Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Are people genomically testing their beef breed calves out of the dairy cows?

Or am I the only eejit doing so?

I have the genomic tags now for all calves but if I only send in samples for the dairy bred calves, will the blue cards come back quicker for the other calves when registering? The lab is seemingly taking a direct debit for samples received too. So what's the point if the dept will issue blue cards without the sample going in? The question is will they though now?

I sent in samples Monday last week for testing. Still no blue cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Speaking of shares, are people going to partake in the tirlan share trade next month? Not sure if any more spin offs are coming or if it's worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭sandman30

If you're in the genomic scheme and you don't send in a genomic sample, the calf won't be registered.

Last year when the genomic testing was delayed, they issued the blue after a certain amount of days of receiving the samples wether the result was ready or not. Don't know if they're doing that this year.

The trouble is @sandman30 I sent in the samples in one large go. The department now were seemingly waiting for every last sample to be tested before letting off all the blue cards back to me. Only for the postage I may have been wiser breaking up the genomic samples into smaller groups. I could see the calves with the tests done on the Herdplus app and then 3 calves with samples received but waiting. They are all tested now on the app but no cards still. It's marketed to the naive as a farmer benefit. But then when you are in it, it appears to be a time wasting exercise intended to make you keep calves over the six weeks. It appears very work to rule against the farmer. There's lots of them department work to rule annoyance techniques being brought in against the dairy farmer designed to fustrate the farmer into giving up farming imo these past few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,987 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I tag and post samples 2 or 3 times a week, blue cards are issued before genomic results actually come out. Last week i got 3 envelopes with blue cards on 2 different days. Once the blue card is issued I apply for a movement- selling out of yard- and post cards when they arrive. You can check on the app when card has been issued. This is our 3rd year in the scheme. Edited to say from birth to actually getting card is running at around 3 weeks atm. It's quicker in the autumn as not as many being tested

It's a learning curve for me. Not positive.

Checking the app there now. Sent to DAFM on the 16th Feb. No blue card issued yet.

These were as I posted before sent in Monday last week.

It's a balls when you need the card for a mart sale. I think I'd rather be out of it now if this is the way going forward. I think they are being too clever in themselves.

If there's only one lab in the country testing and they are snowed under with samples, then there should be more labs.

It's a shitshow, and if you ring icbf the lad the other end is as useful as a chocolate teapot so people dont bother ringing anymore. We're used to it now. An post wouldn't be great either so they're not helping things either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Freejin

In fairness the samples are arriving in lab next day here, it's the blue cards that seem to be the delay being delivered or sent out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭older by the day

A neighbours cow was down on the slats a few days ago. One leg is gone away out to the side, out like a wing rather than a leg. The injury is below the hip,

We pulled her out and put her on straw, but it's hard to stop her shifting, and when she tries to rise, the leg goes wide again.

Did anyone ever see one get better

Something like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,855 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

she needed shackles on her the day it happened.
    I personally only give down cows a day here. They’re very unlikely to get up after that because the muscles get cramped and she hasn’t the energy to keep trying plus they take up alot of your time and it’s usually in the middle of calving when you’re busy enough already.

Has she had pain killers? A leg out like that isn't good tbh

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

1 in a million.if she's a heifer and you have plenty time she MIGHT come right but the minute I see that nowadays I ring pj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

shackles on day 1 and load her with pain relief and antiinflamatries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,384 ✭✭✭cosatron

put her out on grass and put shackles on. It doesn't end well with the splits, but you never know and at least give her a chance. we had one that hurt her back and just about got her out of the shed into a paddock she was out there for 2 weeks and calved and we looked out one morning and she was up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭visatorro

Joined the TB gravy train today

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Sorry to hear that. Seems to be little hope of keeping it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭green daries

20260222_115128.jpg

A turning worm? 13 degrees Celsius. Cows shut out.

Regrowth from grazing a few days ago.

20260222_120419.jpg

@Say my name did you get your blue cards yet

Waiting on two still out of a batch of twelve.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I’ve them out every day at the moment. When the weather drys up or heats up a small bit at all, we benefit quicker here in the south east. Not sure the week ahead is looking great thou

I don't even look at the forecasts anymore. Well vaguely. If it's a good day and it's judged suitable, they are out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭ftm2023

That’s some land you have.

We were doing a bit of maintenance work this week with a digger. The man that had the digger is same contractor that spreads our slurry.

The tractor that is on the slurry cord is on tracks, it would travel any sort of wet land, no matter what.

He told us after driving across one of the fields in the digger this week that under no circumstances could he try travel the land here now even with the tractor on tracks. He said he’d be swallowed.

The cows will probably end up going out in April.

And before any of you ask — the farm has been drained, redrained and drained some more 😂😂

Boggles my mind how good some people’s land is in comparison that ye can have cows out now 😂😂

That bit is the very best I have. It got fertiliser recently. In a few days time when that is grazed the rest won't be as pretty.

There's a slope on that ground and south facing I think makes it and there's no water coming in from neighbouring land.

Locally though land would be the same as that on other farms. There's a farm a half mile away and it'd be only a few weeks the farmer would have cows in for in the winter not grazing. There's just the right slope and kind of hill on his farm. We don't really burn up in summer or get it too savage that we can't get grazing. But you'd still need your roadways and paddocks obviously. There's a small number of cows there anyway so they'd do feck all damage. Not like 300 cows going through a gapway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Austinbrick

We've a lovely soft field called The Black Meadow!! Maybe we should get rid of the generational trauma and rename it The Wet Field.