Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I dont think anyone using mats leaves the cow or calf there too long. It's a hygienic place to calf a cow, let the cow lick the calf and then move to a pen with a lamp. Wash down mat and ready for next arrival. Imagine it eould be very handy in big herds caving 20 or more a day, hard to keep the straw fresh with that through put.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,855 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

group calling pen is the only way.
    Close up cows on the cubicles and twice a day pull anything on the point of calving out onto the straw. That’s the system here and it works fine. Calf only left with the cow an hour at most bar they calve during the night when we’re not about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

i wouldnt be too worried about the calf tbh.. cows calve on a good straw bed here and my main concern is the cow can get up and the surface is not slippery… calf will be fine… you know cows have been having calves for thousands of years.. unlikely they calved down on a deep bed of straw back then.. i would have no problem calving them on concrete even if i thought the cow wouldnt get hurt having the calf or getting up after having the calf…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Yes but they had grip outside under all conditions, they've no choice now in a 15 square foot slab of concrete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

yes the cow had grip.. i was more replying to the poster who mentioned cow having a calf on a cold frosty night…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭ftm2023

IMG_2150.jpeg

Another great set of results by Kerry Group. Profits down, another €300m share buyback as the last 4 have worked out so well for them, volume growth in Europe declining. Here in Listowel there’s a few dozen of us in a WhatsApp group, I seem to have lost a €100 bet since I can’t see anywhere that they used the word “headwinds” in their statement. I told my mates I’ll go double or nothing with them that Scanlon will get paid €7m+ for another year of “great success” as Borat would say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭ginger22

The wise lads cashed out when they were 120 Euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭tanko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭straight

Are we getting a 13th payment this year? I didn't think so but I've been told its coming in April.

Well I suppose they will want lads to sign contracts so they will try the bribery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭davidk1394

They are only on the mats if the calf has to be pulled. Other than that they are on straw in a group.

Did any of ye sell dairy heifer calves yet ? I nearly have the amount I need and bred a lot of cows to dairy so I'm hoping I'll have a good few to sell in the middle of March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Could you hold onto to them, I'd say dairy stock will make mad money when milk price recovers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Isn't it their job to drive consumer demand? Not blame it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭straight

So where does the cow recover / clean? Balls of a system. Watching cows 24/7. Snatching them mid calving, jacking/pulling. Rushing them back out. It's all extra effort and only upsetting the cows that actually want to just calve alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,987 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Do ye let the cow even lick the calf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Ah no, if you do it right you'll be able to keep the cow standing and position the wheel barrow under her to catch the calf as it drops, it's best if you have a twin wheel barrow so it doesn't topple over as the calf lands in it.

That way you can quickly get the calf out of the way without wasting time and get ready for the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

So what youll have someone just waiting for a cow to calve then put in a shef with mats then take away calf put under red lamp never herd such rubbish like youll need 24 hr non stop supervision i mean non stop r lads looseing the run of themselves warehouses been built to rear a few calves is another fad auto feeders and mechanical ventilation tube still get pnuemonia

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Second year calving here and small numbers: 28 heifers last year and 30 second-calvers this year.

I walk thru the cubicles every evening and just ask myself “Will she calf tonight?” when looking at anyone with a full dug, especially if she’s after springing up since yesterday. There might be none or they might be 2-3. They just go out into the straw bed then. When they calf, I leave them with the calf for 12-24 hours, depending on space and whatever else is going on.

I’ve got caught 3 times this year - 3 cows calved in the cubicles. The first was the first cow to calf, in early Jan, and the calf was dead. Two others were grand and I moved them onto the straw bed as soon as I saw them.

I guess we all have our own way and numbers, facilities, and labour will dictate the rest.

More wind and rain warnings on the way for tonight and tomorrow - mind yourselves and your animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Surely the cow deserves the right to lick her calf after all her hard work. I hate to see lads pulling the calf away the minute they’re born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭alps

Licking the calf helps with uterine involution, helping to expel remaining fluids and membranes.

Also benefits the calf...win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Old timers used put salt on the calf to encourage the cow to keep licking it. Calves that aren't licked by the cow take a long time to look as clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,884 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Sure if you extrapolate that argument surely the cow deserves the right to be kept with her calf for a couple of days, or a week, or a month, or until the calf is weaned?

Find it much less stressful for cow and calf to separate them immediately, no bond and theyre not calling like mad for the following few days

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

PPut In extra calving pens this year and calves left with the cow for at least 24 hrs.we use straw for calving but only wood chip for calves.i find it super for getting the pee out of the house but you have to be very vigilant for draughts as it doesn't have the nest factor

Just leave the calf long enough for the mother to lick it. Any longer and it can be tricky to get some calves to suck. Using EM sprayed on the bedding in the calf pens and the calving pens. Super job. Bedding lasts twice as long and no ammonia smell. Also adding to the milk in the Power ad-lib feeder and powder in the JFC. Stops the milk going off in the feeder. Haven't had to wash it this year. Calves all healthy so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Do you dilute the em spray and where do you purchase it. Sounds interesting. I might give it a try.

Comes ready made from Agriton UK in a 1000 litre IBC.

They’re after hitting €71.20 today. The lowest they’ve been since February 2017. When they go below €70, that’ll trigger a big sell off by the major investment funds that own almost half of Kerry. If they hit €70 then they’ll hit €65.

The “sum of the parts” value of Kerry (if it was broken up) is €100/share. For a takeover a 30% premium would be paid to secure the deal so at €60 or €65 the shareholders would only have to be paid around €80 to secure the deal and the company is really worth €100.

The major thing stopping a takeover is getting approval from the EU and America etc, all to do with laws about monopolies basically.

One of the top dogs in Kerry Group who’s since died said to one of my family back when Stan was still in charge that we were lucky with the management team we had but a day may come and it may not always be the case. It’s safe to say that day has come now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,987 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Glanbia shares have recovered well

Screenshot_20260218_125943_Chrome.jpg

Glanbia shares pay a much better dividend than Kerry also.

If a person owned €1m worth of Glanbia shares they’d get €24,100 of an annual dividend. If a person owned €1m worth of Kerry shares they’d only get €19,000 of an annual dividend.

I sold all my own Kerry shares by 2021. In hindsight I’d of sold them in 2019 for cheaper because I’d of had better buying power with the proceeds.