Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Stupid google, stupid gmail and stupid google calendar. I already missed a flight years ago because I trusted the "oh, ever so helpful google calendar prompt" at the top of the email from the airline that was showing the wrong flight time (it was using the wrong time-zone), so I disabled the prompts back then. Now they're back with a vengeance. I tried to kill off the connection between gmail and the stupid calendar but it won't do it (it also sent me an email with the list of all my flights going back yeeeaaars), I've disabled "google smart features" but the fecking prompt to add the event to my calendar (with its taunting message "is this correct?" with the thumbs up/thumbs down icons which makes the veins on my temples throb) is still there. So, just to be petty, I reported that email to google itself for phishing.

I'm talking about this kind of crap:

image.png image.png

Just go away and die roaring, google. You and all the stupid AI thing.

Folks, if someone knows how to remove those half page prompts that appear above the emails, please tell me (by PM is ok), they're driving me insane.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Princess, your Mam would make me want to pull my own hair out and I don't even know the woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Deregos.

My daughters straight dark hair grew back curly with a blonde tiger stripe pattern of highlights due to the chemo. It was the steroids she was on att that made it feel like we were living with the possessed girl from The Exorcist. She's all grand now though, thank God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I've enough aches and pains without that carry on 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I'm only at the *pixie" stage but I can feel the wave , whether it develops into a curl or not, only time will tell.

I actually like the pixie style, not something I'd be brave enough to request but here we are. 😂

Glad your daughter is doing well 😊

Thanks Princess Calla, glad you're doing well too 😘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 304 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

My aunt had straight black hair, it grew back curly and white! She liked the curls but not the white, so she dyed it red. Looks great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Hold My Hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Couples who have "Baby Showers" and post it all over social media - also the picture from behind of the "hot daddy walk" walking out of the the hospital carrying the baby in the car seat - absolute attention seeking of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭Bredabe

There is at least one skip sized recycle machine in south co Dublin that takes a black bag amount of bottles and cans, at a time. I cant understand why there isn't at least one in every town in the country as Ime its mostly sports clubs and charities who are bringing that level of recycling to the machines.

Post edited by Bredabe on

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Asked them a question on behalf of a client who is dyslexic and dyspraxic which in this case means if they go into the office as demanded, they are likely to remember nothing they are told and/or to pass or freak out with the bright lights/noise/ heat.

But was rudely informed thats how it is and(tone implies) I/they can FO if anyone has an issue with it. ta they wanted MY prsi no before they would respond to me at all, even tho I told them its part of my job!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

People that overuse their hand gestures while talking. There was a young man on a current affairs programme recently, discussing social media . You wouldn't see as much in the sign language on news for the deaf.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ErnieNotBert

People who open a bag of crisps flat on a bar table to share. That really shouldn't annoy me. But it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,735 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

We had a farming neighbor that couldn't talk without waving his hands. Our old German Shepard Wolf Cross used to sit watching him when he was talking to me and jump and grab a hand if it came close to him. Still didn't stop the guy waving his hands around. He just waved them a lot higher up in the air.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Jcmaxx

That the doctors here keep asking me about my very slight cough . Because they're used to being here they don't seem to realise just how dry the air is in here . I can't even blow my nose it's so dry . Waiting on a surgical team to check what is basically a collapsed lung . If they are happy I’ll get evicted from here . 🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Bought chews for my dogs while I was oot & aboot earlier. One of them has lost hers already and the other has buried his out the back garden, but can't relax now because every time a magpie comes near the place, he thinks they're after it and has to a) go out and bark at them, and b) move it. He's dug it up and reburied it about four times already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Jcmaxx

The thorasic ? surgeons have stopped my release . I honestly think they doing it to look busy

I was flicking through channels VM I think it was. Ellen Keane former Paralympian swimmer introduced as a "sports expert" by Brian Dowling - she spoke very loosely about the rugby match v Wales and read all her information - historic score v England away etc off a cue card. It was fairly obvious that she doesn't know much about rugby at all.

The bit that annoys me the person who opens the crisps has a big delighted head on them for their generosity….then I feel guilty saying "sorry I don't like salt and vinegar" etc it silently breaks their heart.

The alternative is pretend I like salt and vinegar just to be sociable. Then it silently breaks my heart.

That whole crisp sharing and crisp flavours is a social etiquette minefield really. Then there is the question did the people who are sharing the crisps bother washing their hands after sharing some crisps. Or worse - did I wash my hands?

It is all left unsaid but there are no doubt people are thinking it. I know I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

The Irish Independent say they can’t have match reports on Friday night league of Ireland games due to printing deadlines but manage to have full coverage of the rugby match last night, kick off 8.10

Getting random nosebleeds. Have a doctor's appointment booked now. I'd kept putting off going in the hope that they'd just stop by themselves. And even though i don't use it, I'll admit another reason was being a bit paranoid that the doctor might think I'm some sort of coke fiend. Stupid eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 never_ends

the price of snack bar 6 packs.

not only is it a rip off, its also annoying.

snack bars are basically the self-over-valuing obese woman on jerry springer.

ummm hmmm im worth €5 an i know it. y'all just jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Went to the pub last night to watch the rugby. A pub with rugby bunting all over the place, deals on Guinness and a meal on match days, etc etc. Plenty to make us believe that an Ireland rugby match would be given priority on the 5 screens in the place. NOPE! 2 indoor screens showed the Liverpool vs wolves match, 1 indoor (partly blocked by high stools with people sitting on them) only showing the rugby, the other upstairs in the dining room where people were dining quietly. The other one showing the rubgy is in the smoking area - in Ireland - in March. We walked back home and watched it there instead. Waste of time!

People putting too much water in the kettle. You should know the appropriate amount of water per person(s) for a cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’ll never understand people who find it impossible to manage their time and who routinely end up late for stuff or rushing like an eejit to try and be on time…Causing people around them to be stressed, rushed and anxious..

It’s simple , if it takes you normally 30 minutes to make a journey, leave 40 minutes ahead of the appointment time, so if traffic is slightly heavier, if there is a Garda checkpoint, if crap weather slows progress etc you will likely still make it and not be late or not be significantly late… common sense, come on !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭wildwillow

It actually has nothing to do with timekeeping. It's that they respect no one and think the world will wait for them. It can be deliberate to show you your 'place'. I will forgive the odd lateness but find it's always the same people and they are always late.

I'd rather be early always, but I have left when a regular latecomer has tried my patience that bit too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭mykrodot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,116 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I hate the gender reveal parties. I just find them very tacky with everybody saying "I'm the Uncle & I think it's a girl". Then pop something and think there very original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

• the absolute state of my bedroom. It’s not dirty, just a clusterfück of clutter and mess, basically I have too much stuff.. twice earlier I contemplated to tackle it but tiredness / lethargy got the better of me…
    • Also, saw a pair of RayBans I like, €162 down to €130… how can they be reduced if the actual style hasn’t been released or gone on sale yet,.. scammy marketing, we’re never €162.