Bord Bia Problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭dmakc

It was a funny ordeal alright, I've seen Aird talk the talk at many Oireachtas lately, but when it comes time to walk the walk he goes missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Hes more than likely a one term td, is well off, dosent need to be keeping the party whip, i thought he had a bit more in him, to lose the whip but chickened out...

His im a farmer line, dosent really hold water anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

What will the IFA do now?

They can either back down quietly or go all out and go for broke with a big protest.

They're hope for an easy win has fucked them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

IFA would at this stage be better off blocking Mercosur feed imports and highlighting that hypocracy in the system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭epfff

Not an ifa member for since last round of cap negotiations but I think if they walk away from this it's the last we will hear of them and that is not necessarily a god thing.

Next round of cap will force a lot of their aging mebership that done well from decoupling out of farming while the appeal of cheaper phone, insurance and weekends away won't be eneough to get the young part-time farmers in.

I also think it's the end of a number of rural government(ff/fg) tds that were propped by loyal families that actually voted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Tileman

ah to be fair he is an excellent hard working td. He was a great councillor too. He is a genuine farmer. Built up a good farm . Fg wanted another local councillor to run but willie Aird had topped the poll a few times and was due a turn . His father had als been a td back in the 60’s. Aparantly the agreement was that it was for one term. However he seems to be enjoying it. Wouldn’t surprise me if he went again. Could we be an independent by then. Which would suit fg as he would still be in their wider family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭green daries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭grass10

The reality is Ireland has to export approx 90% of beef to foreign countries but we are only able to grow approx 20% of our grain needs to feed our livestock, sheep, poultry and pigs unless we are going to plough up the mountains in Kerry, Donegal, Mayo etc and ploughing up the bogs and setting barley in those places we realistically cannot grow much more grain in Ireland unless we get rid of large areas of livestock farms to grow grain in grass land.

This tiĺlage agenda being pushed right now is total dreaming by a small but very vocal number of tillage farmers thinking that they can somehow restrict or stop grain imports and the price of irish grain will suddenly sell for a huge premium above world grain prices is just farcical do they seriously think that approx 80% of irish animals that currently eat grain will survive on no grain and the remaining animals will have to eat grain at some exorbitant cost way above world grain prices

I am buying the majority of my animal feeds directly from irish grain growers currently but it's approx the same price as imported feed so I don't have any anti tillage agenda it's just never going to be realistic to ever think we can somehow restrict or stop import of grain from abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Thats the hypocracy right there if feed imports from south america are blocked feed prices will skyrocket how does the irish tillage farmer feel we dont want brazil berf but want there grain.As for anyone having an audit now be nice to the auditor there only doing a job there human and the definetly dont make the rules ive had many audits and they were more than reasonable

Don't agree - I don't see the problem with converting more monoculture grassland to grains to fill any gaps. CAP is there to support EU farming so if its not doing that job it needs to be tweaked to sort this issue via encouraging farmers to grow more of this feed via re-directing Pillar 1 supports in that direction. I've grown whole crop spring oats for the last few years in North Mayo and stock have thrived off it. In any case there is plenty of grain looking for a home via other EU countries with similar standards instead of importing toxic feed from Mercosur that has residues proven to be harmfull to animal and human health. Its simply not credible for Big Dairy etc. here to keep spinning Greenwash via so called Grassfed Milk etc. while feeding cows seriously sub standard material grown in a way that is banned across the EU for good reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭I says

I won’t be engaging with bord bia. For 5c hoop jumping not a hope. When my QA runs out this summer they can keep it. If enough farmers stop engaging they won’t have jobs. Bord bia has its shite over this carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,102 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

About time lads realised where tbis **** is happening. Its not about beef, its not even really about grain it about chicken as well.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,981 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

DDairy Farmer's milk wont be collected if you're not quality assured, so they have us caught nicely

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Co-ops outsourced their environment PR to a state body and then make it mandatory.

Maybe we could try Murrin’s logic and say it’s not that I don’t have QA, it’s just I failed to achieve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Should your position not be that

Just because I don't have QA it doesn't mean I failed to achieve it…but not saying whether you did achieve the standard either 😉.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭DBK1

You’re missing a zero there. On hex or aax cattle it’s minimum 50 cent a kilo you’ll miss out on. You’ve 20 cent qa, 20 cent breed bonus and you’ll be quoted at least 10 if not 20 cent a kilo less of a base price. You’re talking €150 per head you’d be down by not being qa.

There’s no hoops to be jumped through either, record what medicines you use is 90% of it and after that have the place some bit respectable looking and a sign on the gate. Some lads don’t know what side their bread is buttered, the bord bia money is the handiest money you can earn on a livestock farm that finishes cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Interesting wording there.

The Chair of Bord Bia does not receive a salary or pension. While the role allows for fees, the current Chair has always waived them.

They say he has always waived fees. Does that mean he never received a cent or did he receive "expenses".

I imagine there is some cost to him associates with the role. Just getting to meetings would cost something.Nothing wrong with reimbursement of legitimate expenses either but omitting to mention them if being paid could make the above statement seem like it's designed to mislead.

Maybe I'm cynical but it is not unheard of in this country for people to be paid unvouched expenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

If we restrict imports of meal and tie ourselves only to native grain we'll be bolloxed completely when the agencies start testing for PFAS in native grain and condemn land treated with sewage from never producing food again. It could be 40% of arable ground in this country was spread with human local authority sewage and is now high in PFAS (forever chemicals). Weetabix sold in Ireland was found by a European environmental group to be 200 times the food limit for consumers. That Weetabix came from the UK on ground spread with human sewage as normal practice.

Human Health Effects from Eating PFAS-Contaminated Food

1. Immune System Suppression (one of the strongest findings)

High PFAS exposure is linked to:

• Reduced antibody response to vaccines
    • Reduced immune function overall
    • Increased susceptibility to infections

This is one of the reasons the European Food Safety Authority set very low tolerable intake levels — immune effects occur at lower doses than many other outcomes.

2. Hormone and Endocrine System Disruption

PFAS can interfere with hormone signaling, resulting in:

• Altered thyroid hormone levels (hypo- or hyperthyroid effects)
    • Changes in reproductive hormone levels
    • Possible impacts on menstrual regulation

3. Increased Cholesterol Levels

One of the most consistently observed outcomes.
    PFAS exposure, especially PFOS and PFOA, is associated with:

• Higher total cholesterol
    • Higher LDL (“bad”) cholesterol
    • Possible increased risk of cardiovascular disease

4. Liver Damage

PFAS can affect liver enzymes and liver metabolic function.
    Common findings include:

• Elevated ALT/AST liver enzymes
    • Fatty liver changes
    • Altered bile acid metabolism

5. Increased Risk of Certain Cancers

Evidence is strongest for:

• Kidney cancer
    • Testicular cancer

These links are mainly observed with higher exposures, but food can be one source contributing to overall body burden.

6. Developmental and Pregnancy-Related Effects

Exposure during pregnancy or early childhood can increase the risk of:

• Lower birth weight
    • Delayed mammary gland development
    • Increased risk of preeclampsia
    • Immune effects in infants
    • Changes in growth and metabolism in childhood

PFAS cross the placenta and are also found in breast milk.

7. Reduced Fertility

Some PFAS are linked to:

• Lower sperm quality
    • Reduced ovarian reserve
    • Longer time to pregnancy

These effects are not universal but appear in several well-designed studies.

8. Kidney and Metabolic Effects

Evidence suggests PFAS may contribute to:

• Impaired kidney function
    • Higher uric acid levels
    • Increased risk of gout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

And soft drinks and alchol and some processes foods do the same

Post edited by daiymann 5 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Its very much if we dont test for it, its not their attitude pretty much worldwide, what happened in maine when they properly investigated it was eye-opening.

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2022/may/12/maine-bans-sewage-sludge-fertilizer-farms-pfas-poisoning?utm_source=chatgpt.com

It's slowly dawning on people the phuck up that's been allowed.

And the propaganda continues. I see an Irish environmentalist retweeting a tweet from Base UK about reduced mineral fertiliser usage in a graph form on wheat in the UK over the years. The guy obviously naively is buying It's a positive thing. Any eejit knows it's coming from increased human sludge. But there's spin merchants out there will spin for all their worth to present bad as good.

Bord bia in their wisdom have it banned from grassland. But the other is seen as the local authorities dumping ground.

Thats more an arguement for cleaning up our own act on such things rather than continue to import dodgy feed from the other side of the world - not least from the Tropical Deforestation side of things which the likes of Cargill are up to their neck in!!

You can't clean up PFAS though. The clue is in the name forever chemicals. Anywhere it's spread it's your lifetime, your children's, your grandchildren's farm. That land is phucked from a farming point of view and is being condemned and closed down from agriculture in the US by authorities where it's being tested. There's organic farmers buying land that they thought they'd farm, test it for their own curiosity as they'd be eating the produce. The lab comes back high from applications twenty years ago and they inform the authorities and that land is condemned from farming by the authorities. The land is worthless then for farming.

We can not clean up ground where it's already spread.

Here's a dilemma exercise.

If you were a dairy farmer in Ireland that drinks their own milk and you had two choices, buy Irish grain high in PFAS or buy grain from abroad in the EU or elsewhere that has a zero reading of PFAS. Which would you choose?

Post edited by Say my name on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

O'Donogue in the Dail, insider trading and when it came to the show down - Verona - I heard nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Rusheseverywhere

https://www.bordbia.ie/contentassets/4cbc0a0697904fbeb822f954921961ee/bord-bia-annual-report-2024.pdf

No fees and no expenses for Murrin on the Bord Bia accounts

Gorman €10,325 in fees and €892 in expenses. There are 8 Board meetings a year. All on page 82 of the accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,981 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

You Can be sure Murrin is not there as chair for the good of his health...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

If Larry doesn't go, is there anything that Bord Bia can give the IFA so that they can walk away and say they achieved something?

Increase the board bia bonus, extend it to cover all cattle from an approved herd no matter the number of movements or age.

Thats rather a false choice given that grains coming from Mercosur have a far higher risk of being contaminated with PFA's via herbicides. persticides etc. that have been banned in the EU a long time ago. The level of Roundup used on GM crops there is also a serious issue with regards to gut health in animals fed it and the final consumer

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/286479506_Is_Ongoing_Sulfluramid_Use_in_South_America_a_Significant_Source_of_Perfluorooctanesulfonate_PFOS_Production_Inventories_Environmental_Fate_and_Local_Occurrence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭epfff

None of that is in bord bias remit.

Bord bia is there to market and promote Irish food party funded by industry and partly from exchequer

Prices, bonus rates, moves, age are all up to the person signing the cheque.(The factory)