Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭deezell

Entirely understandable. There's enough negativity in the world. A long time ago, I was barely seventeen when I sat in a large lecture theatre on my very first day in college, for our freshers address by the Head of Engineering, his name was Bart O'Conner. His first sentence was, "Half of you here will not make it to graduation". Statistically true, but stunningly silencing for the maybe 120 or so kids there. Into that silence I stood up, theatrically shouldered my satchel, and said loudly, "I might as well go home now, so". The place erupted, merriment was restored, yer man was flustered and not very pleased. I had to deal with that type on and off my whole life. Balloon bursters. Next time you see that ad, shout back, tell him you'll outlive him, for spite!

I made it through with the 50% btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Vittu

"A pint of Coors please", I wish an avalanche would take them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Seat I think. Load of skateboarders and a horrible version of 'Forever Young' 🤮

I go for the mute button faster than lightning.

Do ads aimed at youth not alienate potential older customers? Seats are decent cars, a kind of stylish Mediterranean VW, less teutonic. Why shouldn't a senior, who struggles to walk, nevemind skateboard, not be a candidate for this brand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Mywifetoldme

Willowwarm ad on the radio, these crisp winter mornings, where have they been the last few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Are those endlessly awful Outsurance ads ever going to end? They seem to be on almost every ad break.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

McDonald's advertising Friends toys

What year is this!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,324 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

reviving it on VM1 weeknights they are

These toys in Maccy dees they aren't for happy meals are they? because I would not say Friends is a suitable kids programme in places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭TerrieBootson

Has anyone mentioned the FISHHHHH ad yet? Holy crap, what a pile

"But it's fiishhhh"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,630 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

And they don't look like any of the mind numbingly boring characters...

Annoying Specsavers ad where people are talking about their optician but we think they are talking about their lover. Oh how hilarious...NOT!

'I think he's going to pop the question' that means one thing and one thing only: he is going to propose. How on earth would you use that phrase about your optician.

Bonus annoyance points for the shouty camogie coach 'Cam an girls, let's GOOOO!'

The Avonmore Ad got a revamp.

Mommy in a power suit, ✔️

Scruffy Dad with hippy hair beard and glasses ✔️

Hyundai Tucson ✔️

No child in a 🌈 jumper sadly.

Fkn stupid Cupra car ad with the levitating people. " Everyone is connected to their soul mate with an invisible red thread". Wtf? Psychobabble nonsense tosh. Anyway, if the thread is invisible, it can't be red, or any colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭littlevillage

'Bord Bia' with an Irish flag on it

adverts

Food you can trust. (from deforested land with hormone filled beef from Brazil)

Stupid ad where the woman comes back from the future to convince herself to buy some product or service (ad is so annoying I can't even remember what it is for) that will basically turn her into Amanda from Motherland.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭blackvalley

Think that the “ deep river rock “ bowling add is very funny

It was until they cut out the granda's ghost and ruined the whole context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,418 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Myyy Jacult myyya Jacult myyyya Jacult

omg I have to mute her everytime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

I probably shouldn't post this here because I actually really like the bowling ad for Deep River Rock(even though now they've shortened it and cut out his granddad).

But what I hate is that fella who says "good llllluck", he seems like a right creep

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

It'll be Family Ties next or Little House On The Prairie

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

Almost as frequently as any of the ads with Roy Keane in it.

I think they took inspiration from Big Ern McCracken for the creepy opponent.

Love the creep, he's like something out of a Roddy Doyle book. The stepladder stunt is well done too, unlike another current ad where a fat African guy going too fast on a cross trainer tries to make it look like he was ejected from the machine, when it's bleeding obvious he just jumps off it himself. Really poor stunt coordination, so obviously fake. I can't remember the ad product, but it finishes with a guy AI kicking a plastic bottle into a wheely bin, said bottle defies the laws of physics and closes the lid on the way into the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭Radio5

The fish family Bank ad which seems to be resurrected every couple of months.

You could make a lot of money doing that🤮🤮

The parents who don't age a day over a period of what, 30 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭JVince

The Done Deal advert is simply painful.

It's on TV and radio and comes across as if two very drunk mid aged women came up with the idea in a pub at 2am.

It might have been funny with a lot of alcohol on them, but it is excruciating bad at all other times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭Killinator

Redclick ad.

Brendan: "I wonder what kind of car she's going to buy"

Supervisor "focus Brendan!!!"

What the hell, like, the type of car someone is going to buy is a pretty f**king substantial part of the insurance quote and would be probably the first thing most insurance companies would want to know!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Isthisthingon?

Was thinking the precisely same thing…… If the roles were reversed he'd be accused of being a mysognist