Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 The Bernablaa

GAA+ got the raw deal no one is going to pay to watch use play Quelly-ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Marsher555

Cork had 2 games last year behind the pay wall. Made the national news for a week and we had a statement from an Taoiseach.

Waterford have 3 games pay for view and there will not be a word about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Teebor15

Not everything has to be a negative. Why do all games have to be in Walsh park? Having intercounty hurling championship games in Fraher field will open the game up to a whole cohort of kids west of Dungarvan to go in and watch and inspire, who might otherwise not see the county hurlers in the flesh whatever the grade. Surely that will benefit the county regarding players of the future than having everything in the city. I'm based in the east by the way, Walsh park is a stones throw away but I think spreading the games so more can see them is better to grow the game. Otherwise we might be giving out here in 5-10 years time about how no players are coming through from the west!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,569 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Best of luck to the under 20's tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭HikingBeatsSport

Best of luck to U20 Hurlers tonight... another win following the U20 footballers win v Limerick last week would be mighty..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

They’re not getting a cent from me this year they can go and run up my hole charging for their shite stop start streaming service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭5948ai

To be honest I'm sick of this round robin. I used to love the trips to Tullamore or Nowlan park through the back door against teams at or below our level with a chance then of a day out in Croke Park. We won't see those days again any time soon!

Best of luck to the u20s tonight. They'll be up against it but hopefully they put a good account of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭JD. 60

Some performance so far up in Clare. Not going according to the script !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Pudz2180

playing well should be alot further ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,267 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

0-7 to 0-4 up at half time. Had a goal incorrectly disallowed for square ball too imo.

Playing v well apart from a few handling errors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Someone should be shot for that 21 yard free error…😡😡😡 was the disallowed goal deemed a sq ball..? Should be at least 5 up. Lots of errors from boat sides but definitely a game that’s there to be won. Thought Conor Tobin was down to play..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭decies

Get stuck into them . Some poor wides in this game .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,569 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

After dropping a bit

What is it with Waterford teams not being able to close out a game. That was some kick in the gut. Better team throughout should have been home and hosed only for all the wides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Marsher555

Left that behind us.
    Mackey is some bit of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭skaface

That disallowed goal and free out from the 21 metre free in for us killed us.. we should have won that game.. lack of composure in front of goal cost us in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭decies

like the senior team needed a goal threat .

Meanwhile against probably harder opponents .

Fulfil Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship
    Full Time
    Tipperary: 1-21(24)
    Cork: 0-22(22)

Has to be said the standard of shooting from both teams was abysmal. Can’t beleive that Clare team won the all Ireland minor 3 years ago. Tipp beat Cork 1-21 to 0-22 in the other match. Chalk and cheese

Mental to lose that game. How good are limerick this year…? Hard to see a victory against v cork or tipp. Was young Hartley playing …?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭cbwfd

Really should have won that. The 21 yard free was a bad decision but why was a free out given? For me it seemed to travel the required distance and it probably would have been put over the bar.

Also I thought the square ball call was a referee trying to show his authority without actually knowing. Unless it's blatant you would genuinely need VAR to see whether the player is in the square before the ball so I can't understand why the ref didn't just trust the umpire who was clearly awarding a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Pudz2180

disappointing not to win that, I know we haven’t been great at this grade the last few years but if you were to look back there has definitely been a few games like tonight where we probably should have won but didn’t get over the line. The word frustration comes to mind watching us at this grade over the last few years a lot of good but also a lot of bad. Taught the backs hurled well but forwards struggled a bit especially to win clean possession. Think if we had jack power, Tobin and Spain it might have been a different result. Also does anyone know if Ben Cummins of lismore is underage?
    Also some context we had 7 or 8 lads who were minor last year and all held their own tonight. Hopefully these lads will continue to develop and improve over the next 3 years

yea Cummins is definetly underage not sure what the story is with him. A big change to night from previous years I thought the handling and stick work was much improved, the harrying, hooking and blocking was excellent aswell, so many times we forced clare to turn possession over it’s just a shame we couldn’t deliver the end product at the other end. But the work rate is clearly Something they’ve worked really hard on. Joxer is trying to find the balance between the long term project while being competitive in games and you’d have to say he’s doing an excellent job. Mackey has been mentioned already as being excellent but a word on Conor Lynch at full back, what an absolute Rolls Royce of a player we have on our hands. There was some talk of him going playing rugby after the minor win last year, good to see him still hanging around with us and hope we can keep him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Another sickening result, as someone else said it’s yet another example of a Waterford side coming out the wrong end of a tight game. The lads put up a good fight and really should have won it, Clare absolutely did not deserve that. Plenty of cause for optimism though, some handy players on show. Thought Shane Power, Conor Lynch, Pat Walsh and Mackey all did well.

Will need a win next Weds night home to Tipp to keep hopes alive of getting out of Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭JD. 60

Beforehand, we were given no chance (by the bookies at any rate). As pointed out, both teams had some dreadful wides. I don't know much about Limerick underage but I think they're not that strong these days. Cork & Tipp are a different proposition however.

Disappointed but not too disheartened. Overall. it's a fairly young U20 team and Joxer showed with the U17s that he can improve a team as the season goes on. A special call out to Conor Lynch, as alluded to above. And we seem to have a very reliable free taker.

The forwards looked weak (apart from Mackey of course). If Tobin, Jack Power and Spain come back in, that will be a massive addition. Hartley didn't appear for the second half ? Maybe he wasn't right fitness wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭whiteandblue

Hartley played the full match. He was on former Minor Player of the Year Eoghan Gunning who totally cleaned him out unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭thesultan

a very poor standard last night and we got beat nearly alone as the Clare full back line keeping them in the game .

Our awful record at the grade continues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

That’s not accurate at all. It was 2024, and Cork had 3 Munster hurling matches on Gaa+. Added to that the footballers match v Kerry was the same. So 4 of their 5 provincial matches were behind a paywall.
    Cork fans rightly felt targeted. This year it’s unfortunately Waterford fans that should feel hard done by.

Cormac Spain is not available this year at all so need to forget about him. Tobin and power would be a massive addition if they are available the next day however. I wonder would Hartley be better as an impact sub like he was for Ballygunner this year it might help get his confidence back up which he seems to lack at intercounty level .

reliable free taker…not so sure about that…?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 The Bernablaa

It was the best performance by an u20 in nearly 10 years. You could see they had a style, a plan and a knew how to execute it. The teams the last few years you'd believe the players never met each other before throw in.

We were a touch unlucky with some of the refs decisions. I think if we had Tobin it would have given us the extra bit of juice up front to get over the line. Like most of these things we will really only know where we stand after both ourselves and Clare play our next games. But plenty to be positive about.

The only negative I would say, was lads getting shouts blocked when a pass off could have been an option, but that will come with experience.