Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭jacool

Because you use the word "sinister" here, are you saying that its only left gloves that get lost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭adaminho

At least you'll be able to tell your future. I ran out of sugar this morning so grabbed the artificial sweetener for my tea, didn't realise it was a super concentrated one that is 4x stronger and heaped 2 spoons in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I had a small gynae procedure this am, boy sib picked me up and we were talking about the procedure in broad terms.

He responded about how cold the metal can be and how well he knows that coldness(he is not trans nor would he know a speculum if it introduced it self to him)

Ok I had the procedure but you know my pain!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!ta

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Men who wear runners with jeans. I don't mean Stan Smiths or Sambas or Vans or anything like that, but actual running runners like you'd wear to the gym. They look ridiculous.

Post edited by Dial Hard on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭apache

In a supermarket and was having problems with my card. Que behind me. I got flustered and entered incorrect pin three times and card was locked. I had to leave my stuff behind.

Also a Garda skipping the que. The uniform dosen't give you carte blanche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,852 ✭✭✭✭blueser

I've probably mentioned this before, but I'm too lazy to check. Anyway, f**k it, it bears repeating; people who don't use their indicators. They're not to be used only at the driver's discretion. Also, putting on your hazard lights while double parking. I swear to God, a lot of people who have licences couldn't drive a nail into a packet of Kerrygold.

Just witnessed someone asking for "plain" ice cream for dessert. Waitress was like "As in vanilla?" and yer man (slightly aggressively) goes "No! Just plain white ice-cream like I always have. Ask him over there (points at her colleague), he knows what I like". I'm sure you can all guess what arrived at the table two minutes later.

How does a person get to 60-odd years of age without knowing that the ubiquitous white ice cream they've been eating their entire life is vanilla???

Also, overly-affectionate (in public) couples. There was a pair in that same place practically sitting in eachother's laps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,735 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

The older the couples are the worse it is + added annoyance if there is a big age difference ;-)

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,029 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Was it 2 girls sharing a cup/cone? 😵‍💫 🤢

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,089 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Thing I have noticed, and maybe I am profiling, but it seems to be an Irish lad with a foreign (maybe SE Asian) missus that do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭Duvet Day

I just presume they're having an affair and I know I'm right. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭New Scottman

Random abbreviations of words in sentences where there's no character limit

tmrw instead of tomorrow

v instead of very

People who write "10er" or "5er" instead of tenner or fiver. Precious nano-seconds you saved yourself there, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,305 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I have a relative who writes 'tomoz' for tomorrow, which granted is shorter but bears no resemblance to the word. Also puts in 8 for anything like 'ate', w8 (weight) etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭black & white

I get an urge to say ‘Love you long time’ when I see that but thankfully have always resisted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,283 ✭✭✭✭walshb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,900 ✭✭✭Comhrá

The packet of supermarket blueberries I bought yesterday to find the ones on the bottom have turned to jelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,167 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

I'm the same never heard of her till now and didn't know she was also a singer.

TA - Very Irish thing the over the top fawning over Irish celebrities when they are get nominated for an award. For the last few weeks every time you turn on national TV channels or look at magazines etc it's constant and it's kind of sad in a way. The more they show these people the more it shows how self absorbed they are.

There was a lot of giving out about how the Oscars is not inclusive and I think we are seeing the nominations and awards now trying to include those groups and overhyping even though they do not deserve them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Hold My Hand

My service station gives the guards free coffees. Kinda irritates me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,740 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The last minute indicators are even worse. I started to realise it is normally locals driving on roads casually - no rush, or even funnier late indicating into their driveway. I always think sure its grand, sure doesn't everyone know you live there. Jayus.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 never_ends

when you sit down to your bag of fast food and theres no ketchups.

BK always guilty of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,735 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Same happens in the UK. Its good cheap security for the service stations. Easy way to regularly get the police on site.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

i don’t mind Jesse Buckley, I saw her in that Scottish movie last year, which was a singer in Glasgow, and she was great. But the media, omg, this morning, Morning Ireland sent Audrey down to Kerry and interviewed every one of her family and anyone who had remotely knew or met her. That shite gets on my wick, celebrate the actor but I don’t give two fe.ks for what the grandmother has to say. It’s like overkill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Poochie05

There’s a bin lid banging in the wind outside but I’m not brave enough to go out and sort it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

two things . Well actually 3

1. When out walking , people walk in the middle of the path.. pick a side , preferably the same way we drive
    2. People out walking their dogs who have the dog lead stretching across the path.
    3. People who complain about men wearing runners with jeans.

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,345 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I somehow ended up on a boards which had ignore lists and stuff .too high brow for me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Id like a new lamp shade for the light in my bedroom, one I have looks like something out of colditz, it’s plain, cold and industrial looking, its there since moving in… Searching a few homeware sites..Woodies, B&Q as well as dedicated lighting specialists and the nicer more tasteful or decorative ones that I’m tending to like are vastly overpriced, to the point of ridiculousness.. €70 and above 💀 and the ugly stuff they practically giving away, but €70 and above for lampshades, awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,305 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I was just thinking yesterday - why can't you have a 3 pin socket in the ceiling, something tidy looking with a closure on it to hold a plug in place, then be able to buy lamps with a (adapted) plug on the end? Then you could have something more interesting than the plain shades (they could still be available as a basic arrangement) without having to have an electrician come and wire them in. If you could get an electrician to do as small a job as that.