Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

There's a school directly behind my house - like, literally on the other side of our back fence - and any time the weather is nice and basically for the entire month of June, they just let the kids stay out in the yard pretty much all day. I genuinely worry for their pupils' eventual academic outcomes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,345 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I left the milk out on the cooker and it's all curdled . No coffee today 😡.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Was at a wedding a few weeks ago and the groom wore a tight fitting trousers which stopped just above the ankles with black slip on shoes and no socks??? Looked ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭adaminho

I know it's a thing with young lads going out but it's the first I've heard of it at a wedding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,145 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

When you've something to do a few days away that you're dreading and you can't function until it's over. I think it might be ADHD or a learned bad habit. It's certainly a waste of time and energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,089 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The shoe-horning of Irish into various things this time of year. Like the Craig David Just Eat ad now with the 'adapted' gaelic bit.

Last week local radio opened every news bulletin with token primary school Irish- level sentences. Worst of all, there was a news item on RTE radio about the rise in popularity of Sean Nos dancing, and the person being interviewed began every answer with Irish before switching to English, making it twice as long as it needed to be.

Fook off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,735 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Do you have a T-Shirt for that - you could make a fortune.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,283 ✭✭✭✭walshb

couldn’t agree more. Can’t stand this throwing the odd-small bit a Irish into everything. All it does is highlights how nobody really has a clue of it. It’s so obviously forced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

I don’t find this TA. I encourage it as the look like idiots when they have to pick everything up again when they pay as they inevitably don’t have a bag or buy one. Same performance when they get back to the car and have to try to get their keys out.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,116 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It's a thing I've seen a few people do. Often people who'd be consider themselves cool.

You'd see fellas on a cold wet Irish day in a black tie suit with their pasty pale ankles hanging out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,167 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Last 2 weeks of the holidays is the same. They have a hurling tournament or something like that every day and the loudspeaker is blasting music etc all day and him trying to be some RTE match commentator that no one can understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Archeron

Ended up having to go to A&E today and of course was wearing my cheap as feck underpants from Temu.

They were clean at least but there's truth in those old phrases your granny used to say.

Trust me, If I get run over by a bus in the morning it doesn't matter how new my underpants are they're going to be soiled by the time I get to the hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,345 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I shudder to think what the nurses ( I hope ) who showered me must have seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭Dan Steely
    1 missile, 165 schoolgirls

When Facebook recommends a group with a sharp, ironic, funny name and 2m members so you click in and it's all click bait quizzes and questions.

Dumb/weird ideas: Did school drop off there and 10/11/12 year olds pyjamas day. Did we do this nonsense years ago?

My lad wasn't having any of it……don't blame him.

People who start sneezing or coughing in front of you and spreading their germs without covering their face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

we had a football jersey day…. I get that but….. a pyjamas day ? Bit weird….

My TA….Forgot to put my phone on silent going to bed, woken up early by notifications, now also phone buzzing non stop all morning….90% of it from pages I like / follow on SM…. Need to get muting these as it is the same when I have my headphones on out walking or in gym, so much annoying BS on social media nowadays. You used to mandate what you saw, now businesses are doing it for you….

The awkwardness of bumping into someone you know in a supermarket aisle again having only made small talk with them minutes ago in a different aisle…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,735 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Supermarkets moving random items. I'm looking at you Aldi. For months been buying my wife some smoothies that were at the front of the store with the sandwiches. Then they randomly moved to the other end of the shop by the butter?

Wake me up when it's all over.

I just saw someone complain that reading a book a few years ago has "spoiled" the subsequent movie adaptation for them. I don't understand that logic. The book came first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,138 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Spoiled might be the wrong word… but it would be nice to be able to knock out one's memory temporarily of a book, film etc to be able to re-watch or re-read it fresh. Maybe one of those Men in Black type devices :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭apache

Got a taxi home from the airport and the driver wanted to know everything, where I was, what I worked at etc. Don't understand why they can't just shut their mouth and drive. Nosey holes.

Was walking down the path and a big e bike overtook another and came right into my path and nearly hit me. Fuckers the lot of them!

That's my two gripes in the one day.

People on E Scooters hogging the footpaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Duke of Schomberg

Queuing in the Costa franchise at the local teaching hospital at 7:30, I'd arrived at the same time as a couple of nurses so I let them go in front of me. About three people in front of them. I get to the top of the queue and I'm waiting for the baristas to finish the orders in progress - half a dozen-or-so medics, nurses, ambulance staff behind me. In walk two police and straight in front of me . . . "Excuse me", I said, "There's a queue", they both looked at me as though I was completely out of place, "We're on duty" said one (well you shouldn't be drinking coffee then, unless its your rest period), "There's still a queue" I replied, there followed an awkward silence . . . broken when one of the ambulance men behind me said "Guys, were all on duty", then a nurse said "I'm due on the ward in ten". They joined the back of the queue. When they'd been served and left, one of the baristas came around to clear the tables said wttet "The police are always doing this, nobody else gets to queue jump". I told him that next time the police tried it on to treat the counter as a barman would his bar - ignore them and serve everybody who came in before them first.

Oh! second trivial annoyance - on the way home I popped into Wetherspoons in the local market town . . . a queue had formed at one point at the bar and was snaking between the tables to the door. When did this queuing at the bar become a thing? Is it since the pandemic? Is it because teenagers who started drinking then don't know anything else? It means that when somebody gets to the front of the queue they've no idea what's on the pumps and then have to start a quick recce mission along the bar, just adding to the time it takes to get served.

It's a very british thing forming a Queue at the bar. It always reminds me of this Dave Gorman sketch.

Queuing at the bar is definitely a Covid-generation thing here, you only ever see people under a certain age doing it. Drives the barman in my local insane, he does be like "Will yis FILL the LENGTH of the BAR ffs!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,138 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Thats a proper barman response. Not sure if I'd trust the not very experienced Wetherspoons staff to be able to do that and manage who is at the bar - hence the queue.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,089 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

For the last while my dog has been hard to bring inside, would previously run back in immediately after being called but now would be reluctant and more content to patrol around the periphery of the garden. Even when I let her out for a pee in the morning, goes racing for the ditches. Unusual behaviour. Put it down to being cooped in a lot during the sustained shite weather.

Well, I have since discovered she is the Jeffrey Dahmer of rabbits. Spotted her a couple of times recently walking around with a rabbit in her mouth but assumed it her discovering dead ones on her adventures. However, caught her this afternoon actively digging one out of its burrow and killing it then. And the fooker is the gentlest soul around humans.