Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,671 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Ah Fúcking lads, one of yer dodgy boxes are after becoming self aware.

If only we listened to Adrian!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Someone got ChatGPT pro for christmas. Or is having a stroke. Either way, good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

But why always the big conspiracy?

Why do you assume GT are in the pocket of Sky ?

As I said the main thrust of the GT piece was IOT devices around the house, not dodgy boxes.

Everyone who knows anything about dodgy boxes knows that Firesticks are the main devices used.

If GT were doing Sky's bidding surely they would come up with something about Firesticks being compromised.

As for Wrckler he has to walk a tight line, he can't be seen to promote or condone the use of illegal streaming, he has to err on the side of caution and that means pointing out the problems with it rather than the advantages of it.

I'm a dodgy box user. I absolutely love it.

But I don't care if Weckler or GT point out the dangers, I don't care if there is talk of a crack down, I don't care if Sky are working the media to disuade people from using them or if Sky are spreading FUD about them. They are well within their rights to do that.

Why are the dodgy box evangelists so worked up about people in the mainstream media saying they are dodgy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭daheff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,574 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,700 ✭✭✭jmcc

That's a bit of a change from your theory last night that the report didn't exist and the Irish Times had got it wrong.

Post edited by jmcc on

Regards…jmcc

You are really hung up on the existence or otherwise of a report.

I don't know or care if one exists.

All I know is that the media have been talking about advice from GT about IOT devices including dodgy boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Plenty of posts on the thread. One I recall is that the poster met a group of about 20 Gardai on a weekend away. Every one of them told the poster that they had dodgy boxes. Another post was from a person who knows a Garda running a dodgy box business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,420 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

any chance of the details, could do with a better server!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

No. But another way to look at it is that out of the 400,000 some are going to be Gardai. And other people who would not want to be in the news for being found out. The heading from the Indo paywalled report:

"Some estimates put the number of dodgy-box owners in Ireland at 400,000

Keith Kelly Mon 9 Feb 2026 at 15:12

Irish households that have a “dodgy box” or other unregulated streaming devices are vulnerable to increasingly nefarious cyber attacks, Grant Thornton has warned."

better pull the plug so, thankfully ive far greater addictions to keep me going though

Keep going, you're safe as houses. But it amuses me how much stuff on Boards is condemnation of criminal activity. This thread is a haven for the Catch Me If You Can community.

we ll be grand, dont believe everything you read either

about bloody time, tis probably too late though

is that for 30 a month?

It is a kind of accuracy in journalism issue. You seemed to have changed your mind on the existence of the report despite the Irish Times and other publications mentiong a report. I suppose that GT got its 15 minutes of fame out of it. The problem was that the coverage missed a very important point about some of these low-end devices.

The Independent article mangaged to get things backwards in its headline. You seem to accept suc reporting at face value. You also criticise those who point out errors or FUD in various articles. You accused me of being arrogant. When it comes to piracy, I tend to be very cynical about non-technical coverage because I have a very particular set of skills. I have also watched the propaganda and electronic countermeasures wars between Sky and pirates for a very long time.

Purely out of interest in the evolution of piracy, did you use card sharing services before dodgybox networks went mainstream?

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Stewball

"The number of households in Ireland who possess “dodgy boxes” are estimated anywhere between 320,000 and 400,000, according to Sky Ireland."

That's the actual quote from the Indo paywalled article.

That would easily be one million potential viewers in those households.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,671 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Would you not just be better off signing up to those seperately without the 12-24 month contract sky will tie you into.

I thought the main selling point of the streamers was the rolling contract option.

You subscribe when the shows you like get released and hop around the other streamers doing similar.

Surely cheaper then 360 euro per year or whatever it will be.

cant imagine it really matters what sky does now, most wont be signing up, no matter what they try, they ll just stick to their usual iptv service, that provides the whole lot, and for much cheaper to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭jj880

Was just reading this. Its a start but if its some introductory offer that doubles in price its a waste of time.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

But the reporting is generally accurate.

Remember that the mainstream media cannot be seen to be endorsing the use of dodgy boxes, so their reporting will be limited.

Yes the Indo managed to get the headline wrong, but that's the headline and not the substantive part of the article.

Probably written by a headline writer who knows less about the content than anyone

What very important point about low end devices that the coverage miss?

Remember that the target audience are not likely to be technical so the content can't be too tech heavy.

There were so very good balanced factual pieces a few week ago on RTE and in other places about dodgy boxes, yet people were jumping up and down here about scaremongering etc

I never used card sharing, I started with illegal streaming websites for sports about 20 years ago, used things like TVAnts for a while, got a lot of streams from the brilliant myp2p.eu and later from the recently raided streameast, tried free add-ons on KODI for a while too, then went full paid illegal streaming service about a year ago or more.

You have a tremendous provider, great people. But their content is a bit derivative, can be seen on Sky, Disney and more. They should offer original in house productions to give people a wider choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭jj880

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Nothing ever replaced it, it was of an era when this sort of carry on was far more tolerated.

I think it closed down in the early 2010s when the Spanish tightened their copyright laws, and it was hosted in Spain.

Generally accurate is not good enough. They should have checked out the story.

Advertising revenue is important and dodgybox networks don't advertise. There are also legal issues with a mainstream publication endorsing piracy. Ideally, from a PR point of view, it would be more effective to target the technology journalists with any media campaign as the general public might think that they had a clue about technology. Such a campaign exploits their credibility with the public. A few well-worded press releases with sensational claims about numbers that sound "official" can be quite effective. (There has still been no satisfactory explanation of MUSO's methodology and claims. I am even more cynical about claims relating to domain names and IP addresses made without data to support them.)

RTE's piece was a good effort. (It has actually improved dramatically and that piece on mobile phone tracking was excellent for a non-technical audience.) RTE accepted those MUSO figures without question. The pieces from the legacy media tend to be of a consistently lower quality (they have to be produced rapidly and there is little or no time for deeper research) and seem to rely on press releases. People who have never worked in the media don't realise how much of the content that they read is actually based on press releases. They are free content for the publications and with an issue like dodgyboxes, they are guaranteed to get coverage for the broadcasters and revenue for the publications.

Warning about the risks of default passwords is all well and good. It is basic cybersecuriy precautions and it should be taught at a primary school level.

As for the low-end devices. Read this:

https://krebsonsecurity.com/2026/01/the-kimwolf-botnet-is-stalking-your-local-network/

Potential malware on these devices is only part of the problem. Some devices are shipped in a compromised state.

This is a more technical explanation of Kimwolf and its operation.

https://synthient.com/blog/a-broken-system-fueling-botnets

The reason why piracy has changed since the days of the streaming websites is because technology has evolved. In the past, accessing a Pay TV broadcast either required a pirate decoder or a modified official decoder, or an official decoder and a pirate smartcard. All of these hacks had a limited operational lifetime as the system providers were generally working on countermeasures to stop the hacks working. One of the worst decisions was a common platform for digital satellite TV Conditional Access Modules. It happened in the 1990s and provided a common system for multiple systems. Sky and News Datacom decided to stay of of it and kept their CAM proprietary. That avoided some problems because a genuine Sky settop box was needed to pirate the service. That changed when it became possible to emulate Sky's CAM in software. That removed one limiting factor on Sky's system. The availability of settop boxes that could be used like this increased when a major broadcaster went bust and a lot of cheap boxes flooded on to the market. The boxes were known as DBox or DBox2 and it was possible to modify the operating system of these devices. They were also ideal for card sharing. It still limited some forms of piracy because of the cost. The technology, at the time, was still not viable for ordinary end-users to connect up a TV cheaply. Fast forward twenty five years or so and the technology is cheaper, the public is more technologically adept due to the use of smartphones, tablets, laptops etc. That combined with lower cost made dodgybox networks a perfect storm for broadcasters. That's the thing that RTE's acedemic didn't even mention. It is not surprising because it is an Pay TV idustry issue. The only thing that the broadcasters can rely upon is detecting subscriptions that may be fraudulent. That may not work well where the rights for content is licenced to multiple broadcasters. Does the Irish media realise this or even know about these issues? It is highly unlikely. They just concentrate on covering detected dodgybox neworks, court cases and press releases.

Streaming websites are also more easily detected due to their reliance on domain names. As they become more well-known, even MUSO and others can find them. Apps can be more effective though reverse-engineering them might provide the domain name (if any) being used. The problem with that is that is that it requires a copy of the app and the people who create the app might have taken some precautions. It is electronic warfare and describing it as a "cat and mouse" game is a grossly inaccurate simplification.

All Pay TV operators expect to have an acceptable level of losses due to various forms of piracy and fraud. The problem isthat they have effectively lost control of their model where a subscription and a dedicated settop box was required to access their service. Streaming sites were not a major problem and neither was card sharing because both had inherent limiting factors. Dodgybox networks are a much greater problem than either. And legislation, as suggested by others, will simply not work on its own. The journalists in the Irish media might think that it would. The Pay TV industry knows that it doesn't and never did.

Post edited by jmcc on

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

It's the one thing that puts me off sky, that bloody contract.

With them now for 11 years, but I've finally cancelled the sports extra pack.

Can't beat sky for the coverage, quality, interaction, etc, but I'll be moving to NowTv. Definitely nowhere near as good as sky, but at least my contract with sky will be up in June , and I can finally get rid of them totally.

You do know that Sky own NOW don't you?

You may no longer be tied to a contract but you are not rid of Sky.