Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,706 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

We're not talking about his appearance on Primetime though, we're talking about this interaction with Trump in The White House.

To bring up an appearance on Primetime to somehow prove you point has a bang of whataboutery about it.

Lots of people think he did great. I don't like him at all and thought he did great. It's possible to think someone you don't like did a good job. As I mentioned above, I was surprised to see he had it in him.

You're just doing the typical social media level 'everything MM does is wrong' schtick, which just shows a severe lack of ability to take off the blinkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,337 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Rep Pat Ryan (D) New York unloading on CNN called Trump a five-time draft dodger during the interview about the resignation of Joe Kent. That might generate a "I am not a coward" response on Truth Social if he's made aware of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 562 ✭✭✭pad406

Kevin Hassett -Director of the National Economic Council of the United States

"If the war were to be extended, it wouldn't really disrupt the US economy very much at all. It would hurt consumers, and we'd have to think about what we'd have to do about that, but that's really the last of our concerns right now."

WOW, just WOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Labour, the SDs and even SF have shown over the past few days that they are not serious people when it comes to putting themselves forward as an alternative government.

They wanted Martin to go in all guns blazing and attack Trump.

That would only have ended one way and while it might have made good TV the fallout from it would have been very damaging to this country.

Trump will be gone in two and a half years, there are many countries who would be delighted to get the opportunity Ireland has every year and it should never be taken for granted.

That reporter who tried to annoy Trump was an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,920 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

You fluffed your position by calling for Ireland to decline the White House invite and then making up a position on Martin's performance that has no bearing on reality. Your points cannot be taken seriously by anyone unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,029 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Now you're reaching like Stretch Armstrong to say attack is a synonym of challenge, especially in this instance. For someone in your position. SMH.

Again, I repeat, I never said MM should have attacked DT(that would be irresponsible, I think I already said that as well). As you've proven me right with that stretch.

You said something that I didn't say. And then you went even further and presumed to know how I would react on your false narrative. This world, huh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,776 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,597 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

There were a few times it looked like Martin was doing his utmost not to laugh at the shite Trump was spewing.

I had a long response written out to you, should have saved it in drafts, but I didn't, the page refreshed, and it's gone. I agree with your opening paragraph. After that, I might come back to it tomorrow/later today if I remember or you remind me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭ronjo

Or, or, automatic draft saves would be nice. It's a nice feature on sites like IGN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I think we can all relate to that. MM did well - he benefited from Trump attacking NATO and Starmer - two areas he has no control or real connection over. He was wise to remain quiet overall- we know how this shower of chimpanzees work now- they’ll jump on anything you say and twist it. Less is more.

To the opposition idiots complaining he should have given Trump what-for. Well lads, I’m certainly fcking glad you’re not in power right now- if there’s one way to fck up this country even more, it’s to kick America in the shins.

The EU is taking the approach of letting Trump make his stupid mistakes on Iran and sitting back and watching the fallout. Trump knows he’s fcked up but he’s never admitted fcking up in his life- you can see that Israel is being blamed- but really Donald Trump’s son-in-law Jared Kushner and Steve Witkoff, Trump’s special envoy on several issues- are to blame- because they were fcking clueless and had no American expertise at the negotiation table to guide them - this war should never have happened and Trumps son in law is partly to blame - along with Trump of course

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2026/mar/17/uk-security-adviser-attended-us-iran-talks-and-judged-deal-was-within-reach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,543 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

A class message from Mamdani, no doubt educating a lot of Americans about "St Patty's Day"

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,490 ✭✭✭✭fits

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Radio 1 said that Martin brought up the Ukraine and Iran war in a later speech. I haven't seen the comments but I am glad he brought up the brainless Iran war. Pretending it isn't happening would be worse. I have always thought that Martin wants an international job when he leaves politics. UN perhaps. He did much better than last year.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

People forget that diplomacy and subtlety used to be the order of the day- reading between lines, inference etc.

It’s good to see that MM has maintained this tradition - Trump and MAGA are too stupid to get it- thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,691 ✭✭✭yagan

I wonder what excuses Martin will offer though on the years of delaying the occupied territories bill. Holding it up because the opposition has been pushing for it is gutless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭midlander12

I see the Dems won 40-42% of the vote yesterday in two special elections in Pennsylvania, in districts that had been unopposed GOP for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,386 ✭✭✭golfball37

I actually thought the same. When he said Barack Hussein Obama for the second time you knew he was desperate. Martin did very well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Martin cleverly waited until the final ceremony (shamrock) to make the plea re Iran.

He said "Like other small countries, we see international rules and order - including the United Nations – as essential to our peace and security and to that of the world. Our own recent history has convinced us that dialogue, negotiation and de-escalation are the way to make progress. And we especially want to see progress and peace in the Middle East, as I know you do."

Well said and very similar to what Catherine Connolly said.

Diplomacy isn't about being afraid to say anything to a bully. It amazed me that people here thought Merz did a great job by staying quiet re Spain/Iran. Quite the opposite, he looks very weak now.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,155 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

mamdani is a seriously good communicator. Everytime I see him on things he comes across extremely well. That’s a very good messsge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

I'm No fan of Martin, but he did fine given the circumstances and who he was sat in front of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,304 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I think MM did well, what he said was good, but I don't think Trump got more than one word in ten out of it. He hadn't a clue except when the odd trigger word or phrase resonated with him.

The Irish Open is in Doonbeg this year(how that happened says a lot). So Trump wasn't going to give Micheál Martin a hard time, especially as he was talking about how he'd like to attend the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Unfortunately AIPAC aligned Democrats won primaries in Illinois yesterday. AIPAC played down their role until afterwards. Issues unrelated to Israel were used instead in the primary. Progressive vote splitting also a factor.

The Humanist Report has a report in it below as does MS.Now from 4 days ago.

Not sure I would agree with the logic that Trump wouldnt give someone a hard time just because they did something previously he like.

Trump has no major reason to be annoyed with Ireland as I mentioned yesterday. We're not one of the big boys.

Like Trump going off on one about Starmer and NATO, and how they won't join his illegal war in Iran. He can't have a pop at us, as we're a neutral country.

dont think he ever needs a reason to attack someone. IMO there is not always logic to his rants and attacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭Economics101

Mamdani's St Patrick's day piece was a bit slanted towards the 700 years of oppression view (except he extended it to 1800 years of oppression: in Patrick's time neither the British Empire nor the UK existed). What is the Island of Britain was emerging from Roman rule in 432. I would have liked more tribute from Mamdani to the Irish parliamentary and democratic tradition, and a bit more recognition of people like John Hume as opposed to hunger strikers.

Americans (and not just D.J Trump) have often strange views about European history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭arctictree

I presume a special exception needs to be made for Trump since he's a convicted felon. Didn't Gerry Adams have trouble getting a VISA for a US visit once?