Conor McGregor Megathread *Mod Warning in OP Updated 20th April*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Probably something to do with a mutual disliking of immigrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,664 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod - other posters aren't the topic so please lay off on the personal and abusive comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Lauras Law

RTE has decided to feature The High Kings in its Christmas in Kilmainham special. What some people may not realise is that the band is managed by Conor McGregor’s label. As a result, Ireland’s public service broadcaster is using licence fee payers’ money to financially benefit a business owned by McGregor.

To be clear, I despise McGregor, and I have never been subtle about that in the past. This is not an abstract issue for me. I was assaulted in my early 20s, and the trauma stayed with me for years. But what I experienced was nothing compared to the horrific attack suffered by Nikita Hand.

I’m saying this because I feel a responsibility to call out any support for McGregor’s business interests when I see it. The High Kings signed to McGregor’s label after he was found civilly liable for rape. There is no plausible claim of ignorance or historical distance. The band knew exactly who they were aligning themselves with.

This is about accountability and ethical judgment. RTE is not a private broadcaster making a commercial decision. It is a publicly funded organisation with obligations to the people who pay for it. Our public service broadcaster choosing to profit his business interests is an insult to Nikita Hand, and to all survivors of violence across Ireland.

I've emailed RTE to call them out directly. I know this is the last weekend before Christmas and people are busy, but if anyone agrees with me on this, I would strongly encourage you to email RTE as well. Public pressure matters!

I genuinely want to understand how RTE justified this decision.

This is the email I sent to complaints@rte.ie if anyone wants to use it.

Subject: Why are RTE promoting Conor McGregor's business interests?

Email:
    To RTE Complaints,

Why has RTE decided to use licence fee payers’ money to financially benefit Conor McGregor by featuring The High Kings, a band managed by his label, in the Christmas in Kilmainham special? A public service broadcaster choosing to profit McGregor’s business interests is an insult to his victim and to survivors of violence across Ireland.

The High Kings signed to McGregor’s label after he was found civilly liable for rape. There is no plausible claim of ignorance or historical distance. The band knew exactly who they were aligning themselves with.

After McGregor was found civilly liable for rape, businesses across Ireland made a conscious decision to refuse to work with any of his businesses. RTE appears to have chosen a different standard.

I would like a clear explanation of how this decision was justified, and what consideration was given to RTE’s public service responsibilities when approving the inclusion of The High Kings in the Christmas in Kilmainham special.

Post edited by Lauras Law on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,443 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

**** Conor McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,974 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Done. I just sent the same email as you shared. Thanks for highlighting this, and I hope plenty of people contact RTE about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Its on r/ireland today so will probably trigger alot more emails, hopefully RTE might be about to make a sharp uturn on this idiotic decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,259 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

That's a briliant post Laura. Well done for sending that e mail. It's awful with what you had to go through with that assault. I sent on a e mail myself. Hope you feel ok after the trauma you went through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭juno10353

Laura, thank you for drawing attention. I have sent email

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

The civilly liable rapist, assaulter of old men and serial tapper outer now trying to claim he's some sort of deity on X. Himself and Russell Brand probably in talks to set up a partnership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

NIKITA HAND HAS won a High Court judgment against her former neighbours, who were due to give evidence as part of a civil appeal by Conor McGregor.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Hopefully, they're taken to the cleaners!

Siún Leonowicz BL, on behalf of Hand said Hand was seeking costs in relation to an “abuse of the process of the court”.

She presented the court with affidavits showing that both O’Reilly and Cummins had both been personally served with legal papers notifying them of Hand’s proceedings against them on 1 and 5 August 2025, respectively.

In September last year, both received a 28-day warning letter notifying them that motions for judgement in default of appearance would be sought if they failed to respond.

Ms Justice Egan asked: “You’ve heard nothing from either defendants?”

“No, judge,” Leonowicz responded.

Ms Justice Egan said she was satisfied that both defendants had been served accordingly.

She granted the judgements in default of appearance and awarded the costs of the application to Hand. She also said that damages in respect of the matter would be assessed by a judge sitting alone.

Ms Justice Egan put a stay on the order for four weeks.

Nikita Hand wins case against ex-neighbours over claims lodged as part of Conor McGregor appeal

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Excellent. Now we just need those neighbours to admit they were being paid by McGregor and it's "conspiracy to pervert the course of justice" time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

So they didnt even show up? Ohh they are fvcked and probably so is McGregor once damages are awarded and they start spilling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,100 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Hoping full weight the justice system hits those two!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,382 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Id guess it was an inlaw dealing with witnesses 😀

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Might McG's legal team find themselves in trouble for not doing proper due diligence on the pair?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Well done - did the programme actually air in the end do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/ufc/conor-mcgregor-artem-lobov-whiskey-37021779

"Artem Lobov sued McGregor, claiming he failed to honour a 2017 oral commitment agreeing to Lobov’s ownership of a 5 per cent share in the Proper No. Twelve Irish whiskey brand.

Russia-born Lobov asserted he was involved in the creation of the whiskey brand. McGregor denied that there was an agreement."

Would think Lobov would have a few mates in Russia, McGregor would not wish to meet, better to pay up now + he doesn't do well in Court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Ariel Helwani and Jimmy Fallon doing their level best to rehab this rat's image this week.

But sure men who are accused of rape have their lives ruined, ay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭Doc07

Fallon has been a gobshite for ages, he kissed Trumps ass on the show previously also, ruffling his hair and basically ‘comedy washing ‘ Trump.
    Thankfully there are still the likes of Jimmy Kimmel , by now means perfect and unfortunately not actually that funny , but atleast have far more decency than Fallon and his producers/employers.
    Then again Mike Tyson, actually jailed for rape, became a media /Hollywood darling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭JM2300

He deserves contempt for the cheating, drugs and the rest of the thuggery he gets himself involved in. He does not deserve contempt for being innocent of rape. The evidence quite clearly supports his account of events and negates Nikita's account of events.

Lol, the evidence quite clearly supports him.

Why did a jury find him liable, then?

Why did the Court of Appeal not overturn it?

Why did the Supreme Court refuse to even hear it?

The answer to all of those is - because he did it.

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Because rape cases are notoriously difficult to prove.

Why would Nikita Hand take on a case where her name would be plastered all over the media and social media, and risk a massive pile on from the likes of your good self if she lost?

Because he did it - and the jury believed her and not him regardless of what your revision of events says about the evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

If the evidence clearly supported his version of events he wouldn't have been ordered to pay his victim hundreds of thousands after a jury heard all said evidence. He's a vile rapist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

And a jury very much so disagrees with you on this. The fact he put forward false witnesses to smear the victim says plenty too. You keep saying "innocent of rape", when was he found innocent? Think we all missed that one. The jury found McGregor to be liable in a civil court based on the evidence.

Why would Sil Fox's accuser do what she did? People make false accusations sometimes.

I would say what happened is she was genuinely traumatised by events. She was traumatised after going on a drug and alcohol fuelled bender and cheating on her partner while he was minding their child.

If Conorinflicted the severe injuries on her, her colleague would have likely noticed when she came out of the bedroom. Similarly she likely wouldn't have been dancing around, flirting and groping Conor and his friend shortly after having severe injuries inflicted on her. Similarly she likely wouldn't have checked back into the hotel with Conor's friend

I would surmise that Conor made her feel used and discarded like a piece of trash. All of this combined led her to seek to get back at him. She might habe even convinced herself that it was rape to assuage the cogotive dissonace.

That's what I think happened, nobody knows for sure. He may have done it, but taking all evidence into account I'd say he probably didn't.