Naval Service General Discussion - Fleet, Manpower, Policy

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,029 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Where there's a will there's a way. It's not unusual to find a quiet corner to lay up big ships for extended periods at minimal cost. We just don't have the experience or the intelligence to learn from others here in Ireland.

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭10-10-20

There'll be interesting submissions on the planning portal for that proposal. 😆

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,029 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

That's the beauty, no planning required just a Maritime Usage Licence and nobody even knows how to object to those!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭sparky42

If you've time to kill, the Department have published submissions for the NMSS

https://www.gov.ie/en/department-of-defence/campaigns/consultation-on-the-proposed-national-maritime-security-strategy/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭jonnybigwallet

Fair comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭roadmaster

In support of the UK-Ireland
    2030 initiative, update Defence
    Memorandum of Understanding
    (MOU) between Ireland and UK,
    including focus on a maritime
    security element

In the timeline this to be complete for 2026 Q1 so i would say this will be updated in Cork next week with Starmer.

it’s this weekend, not next week, so assuming it’s Fota, potential for great fun on the Fota Road. Don’t think there’s been any mention of who’s making up the delegation, if Healy comes over as well then maybe.

According to the IT article on the meeting on Friday the revised MoU is expected to be discussed:

Scope for deepened cooperation is also evident in the security sphere. Both islands share serious concerns about the vulnerability of strategic assets, notably the undersea cables that carry transatlantic data traffic and have attracted sustained Russian attention. Both share a common interest in the integrity of their airspace. A revised memorandum of understanding between London and Dublin on these matters, under negotiation for the past year, is expected to feature on tomorrow’s agenda.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/editorials/2026/03/11/the-irish-times-view-on-the-ireland-uk-summit-an-ever-improving-relationship/

Starmer and Martin to announce 2 Arrowheads for the Navy tonight lol

The amount of head exploding if that happened would be funny as feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭mupper2

The new MOU will just boil down to us trying to get them to do most of the lifting and them pretending they still have the capacity to do that…and we'll both smile and nod at each other.

Something like that:

The Government has signed an updated defence agreement with Britain designed to bolster maritime co-operation in tackling activity by the Russian “shadow fleet”.

The defence memorandum of understanding us due to be announced on the fringes of the United Kingdom-Ireland summit being held in Cork on Friday.

British prime minister Keir Starmer flew to Cork on Thursday where he was met by Taoiseach Micheál Martin, after first visiting Northern Ireland where he met the First and Deputy First Ministers.

It is understood that Minister for Defence Helen McEntee and UK defence secretary John Healey signed the defence memorandum earlier this week, which is an update to a 2015 agreement between the two countries.

The new deal, however, will focus particularly on maritime, cyber defence and security, information sharing and joint procurement initiatives.

The British Embassy in Dublin said the defence agreement would “bolster maritime co-operation in the face of threats from Russian shadow fleet vessels”.

Elements of the original deal which will be continued include staff exchanges, training and education, including civil and military personnel. The deal will be laid before the Houses of the Oireachtas.

McEntee said the agreement “respects fully the differing policy positions and security arrangements of both countries”.

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2026/03/12/irish-british-defence-agreement-updated-to-boost-co-operation-tackle-russia-shadow-fleet/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,874 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Joint procurement eh?

Like super medium choppers assembled in Yeovil?

WTF NOT!

maybe because Yoevil isn’t going to deliver the 149s till 2031 at the earliest under their contract to the U.K., and we currently have no idea what “British mods” they are going to end up sticking on the design. Leaving us with the question of either trying to be the first users if we spend enough to get the line producing early or have to wait till post 2033 for the U.K. order to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,057 ✭✭✭thomil

I'm not sure I buy that. The argument that is. Not the helicopter. Although I'm also not buying that, given my bank account. Where was I again? 🤔

I'm not sure that purchasing UK-built aircraft automatically means going for the NMH configuration. From what I understand, Yeovil is basically just a final assembly line at this point, with the components coming from other Leonardo plants, so I don't see why any aircraft ordered by Ireland couldn't be built to specs that are similar to those of other military customers that are already operating the type.

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

we could go that way alright, but then how much “joint procurement” would that actually be? I mean if we didn’t use the NMH configuration it’s just us buying off Leonardo and using Yeovil as the assembly point, which is doable of course but if their timeline for assembling the NMH is pushing deliveries out to 2031 at the earliest, when the Polish line is already producing 149s, why go for a buy off Yeovil?

of course there is another area for “joint procurement”, clocks ticking for the U.K. on the Type 31, the rumoured Swedish or Danish order hasn’t come through yet, and I doubt the Treasury wants to pay for a “batch 2” buy… Babcock has spent a fair bit on the yard and we know that Babcock have been trying to get us interested before…

I’m not saying it’s a high probability event, but they need some orders for that yard in the next 2 years at most.

Keeping good relationship with both Jonny Italian and Jonny English chap?

Opting to have non-NMH helicopters assembled in the UK allows the UK line to get up and running sooner, creating/preserving jobs in Yeovil which will score political points for London. At the same time, choosing a different configuration would make it easier for Ireland in case the NMH configuration turns out to be more troublesome than expected.

I'll be honest with you, the small size of the Defence Forces means that Ireland can't afford to go with the preferred configuration of a country that still thinks it is a top military power whilst having to dive down the back of a sofa to find every spare frigate or destroyer hull it can. We need something that is in service and where someone else has worked out the kinks. If that means going for a more plain Jane configuration for the AW149, so be it.

and I don’t disagree with you on any of that, just pointing out that if we want “cheap and cheerful” now, there are already hot production lines for the 149 in EU countries that we could order off of right now if we wanted to, without any risk of being the first user out of a new assembly line.

Lads I wont make you mad and sad on a Friday with the rumour i was told in regards to the helos..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Grassy Knoll

go on, its a long weekend … we can something cold and liquid from the fridge to help …

Let me guess, the project is dead and the DoD is instead going to invest in VR headsets and Geforce Now subscriptions for the pilots to fly virtually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭10-10-20

Investing in more trawlers for the fishermen as they were more cost effective than beating the laws of physics for each engagement?

The DOD has done a deal to buy back the Alouette‘s….

But yeah go on, how far has the can been kicked and how much has the order been reduced?

There is no way they are going to pay for 8 NH90s

It's somehow weirder..OK bucket of salt time chaps. I think most here have heard the inkling of a preferred 3 type helo fleet for the AC/IAF?…the H145M and 2 other types, well the desired type being pushed is *drum roll* the NH90.

The AC likes what they've seen of it, had close looks at them from the Dutch etc. If the 3 type fleet is approved it's the 145M, H175M/AW149M and a small fleet of naval NH90's…if it's a 2 type fleet it's the 145M and the NH90 in larger numbers..

Please don't shout at me.

very on brand for the AC, I mean it’s not like we haven’t screwed ourselves before… If it was just NH90s I wonder will we go all out and go with the new variant the French are putting into service, just to make sure we have headaches.

As I’ve said before, some of the users seem to have managed their fleets better than others, is that down to what the spec Ed or the support packages?

I’m not a fan of the 3 fleet option tbh, a few orphan “Navy” helicopters is always going to be more vulnerable to issues from the AC compared to a widespread 2 fleet option.

Now the question is, if we are actually looking at maritime Helios, has anyone pointed out that we might need a ship to support them as well?

And I was only joking about getting some NH90s to go with our FDI frigates….