Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭limo_100

so where will it bottom out surely at some point it has to bounce back the other way at some stage, hopefully the northern buyers get going properly next week, was told they where just dipping there toes this week by a mart manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

cash flow could be the issue. If farmers need money they will have to let cattle go. If not they can tell the factory to take a running jump. Time will tell which wins out.

Factories could just park the bus at 7 or 7.05 and Not move it up or down for the year and they would get all the cattle they wanted but they can’t not be at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭kk.man

They would want to be vert careful, its not like 10 or 20 years ago, there is now a huge cohort of beef farmers part time who are financially able to sustain a long beef protest. There's anger out there, Bord Bia should have rung alarm bells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭grass10

I fully agree they should have learned a lesson from the last protest their is serious anger about by both small and large feeders, the facts are we are gone behind around 40 to 50 cent behind all euro and UK markets even Polish beef is dearer than ours now , their is no surge in supply the kill is 5 to 7 thousand per week lower than last year, their is no large numbers of new lads feeding big numbers of cattle, the factory price was totally flat from early January to 2 weeks ago and if it was left that way most lads wouldn't be overly unhappy but mainly 1 processor artificially backed up supply reduced their kill days in order to drop the price and the rest of the factories had to go along with it

The power is in farmers hands by refusing to book cattle in 2 or 3 weeks ahead at an unknown price, farmers that were naive enough to do that 3 weeks ago are now selling for 30 cent less or over 100 euro less , these farmers should have refused to wait 3 weeks and have told the factory that the only thing you'll see in 3 weeks is a protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭White Clover

They should book them in but not deliver them. Just say I changed my mind.

Yes or the day they're booked in it should be only at an agreed price, I've never agreed to book any animals in without agreeing a price first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭valtra2

HHave Booked in hefiers and was told 2 weeks so I told them I go somewhere else and then it was back to Tuesday week. Have them booked in but will be going to mart with them. They cut me by 20 cent on a hefier the last time because she was 2 days over the 26 months. And he could not guarantee the price so f them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,107 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Northern buyers are not going to set the price on fire. In the UK Farmer weekly it gave R grades at 7.22/ kg . That a 7/ kg base for Continentals or 6.8/6.9 for AA/HE.

You will buy around the edges too in yearlings. We bought a couple of yearling 340ish kg HE heifers at 3.25/ kg. On hind sight that was even a bit strong the way the present market is. However you misunderstand my point to an extent. If you roll the dice 2-3 times a year you tend to have to buy one twist in the spring. Invariably these leave little enough margin over what is sold at the same time. Yes at present those AA look value but it depends on the price when selling. This is not a normal year, factory prices would normally be rising they are falling which means the lads that has sold a few weeks ago is making a profit as he replaces which is unusal in spring time.

Polish beef has been as or more expensive than ours for the last 12 months. The Polish and Dutch beef is benefiting most from the shortage as they have no high value contracts to mind. Do we give up the UK contracts and follow suit. They are the equivalent of Dairygold, when the price os strong they are better payers than anyone else whennthe tide goes out like Dairygold they suffer the most. That os the way markets work.

According tp Board Bia UK R grade steers averaged 7.33 week ending 28/2. Ky free rags have stopped so I cannot see the Irish average but at 6.8 base its a 7/kg for R grade steers andit was probably 6.9/7 per kg base that week.

https://www.bordbia.ie/farmers-growers/prices-markets/cattle-trade-prices/eu-world-cattle-prices/?country=UK

And what do you do the next time you want cattle killed. You could end up with marts as your only option

We are p!ssing against the wind with the cartel until the EU actually get involved. But they will not because it will lead to higher foid prices. Food prices are going to rise anyway and beef will rebound but its a matter of weathering what is happening at present.

TBH most lads could not be told last Autumn. I got dogs a use on this forum for pounting out the obiviius. When cattle prices are high kill the f@@kers and worry about tax and everything else afterwards. Somebody was always going to get burnt. But you are only burning if you bought too dear and got caught in the hype.

When a system is in place you sell cattle every year and replace them. Issue with sucklers is stocking and output level I can stock 2 stores to a suckler unit. After that the calf has to cover all costs fixed costs are higher and variable costs are higher. As well while sucklers are holding at present its not viable for any drystock man to buy a lot of them at present

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

7.32 uk price is ex vat so you add vat and you are almost 7.70 that's 50 cent beyond irish approx 7.20 for r grade that week and the gap is widening rapidly every week

I don't know about that Bass, the Bord Bia thing with the support of the county councils got a lot of traction. Speaking of labelling what happened to our PGI status? As far as I know Britain, Netherlands or Poland dont have it, we should be ahead of them on price. These labels and Bord Bia are of zero advantage to farmers if we can't command a premium price. So why should we bother attitude is awoke during the BB dispute.

We also have social media now which Larry M wasn't happy with.

On the back log, there were well able to hold the price of 3.60 pe kg for almost 5 months after the protest with multiple thousands of cattle backed up.

They can f"%<k off an buy their next blackrock clinic off someone else's back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭ginger22

If ye think prices are bad now, wait until all the calves staying in the country are due for killing in 2 years time and there is loads of South American beef on the EU market and NewZealand and Australian beef in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Austinbrick

HHopefully Not.Our first lot are coming next week!!

The barons didn't help the game by putting an artificial 5k cattle each week on their kill sheets since Christmas either.

Post edited by kk.man on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭tanko

Exactly, a lot of lads must have only started farming last year, they should have a look at what Irish beef barons have been paying for cattle for the last 40 years.

If they can pay €4/kg for beef they will, they passed of horse meat as beef, they’re capable of anything.

who do you know Larry murrain wasn't happy about social media? did I miss something

There was an error displaying this embed.

He said his resignation calls were fulled by social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,769 ✭✭✭High bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,107 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Abbeyfeale today AA bullocks two lots

12 months 368kgs 1510

24 months 428 kgs 1450 and they were supwr bullocks.....280 DW @6.8 1900 euro.

Was not watching the marts today. Some value in Hennessy auctions as well

Slava Ukrainii

How could a 428 kg light steer be 280 kg cold or am I missing something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Tileman

feck it. I thought the hennessy auction was next Saturday. There was something in it I was interested .
    probably better off as could do with not spending on more unnecessary stuff for the farm this year.

I am doing the sums on finishing the animal mid August at 560kgs LW or 280 DW. A guess at a base of 6.40/ kg 20c QA and 2Oc, AA bonus.

I would expect them to be better weight wise than that

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

had my eye on two Tedders but I had enough sense to stay away from it today

Was it?.. not really its was the young lad spotted them, I just put a translation of ny figures on them. I posted the comparison as an example of how young cattle can be overpriced without explaining it.

I just added a minimum assumption for weight and price on them compared to the 12 month cattle.

I presumed any decent cattle trader could see it..…presumption is one of the MIL of all.f@@kups…then again looking at lately postings ?

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Sami23

4 Rotor I presume - what they go for in the end ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

would it be a bit of high expectation for it get the full 20c on the grid? An animal like that would do well to kill r I’m thinking, or it would be more of an exception. It is only losing €22 if it grades o at 280kg. I’m only making an assumption now and you know the saying about assumptions

Ya you are right O+ average. AA nonus minimum is 15c/ kg. They were 428 so probably 450 field weight. They would probably average a lg a day so K/O woube nearer or above 300. I say thete would be a sprinkling of R's in them.

For grass cattle they were as goid as vale as I say withvthe exception of a few friesian heifers here and there.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,044 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I was in Tesco's during the week and saw a 50" SHARP LCD Flat Screen TV for €329. The day before I met a man that got €1480 for a 6 week old BB calf. So that's 4.5 times the price. It just got me thinking. All the markers of wealth, flat screen tvs, shiny new car etc ….. people still have to eat.

I thought you were getting very confused but I'm with you now

That weight of Angus stores in most marts this week are trading around 1600 to 1700 so maybe their was something amiss with these or maybe they were very fat or full