Greatest League in the World 2026 [LOI Thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Did you hear the stones being thrown into the stand by Drogs fans? WTF is wrong with some people.

I was very worried first half as we looked out of ideas and not sure if it was formation but we lacked any urgency. Second half much better although we seem to be getting hammered with injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,156 ✭✭✭✭CSF

I don’t think we’re a well drilled unit by any means but we got goals at important times and hopefully we can do that a bit more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,066 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Always great to beat Sligo. Was surprised just how bad they were, especially first half, they were genuinely terrible.

We were solid. Created a load of chances but just didn't take them, another night we may have paid for it but Sligo barely troubled Watts all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,069 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

We were truly awful 1st half, Waterford looked decent.

But some 2nd half, once we actually made substitutions. Michael Duffy carrying this team for a 2nd year it appears.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,408 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

As mentioned we were excellent again for 90 mins. But fúck me, don't put me through that again.

Colm Whelan is some footballer. Ross Tierney was unbelievable. Pat Hickey is brilliant.

But my good. You'd swear we drew the way people were just shook at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,818 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Never going to be more obvious than tonight. Lightweights all over the pitch and lads dropping like flies due to injury.

Think we've tested the opposition keeper 5 times in 4 matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭PGE1970

Every year you do this. Then go on a league winning run from July to October!

Apart from next weekend, when regettably we can't be there, I wish and hope you'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

In fairness it was probably more shock than anything. It was weird. We bossed them. Full value for the 3-0 lead. But wtf happened in injury time?

Watched the match back in pub afterwards. That first goal was magnificent. Goal of the season contender. Was in Des Kelly for it so didn't appreciate just how good it was.

I saw a swagger in Bohs that I haven't seen in a long time. Todd and Hickey are amazing signings. Whelan and Parsons on fire. I haven't been this positive about a Bohs team in years.

A fantastic start to the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭ratracer

Yeah, not much physicality about ye tonight alright. At the start of the second half, when he came on, I thought Hakiki was doing well on the ball until he came off again injured. McElroy is a good young player, and I was thankful that Essua never really got into the game at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,818 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

McElroy unfortunately lacks the instincts you need to play CB and has cost us many goals. Almost did it tonight in the second half when Esua put in a tackle to block a shot from Keohane and McElroy tried to take a touch in the box instead of clearing it which gave the ball straight back to Keohane who squared it to a teammate (Walsh I think), but he fired over the bar. Not going to completely write a 21yo off but if he wants a career in football he can't be making simple mistakes as often as he does.

Going to be an interesting AGM if it continues like this. The atmosphere around the place is very different compared to 12 months ago when we were in a similar spot. A lot less sympathy and understanding for those running the club after they authorised selling our best player a week before the season started with no replacement signed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭Charliebull

lacks the pace also

We were poor tonight again, so it’s not a blip, badly missing a couple no nonsense experienced players ,

this passing across the back is just frustrating, inviting pressure we can’t handle

Galway played simple long balls and it worked very well for them,

A lot frustrated fans tonight, lose next weekend and it’s going to get nasty ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,066 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Ye pumped a lot of aimless long balls at Traore for the first half hour and he didn't get a sniff out of any of them. Facchineri won every challenge with him in that time. Odd to see ye play like that. Ye completely bypassed midfield first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭BlazingSaddler

What a 45 minutes that second half was. I thought Rovers controlled the first half , Bohs first was an incredible counter attacking move. Brennan for Rovers looks a quality player and I was convinced he was going to damage us further into the game. I fully expected us to get pushed further and further back in the second half but wow, what an incredible 45 minutes. Agree, Todd and Hickey are so strong, Tierney was fantastic, Devoy pulling the strings, Parsons and Whelan just excellent. Fully deserved to be 3.0 up. My goodness though what a lapse in concentration in injury time. I felt Kacper who had been brilliant all night could have done better for both goals. All this without DJT, Mullen and Power. Anybody know where they all were?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭RamonD3

Thought Rovers were well on top up until the 1st goal, completely disintegrated after. That slide rule pass from Devoy was a thing of beauty. It's criminal that he won't get a look in for Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭PGE1970

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Really enjoyed that game last night as a casual loi fan . Standard top class especially likes of Tierney and Devoy. Whelan is such a clever intelligent footballer. Him staying fit would be a game changer for bohs.

Anyone noticing Derry playing all games at home so far. Relaying the pitch i heard. How mad is it that Duffy never got an international cap while mcclean has 100!! Chalk and cheese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,458 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Duffy didnt play in the Premier league or championship for years like McClean did.

I like Duffy but I remember him playing V Arsenal and he looked very ordinary, its one thing playing well in the LOI but that doesnt cut it for International football, Pat Hoban was a great striker in LOI, he scored 30 goals one season but you wouldnt be calling him up to play for Ireland.

We were due to have 3 home games out of 4, 2nd game was meant to be away to Dundalk but they asked FAI to switch it to away to us instead of at Oriel as the pitch wasn't ready in time.

It'll all balance out of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭trashcan

Good result for Pats last night, which may alleviate some of the doom and gloom talk of recent weeks. Good to see Aidan Keena back on the pitch and back amongst the goals. Need to carry it on v Galway on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Wasn't meant as a dig.

He's just not a player that's exactly a shrinking violet about publicly and vocally standing his ground.

And there was a big element of him coming back to 'save' the club.

Plus it will be very hard for any manager to bite the bullet when somebody of JMC's stature isn't working out. Although presume Derry supporters can clearly see that a player isn't working out in a particular position.

If Sobowale had jumped a few inches higher and cut off Devoy's cross, it would have ended 2-2.

Not saying Bohs weren't the best team on the night obviously because they were. They were excellent and had Rovers weak spots down to a tee.

The FAI really need to look into the club management of that fixture in Dalymount for the away team though. It's going to come to a head sooner or later.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,408 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

He didn't though did he?

I'm not sure how the FAI stepping in to manage Rovers will improve their record at Dalymount?

Fair point. No complaints about the result. Bohemians really impressed.

You seem in the know about the club. And you know well what I'm talking about and it's going to come to a head sooner or later.

Your club are supposedly running a regulated professional match with a duty of care to the away team and staff - not your usual street rally of trendy scruffs.

The club is not responsible for what happens on the streets, you might want to direct your ire to Mountjoy Garda station.

You know well that's not what I'm talking about. I didn't say fans, I said players and staff.

Or maybe you don't know and I'm overestimating how much you know.

Anyway, we move on.

Would you not just say what you’re talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I'm presuming he is talking about the narrow laneway the players and staff have to walk out to leave Dalymount Park, a video is online of them being abused on their way out of the stadium - not a problem in itself. But the Bohs fans are literally within touching distance all while consuming alcohol, one of the Bohs fans does actually put his hand on one of the Rovers squad. There is no barrier or security or anything to separate them. It's a recipe for disaster which could turn into chaos very easily.

Yeah, sounds like something that could use better policing alright.

It wasn't a once-off either.

The team bus is forced to park away from the stadium, making it worse.

All accidental, presumably.

There seems to be an intermittent issue with the away dressing room water too.

Very unfortunate.

Hopefully it will be resolved when Bohs get their own 'soulless' stadium from the local authority.

There are A LOT of Derry fans who know that JMcC is weakening the team at present. He hasnt got the legs or indeed brains to play CM. It was a major surprise to actually see him get subbed the other night. The fact that we made such a comeback when he was on the bench will hopefully make the manager start to make hard calls. The only way I see Jjames fitting into this team is if the three of him, Duffy and Fleming all play on the left, and they rotate games or substitutions. Its a long season, Duffy could be doing with the off rest, or perhaps James might work as an impact sub?