National Football Leagues 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭overshoot

This stuff is always hilarious,Youd swear by how you write he has managed us since 2012 and not got us to 2 AI finals since in 4 years(yes 4, not 14), a post width denying us one of them

Whether donegal will be there abouts come end of the season, time will tell. The squad depth is poor in terms of experience on the bench though 5/6 good young players coming through who will offer a lot going forward and gotten plenty of game time in the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Up to that final in league and championship last year Donegal looked like a well oiled machine. There is an arguement to say that they have found a few new players to strenghen the panel for the championship.

On the otherside of the coin that loss to the Rossies will have hurt. I know the weather conditions were bad. But of all teams you would think it would have suited Donegal.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The permutations, Division 4 is mad. I had London written off before they beat Carlow, but they could get promoted.

All matches are on Sunday 22nd. Div 4 13:00. Div 2 13:15. Div 3 14:00. Div 1 15:30.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2026/0316/1563681-football-league-permutations-little-decided-ahead-of-r7/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

I wonder was there anything happening between 1968 and 1991 that might have meant that Ulster teams were not quite as good?

That said, Kerry are the example for everyone else. You can beat them once, they deride their opponents tactics, but they still learn from them and sort out the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,764 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Fair points about the troubles but they hammered the other provincial teams also including hammering Dublin in few finals

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

And no Connacht team won an All Ireland after Galway completed the 3 in a row in 1966, until Galway again in 1998. They did it again in 2001 via the "back door", none since.

Kerry and Dublin got a lot of All Irelands in the time before the back door. When winning probably one serious match in their province, and then overcoming weak Ulster/Connacht champions in the semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

I love the narrative that some people like to build around Jim.

Since 2012 Jim has managed Donegal for four full seasons. They have reached two All Ireland Finals and a semi final. Donegal have reached a total of four All Ireland Finals, Jim has been manager for three and was a player in the squad for the other.

If you measure success solely on winning All Irelands most managers in the history of the game have been failures and the vast majority would love to have been as successful as Jim.

However there is much more to Jim that his impact on the field. His impact off the field, with his players and with his people, has been greater. Jim has suffered great tragedy in his personal life and with that comes a sense of perspective about football. When Jim stopped at the roadside in 2012 on his way home from Croke Park, where his brother had been killed dropping Jim to the airport, no words were necessary. Football is a distraction from real world problems.

Jim has changed the lives of players he has managed. He has brought two seriously underperforming groups of players and made the competitive at the highest level. When Paddy McBrearty lifted the Anglo Celt and looked down at Jim and said "I owe everything in my life to you" it tells you everything about the man. Not only has he made them better players, he has made them better people.

Donegal has long been a forgotten county, no rail service, high unemployment, low standard of living and high emigration. Jim has given Donegal people a pride in their identity and embraced the fact that things in Donegal are a little different.

Whether or not Donegal manage to want another All Ireland under Jim the man is a credit to his family and his people. It's the begrudgers I pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I used to like Jim but I thought he came across fairly whingey in his book and some of the "them against us" stuff he goes on with is a bit much. Nonetheless, you only have to look at where Donegal were before he took over to appreciate what he's achieved since returning - Donegal could easily be in the Tailteann cup if they had continued the way they were going.

There aren't too many people who would have been willing to put their status as a Donegal legend on the line for the rabbble that Donegal were at that time but he did and has by any measure achieved more than most people expected at the time so even if he doesn't manage a 2nd AI, I'd still view his second coming as successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,100 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

There is only one statistic you needvto know about Jim. He has won an All Ireland, there is a lot of managers that have not and many from football counties with decent pedigrees. But then dose it really count as a great win since it was Mayo in the final.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,100 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

That Is purely coincidental, they have lost a lot as well.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

What McGuiness did in 2012 was phenomenal.

The buy in he got from everyone, his willingness to ditch Cassidy who did not buy in, the drive, the fearless approach, the confidence etc

All while playing good football, they were a completely different team in 2012 than 2011.

He caught lightning in a bottle in 2012, I won't say he was lucky, instead he got everything right.

But he's failed to reproduce it.

He lost a final in 2014 against a good (all Kerry teams are good) but less than generational Kerry team.

And last year he was totally at sea in the final.

The narrative going into the game was that Jimmy could solve the Clifford problem, but Kerry made an absolute fool of him.

That's where his legacy is right now, with people outside Donegal at least.

And I can't see him solving it this year.

I'd hate to know what you think of Mick oDwyer given his last 15 years of management/time outside kerry only yielded him 3 Leinster titles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,764 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

If its not perfection its nothing these days.

He might have got it badly wrong in AI final last year but he has given Donegal a chance to be within distance of a AI again.

EVENFLOW

Mick O Dwyer went and managed counties that had not won in decades. In 1998 Kildare beat the three previous AI champions Kerry, Dublin and Meath, he lost to Galway innthe AI final....…if it had been Mayo, he also managed Laois to a Leinster title

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭megadodge

Superb post.

Unfortunately, the people it's aimed at will ignore it, because it doesn't suit their narrative.

Post edited by downthemiddle on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Division 4 will be some fun next Sunday. All teams waterford with a chance of promotion. It will be some collapse by carlow if they lose again after winning their first 4 matches.

I was being facetious....

but ill play, 6 years it took mick to get kildare to a AI final and pick up 1 leinster... he also lost a leinster final to westmeath...

In 6 years Jim got a donegal team who hadnt even won an ulster game in 5 years or ulster title in 2 decades, 5 ulsters & 1 AI beating every AI finalist from the previous decade bar dublin enroute, also equaling Donegals entire championship haul before his time, plus 2 more AI finals....

so... by your narrative Jim is on a par with mick, perhaps worked bigger wonders when you look at equal starting points?

Anyway will leave it there, some hate the man and nothing will change that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Objectively speaking, it's fair respectively to say that Jimmy has brought Donegal further than Jack has brought kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

They won last year's at a canter. They won the club all Ireland this year. The Kerry Mafia will do well to change the narrative after that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

That's not his legacy. I'm not from Donegal, and I see him as an excellent manager. He has done so much good for Donegal. They were very mediocre before he took over for his recent management stint, and almost straight away he took them to All-Ireland final. That's incredible. People like yourself will try to muddy the waters by bringing in the final last year to try to demonstrate negativity. But the reality is that if JMcG wasn't the manager, they would be nowhere near the final. Dubs try to do the same by referring back to one match where David Clifford had one bad final and was marking Michael Fitzsimmons. "Fitzy had Clifford in his pocket all day" etc. etc. They were doing this to try to dilute the argument that Clifford is the best player currently playing. That kind of begrudgery is part and parcel of how things operate. But the reality is still that Jim McGuinnes has proven himself to be a top manager, and David Clifford has been the best player in the past 5 or 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Ive never once heard a Dublin fan say anything of the sort about Clifford and I goto most of our games and have plenty of friends in different clubs who follow the sport.

I’d suggest you don’t take online ranting or the loud mouths at games to represent the majority of our fanbase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I live and work in Dublin. Any time that the issue of who the best player of all time is, this particular point always comes up - that Clifford can't be the best ever because he doesn't produce in finals, that Mick Fitz had him in his pocket. These aren't just online ranters. These are guys that play GAA and have played. Obviously, it's a bit of auld banter and craic. I was just making the point that often a bit of begrudgery can fog one's senses - it was mainly in relation to the comments that Jim McGuinnes's legacy will always be one final that they did not win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

In fairness bantz is 100% the least objective conversation you can have with a fan and in many cases the goal is to get a rise out of the other person.

I generally don’t frequent that arena which would explain why I don’t know any dub who’d take that position seriously. For my own part, I think he’s a superb player.

I find GOAT chats need to be taken with pinch of salt as it’s entirely subjective because the sport is always evolving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,089 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

They are idiots then.

I know plenty of Dublin fans who denigrate Clifford and build up King Con and Dermo as bigger legends.

May sound cliche, but outside name checking the big name Dublin players, a lot of them are clueless across the broader game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭Gael85

A lot of Micko success with outside counties was helped by him bringing in outside players. He had with Brian Lacey, Karl O'Dwyer and Brian Murphy with Kildare. David Brennan, Shane Cooke and Billy Sheehan with Laois. Tommy Walsh, Brian McGrath and Austin O'Malley with Wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

17 Kildare (Tailteann winners)

-------------------------------------------

13 Tyrone

14 Cavan

15 Down

-------------------------------------------

16 Westmeath

18 Offaly

19 Wexford

20 Clare

Current placings in the race for championship qualification. Down and Westmeath or Wexford will have to win Division 3 if Kildare are relegated.

I find most of the non Dublin fans who get riled up about the minority of Dublin fans who say silly stuff to annoy them , are clueless to what the majority of Dublin fans think.

I can tell you that most Dublin fans do believe Clifford might one day be as good as Con or Dermo, it’s definitely possible. 😉