it hugely offensive to be told I have to describe myself differently. I am a woman and I shouldn't have to add "cis" to that or anything else - that is my right.

As someone who believes strongly in nature, I don't believe humans can control it as much as they think and my feeling on this applies to all other areas as well. Humans can do amazing things but we can't control nature. We overmedicalise and try to control far too much in life. It's amazing that trans people have access to medical facilities that can make them physically look like how they feel inside so that they can live their lives following their gender identity. I accept trans women as women socially and treat them as they wish to be treated as females, but to say that they are actually women just is not correct and actually undermines what it is to be a biological woman. I think these definitions need to be clarified because this is an example of where people can get caught up arguing about the fine points of language and terminology and therefore not manage to find common ground. If we can all be women and be treated like women in the vast majority of cases, and in the minority of situations when the distinction actually needs to be made, if women can be women and trans women can be trans women, I don't think that should be offensive to anyone.

As to the situations where I think sex does matter more than gender identity, I believe it is limited to a small number of situations but in these small number of situations it really does matter. In my opinion, that would be situations where women are confined, such as prison, situations where vulnerable women need services such as rape crisis centres or women's shelters and possibly some other specific situations where women must comply to things beyond their control, such as workplace changing facilties. And of course in the case of rape crisis centres, women's shelters and changing rooms, there should be facilities available to trans women as well.

I'm not talking about public toilets and the like because when we choose to use public spaces we share them with other members of the public and there is always going to be a risk with that, even if tiny. Apart from being impractical, forcing trans people to use public spaces like toilets that are opposite to their gender identity is unfair to them and I don't think it's necessary. Personally, I have no problem sharing a public toilet with trans women but I can see how someone who is a rape victim might and I would absolutely empathise with that. However, using a public toilet is a choice and not enforced, which is why I think it's very different to the prison situation, for example. It also doesn't leave any space for gender fluid or non binary people. Where are they supposed to go and who is to check? Really we need to all live and let live and stop pushing for even more bureaucracy and invasion of privacy in people's lives.

I also believe that even in the situations I've listed, there's no threat to women from genuine trans women but there is a very real threat from men pretending to be trans women. As ridiculous as it would be to police public spaces like toilets, it would be simple, fair to everyone and basic common sense to actually check someone's biological sex when it comes to the limited situations I've mentioned above. And in many of those, exceptions could be made when the trans woman has actually undergone surgery. But there is no way in the world anyone who has a penis should be allowed in women's prisons or working in female only rape crisis centres, for example. And for people who point that out to be called bigots is quite disturbing to me.

Another area where sex matters is services and groups for people seeking sexual or romantic partners. If someone wants to only date biological women, that should be their right. If someone is happy to date either, that's their choice and there's no reason both types of groups can't exist for both cases. I mean, there are dating groups for people with other specific things in common that exclude members who don't share those features, such as religion or even race, so why is it so horrendous for biological sex to be used, especially considering that's a fundamental feature of what people are looking for? To exclude trans women from social groups, for example a book club or even something like a women's gym is wrong. But to not be able to exclude them from things like dating apps (for straight men or lesbians looking for women) is bizarre. If all dating groups excluded them, that would be a problem, but some are calling for an outright ban on anything that exludes them. I mean, I wouldn't be offended by being exluded from a group for black people seeking partners, for example.

I dislike competitive sports anyway and I have no interest in the area but I do believe things need to be fair for everyone. It especially matters in contact sports I think, when women may get hurt. But again, participating in sports is a choice. I don't have a strong opinion on this one but I do feel like the discussion of sports people with development differences is a complex and completely separate thing. I would prefer to live in a fully non competitive world where all sports were about participation and not winning medals but that's a different conversation.

The final area that I have concern with is when it comes to children. I believe everyone's rights are equal but children's rights trump everything. What child knows themselves well enough to make such life altering decisions? I'm still discovering who I am now at 45 and I don't think I was capable of making any kind of important decision at all l until I was at least mid 20s. I know everyone is different but I can confidently say that no child is actually in a position to know for certain that such an extreme decision is the right path for them and I don't believe parents should be allowed make that decision for them either.

Having said all of that I'm sure it will come across to many people as "anti-trans" but I can assure you I absolutely don't feel any fear or dislike of trans people. If you can read what I've written with an open heart, you will know that. I really believe the more diversity in the world, the better and I passionately believe in every individual's right to autonomy in choosing how they live their lives, including their gender identity.

The final point I want to make is that I've observed people being labelled and pushed into stereotyped boxes, grouping them with radical extremists and calling them nazis etc. I find it so saddening that the world has descended into this insanity where everything is so polarised. I also find it baffling that people accuse each other of being influenced by what they read on social media etc. when they are exemplifying that themselves. It's like the pot and the kettle.

People are complex and can have complex and nuanced opinions on different topics. If we want to come to a solution that will work for everyone it will involve compromise. I would encourage everyone on either side of any debate to try a bit harder to truly listen to what each other is actually saying instead of jumping to conclusions and defensively pushing them into this box or that box. Just because someone says a trans woman is not the same as a biological woman doesn't mean they don't want trans people to exist. And to the trans people calling for allies, you should not need allies because there should be no enemy. Yes there are some truly transphobic people out there but they are an extremist minority and I haven't seen anything like that from anyone posting here.

If we really want to create a better world, we all need to tap into our female side. That includes all women and men. We need to start resolving conflicts and differences of opinion with compassion and open listening or there will be no world for any of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,792 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

but the changes aren't down to "Woke Culture" at all.

That's exactly what they were down to.

The people fighting for basic human rights (and being rejected) for homosexuals in the 80s are precisely the sort of people who would be absolutely reviled as woke nowadays, and a Supreme Court judge describing homosexuality as "damaging to the health both of individuals and the public" would be applauded as "old-fashioned common sense" by the same posters who are so stridently anti-trans in this thread.

Back in the 80s, people "knew" that gays were deviants and perverts, just the same way posters here "know" that trans people are, well, whatever people think they are.

Intolerance and bigotry is not a new thing, it has been and will be around forever, it just finds new targets.

Post edited by Former Former Former on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 714 ✭✭✭waterfaerie

I agree with what you're saying but if you read through the thread carefully, I don't think anyone here is saying that trans women are deviants or perverts. Just that they're not actually women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,792 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Ok maybe that's unfair generalisation, there are a lot of posts about men pretending to be women purely to gain access to women's bathrooms and changing rooms, but that's probably a (vocal) minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,707 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I think this has to be the most rose tinted glasses post I've ever seen on this site.

Did you bounce in from an alternative reality 80s/90s Ireland where Magdeline launderies and marital rape didn't exist, contraception and homosexuality were legal and the Catholic Church didn't have a stranglehold over the country?

Jesus tonight. Some people seem to have very nostalgic (or short term) memories of this countries past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,182 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I am in my sixties and lived through many changes here ,most for the better .

But we still have childcare issues, gender pay gap , fewer women in positions of influence , victims of rape and assault being torn apart by lawyers in court and rape , femicide and violent crime has gone up and is higher here than any other European country .

So dont ...say we are done and we should be happy with our lot .

A lot better than some countries yes , but we are a wealthy secular democratic country so there is no comparison really. You know I am not talking about women's rights anywhere else except Ireland .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,182 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Ah so you weren't here during the 70s and 80s . A lot of work was done towards equality by the time you arrived .

This comment in your previous post is ridiculous (maybe you are trying to annoy?)

"…people had more respect for each other, whether that's towards women or towards older employees, doesn't matter. Maybe the odd joke about gays and lesbians and whispers behind their backs, but that's about it."

You have lived in a rarified little bubble if you seriously believe that to be true , even in the 90s .

And I agree with a lot you have said and have said similar regarding the term cis especially .

However to be fair , there were posts earlier in the thread , divisive posts , highlighting every trans female that ever came before the courts as if it is something that is bound to happen with every trans female here in Ireland .

Important to say that that was why some posters were so defensive towards one poster in particular .

I don't recall people calling those posters bigots or nazis but I maybe they were edited out .

Master of the Universe

The last line of your post really goes to show how completely blind a lot of men were (and are!) to the difficulties women faced (and still face) on a daily basis. It's a complete and utter ignorance.

Someone mentioned earlier about guys just being able to go about their daily lives without fear of harassment or worse.

Always thought this was a good video to illustrate this type of thing:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭aero2k

I've no need to spin anything, I'm just presenting the facts.

Was skin colour the only thing you could see different about the medallists and non medallists in that pic? Do you watch much track running? And, pray tell what have races 5 and 8 years later got to do with the 2016 final?

FWIW, 64 competitors qualified to compete in the women's 800m in Rio 2016. At least three of them were male. 17 were from the continent of Africa, including 2 from Morocco and 1 from Egypt. Now, why did those 3 particular Africans win the medals, and not any of the 14 others? Could sex and the associated performance improvement have been a factor. The winning time for the men's 800m in 2016 was 1.42.15, so had the three lads been in that race they wouldn't have even been in the finishing straight when David Rudisha crossed the line.

No, the lads didn't win medals by virtue of being men, they won by virtue of being men in a race where the other five athletes were women. And yes, they weren't breaking any rules at the time, but that's down to the cowardly IOC.

You could add in women going into the bank looking for mortgages and being told to come back with their husbands.

Genuine question - can you give an example where a male and a female with identical experience doing identical jobs are paid differently? (I know that's actually very difficult information to get as jobs aren't always directly comparable)

As a mother to sons I know they face harassment also from other guys, usually aggressive , sometimes baiting . But not to the same extent girls and women do.

The guy walking alongside of that girl in the last part of the video , that was scary .

I could get over the comments.. well, because I have learned that thats the best way to deal with it mostly, but those comments used to be common in the workplace as well . And if you ask people to stop you're a bxxxx , a ball breaker , a tease , or worse .

One young lad I know , who is a parttime model and very handsome , was being called Bambi by an older guy in his place of work . We had to talk him through a face to face with the guy . He explained to him he didn't like it , it was demeaning, and the guy said "OK , I'll call you pussy" !

He went to HR who dealt with it . (Probably should have gone straight to them first , I don't know .) But the atmosphere in work was horrendous and he left for another job . The other fella is still working there.

This was pre Covid . Now post Covid he didn't want to return to the office and very gradually is getting back to it.

The effect this had on him is just an example of what people go through despite legislation protecting people in the workplace .

Now imagine if that lad was trans.or gay. Or a woman .

For people who call that legislation "woke ", you never know when you or yours will need the protection that equality and anti harassment legislation.

Who are the stridently anti-trans people in the thread, and how do you know what they were thinking in the 80's?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,114 Mod ✭✭✭✭circadian

The gender pay gap isn’t mainly about obvious unequal pay for identical roles. It focuses on systemic factors like slower promotion rates, career breaks (maternity leave in particular), occupational segregation, and differences in starting salaries or negotiation outcomes. So comparing identical experience/jobs isn't really a useful measurement, if it can be done at all in any meaningful scale.

Master of the Universe

As much as men can get harassed by men (I've had a few run ins myself over the years, as I'm sure most others have too) it's really comparing apples and oranges.

If I'm walking down a road and some guy starts harassing me I know he's not going to be physically able to hold me down and do the unspeakable. Be it in a city centre or by the canal at night or up a mountain. I mean you can get in a fight as a man with another man that can go horribly, but rarely with the level of violation that women are threatened with.

A comparable thing would be for men to imagine we actually shared the earth with another species of hominid, one that is, on average, massively strong, far stronger than the average man, and with a ravenous sexual appetite towards human males.

How would the average man interact with and view the world in such a scenario? What additional precautions would we take leaving the house every day?

I know it sounds outlandish but you really have to start thinking along those lines if, as a man, you want to try to view the female experience in relation to these things. Otherwise you really do just start coming out with willfully ignorant comments like that which were posted above.

edit - just to add, by 'willfully ignorant comments' I mean the 'women have it grand now, it was actually better in the 80s and 90s, woke woke woke' shite.

@waterfaerie your very detailed and thoughtful post deserves a detailed answer. I'll have a go in due course. I wish it could be stickied on every forum as an example of how to express opinions respectfully, and how to respect those who hold different views. One thanks is definitely not enough, and I say that while disagreeing with some of it.

Right now though there's an imminent competitive sporting event that will have a winner - hopefully the right one 😀.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 304 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

And yet emphasising that such men are not trans. The wilful misinterpretations...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭89897

While the gender pay gap isnt just about exacting pay disparity its a system of things as highlighted above, I can provide a like for like example unfortunately.

Without going into too much detail and giving away info locations etc. Some years ago, i worked somewhere that had an out of hours emergency contact, it was initally manned by just one guy, there was a flat rate for being on call and then a rate per call taken. The business got much busier and they needed more people to cover so myself and another women I worked with took it on. The business then told us, that we would only be getting the rate per call taken and not the flat rate for being on call. Shocked at this, I asked why and was told basically "just because" asked if all of us on call were being payed like this and told yes, then found out that my colleague (the guy) was still getting the flat rate. Asked why we were being treated differently and didnt get an answer.

Exact same job, same hours, same length of service, same team but different pay and only one marked difference between us all. Needless to say, I told them I wouldnt be taking the extra work in those circumstances and left not long after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

https://archive.ph/VV8nM

Sobering read.

https://aontu.ie/65-women-murdered-across-ireland-since-2020-this-is-no-country-for-women-senator-sarah-oreilly/

65 violent deaths in same period in the republic.

Assuming dates and numbers are correct, and scaling by population would equate to 23 deaths for ROI v NI (65 divided by 5.4M/1.9M) doesn't make the republic that much better than northern ireland

Shocking numbers either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭fleck

I think the 65 refers to the whole island, therefore 35 in the Republic. So the rate in NI would be nearer two and a half times the ROI rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 304 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

So well put, thank you waterfaerie. It's so frustrating when people - especially men - come to this thread and gleefully undermine women making the points you're making… but refuse to provide a counter argument, just sneers. I don't give a hoot if someone is trans - I do if they pretend to be, and like you, I refuse to pretend to agree that transwomen ARE women. They're transwomen. I also refuse to accept language that undermines women, or to pretend that sex doesn't matter in certain limited situations (most of the time it doesn't). To say this is hateful is just bullying.

Separate to that, with regard to women in the West now, it's absurd for anyone to compare life for us to that of many women around the world. Watched something recently about the imprisoned women in Iran, and it just hurt my heart.

I feel lucky to have been born in Ireland after the days of when women could be badly treated. But while we don't endure what women and girls endure around the world (and it's because of being the female sex, not feminine gender) there are sometimes things that do affect or potentially affect women and girls (and men and boys) which it should be ok to call out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Just for some balance…there were more men murdered in ROI than that in just the year 2020 alone.

Where are Aontú on that stat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,279 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

That's pretty sick coming from a party founded on the issue of not allowing women an abortion to save their life.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,279 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It's not uncommon that a 'legacy' employee got T&Cs not available to later hires.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,477 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

The 'pay gap' should really be called something else, like earnings gap, or seniority gap, or something.. its kinda conflating two different things as it is

Or the gap due to personal choices, some of which may be due to sex.