PK@rte.ie (again). The All New (Patrick Kielty) Late Late Show Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,312 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I think I remember, she used to be good looking once

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,980 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Look can't blame him - Newstalk comes across like Victorian England - working hours and conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭Pentecost

I'd still buy her a bag of chips in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Wishox

Is the late late now so boring we are no complaining about it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,980 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

dis pain in the hole.

This girl is very good - but when I listened to her pod a few times - I found her crossing some sort of odd journalistic boundary - I nearly got a sense - she was close to them - as odd as that sounds - was the ultimate sort of odd gonzo journalism or something - I could be wrong , but feels odd.

When Gerry Hutch was on her show - it was bizarre - was like a long lost lovable old great character uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,994 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I would give the Hutch and Kinihan gangs their own reality TV show - put them all in a house together, and film them 24/7.

RTE, I will accept payment via Paypal…thank you, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

You must like audible torture so. Can't stand either of them two

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

With a candle stick

Gun

Rope

Lead pipe and spanner

and Mrs White , Mr Pink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Wishox

Love the D4 "journalist" on RTE, her and Williams shold not be allowed on TV, only in it to make them popular, always giving out but never a solution.

NOT CARK!

Ok show - still lacking a bit of pump and impact - we are near world war 3 - America is a mess - X and Musk is out of control - the Burke case - and basically nothing serious on show.

It is gone so soft soft.

But I guess , maybe Friday night , it is meant to be entertainment is the new Late Late logic ?

Till next week, folks!

Nos da 🙂

Personally I prefer the light entertainment stuff for the current Late Late. In today's media era there's more than enough other coverage of current affairs. Back in the day when there were only a few channels and no internet there was a role to play in current affairs for the Late Late with its vast audience but it's a very different time, and show, now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Well that was a crap episode. Claire Burn and Charlene were the only good things about it. The rest were all boring nobodies.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Arseboxing

Light entertainment is everywhere. Some would say politics and world affairs have turned into a grotesque form of light entertainment. Coverage of politics and world affairs now seems to operate on the basis of it being light entertainment on all but a handful of outlets. Perhaps then a light entertainment programme actually has the space to cover these things in a way that is more enlightening than "serious" coverage.

It won't happen under the current tenure however. Kielty is just too nice and too bland and doesn't want to offend anybody. Which is a pity because when he was a guest on Tommy Tiernan a few years back he was interesting and had stuff to say.

Neither is the general calibre of guest a patch on what it was 40 or even 20 years ago. Most guests are too scared to say anything remotely challenging. Or maybe it's the sort of guests that are booked.

The biggest problem the Late Late Show has by far is that with each successive change of host, it has tried to become more like those godawful US chat shows. And every successive move towards trying be more like the Americans had diluted what made the Late Late great more and more.

Charlene McKenna at least was a bit of craic on tonight's show. But she was on for about six minutes.

Agree on the calibre of the guests for sure. But, and I'm not speaking for anyone but myself, I consume current affairs all week be it via newspapers, news broadcasts, blogs, social media. I actually want some light relief on a Friday night.

I agree with this ..if we dont get the big stars for light entertainment...

We may as well have a few heavy lifting intellectuals for other stuff.

Like a piece on US with maybe US people living in Ireland.

As was said above...the news isnt a great source of the story of America at present.

Kinda piece late late could do in past .

There was literally nothing serious on the show tonight..nothing....

Im not saying bring back misery..but is gone a bit daft ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,783 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,043 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

What a pathetic thread this is. Some of the comments on the appearance of women are more cringey than the show.

Apart from that,why would RTE showcase Claire Byrne when she is effectively joining the competition?

This show is dead. The producers haven't a clue and there's NOBODY of substance they can get on to the show.

It would be better off going back to panel format of years ago with a controversial topic to discuss- get a few opposing views and people with personality.

Continuing the way it is- the only people watching will be an ever diminishing demographic and the odd chauvinist on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭techman1

What a pathetic thread this is. Some of the comments on the appearance of women are more cringey than the show.

She is a public figure, it goes with the territory, most of the comments were very complimentary with some saying she is getting older, what's the problem ?

Its a discussion forum on the LLS , yes alot of the stuff is a bit gossipy but sure isn't that exactly the stuff people gossip about anyway and this is a public gossip forum. Deal with it or go somewhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,670 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Claire isn't really that honest. She took to instagram to say that she has never take any work outside RTÉ, but yet the previous year she worked on a separate quiz show for an independent producer, which she had to come clean about and say she was getting €25K for weekend of work. This was on top of her RTÉ wage, which was not included in her wage for that year!

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

I think - wasn't this the issue at stake for the various contracts in RTE .

Can someone not go off and do additional work - for other companies . If they are doing all their work hours in their job , can RTE stop somebody doing more work. Even if that work is corporate and even if it ends up on TV. Even RTE - so what ?

The whole area is a tad more complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

That’s a good point. I certainly wouldn’t want Kielty to become like the partisan US presenters and their lame political satire. But one thing that does not exist anymore in Irish media is the barnstorming panel debate. Questions & Answers and Frontline are gone. Vincent Browne’s former programme has been reduced to two nights a week, with stand-in presenters. There is a genuine gap in the market. I think the Late Late Show could still remain light while resurrecting the round-table debates of old, several of which can be seen on Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,081 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

A letter in the Sunday Indo criticising the Trad special.

When Dónal Lunny was presented with a lifetime achievement award, the video tributes mostly featured international artists. Although undoubtedly respected, their prominence again reinforced the idea that recognition is most meaningful when it comes from globally famous, non-traditional voices. The inclusion of the English actor Ricky Tomlinson singing ‘The Leaving of Liverpool’ further highlighted this need for external validation, as did Peggy Seeger’s appearance, this time from the US...

A similar dynamic played out in the musical selections. Some of the finest musicians working in the tradition, such as Gerry O’Connor, Tara Breen and Louise Mulcahy, were given material of such simplicity that it could be performed by any capable young player at a Fleadh Cheoil. These are masters of their instruments, yet the programme offered them no opportunity to demonstrate the richness of their artistry.

https://m.independent.ie/opinion/letters/letters-late-late-show-trad-special-devalued-the-culture-it-was-supposed-to-celebrate/a771241997.html

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭techman1

their prominence again reinforced the idea that recognition is most meaningful when it comes from globally famous, non-traditional voices. The inclusion of the English actor Ricky Tomlinson singing ‘The Leaving of Liverpool’ further highlighted this need for external validation, as did Peggy Seeger’s appearance, this time from the US...

Completely disagree with that letter, the inclusion of international artists and Ricky tomlinson is what made the show interesting and watchable. If they were to go with the sentiment of that letter you descend back into puritanism which stifled traditional music for decades. Even the Dubliners were rejected by the traditional music puritans back in the 60s. Jon Kenny the comedian had a funny anecdote about his hit with "Spancill Hill" back in the early 80s where he rejigged the song in reggae format and it charted. He said we knew it must have been good because Ceoltais hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,216 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Nigel Grufferty is an accomplished musician himself and he's entitled to his opinion.

However I disagree with him about cross fertilisation between different music genres.

He might have allowed for the fact that the LLS he is critical of was not the Oireachtas, a Feis or even a Fleadh Cheoil, much less a classical or operatic recital.

It was show business and all the participants were there by choice doing what they do best

The audience certainly seemed to be enjoying themselves.

While there will always be a place for the purist ultimately the music belongs to us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,081 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

My main criticism is it could have done with more music. Maybe they should have filmed a special of just music from those there and aired it when LLS on a break. Would be better than repeating a Hollywood film. Something similar was suggested earlier on the thread.

That's show business, well there's an awful lot of crap output put out under that banner. It doesnt exempt it from assessment. If people dont like trad music are they gonna tune in for something called a trad music special? So let the music be the star. Nobody was expecting an operatic recital but if you were doing an opera special wouldnt you expect opera music to be the focus.

What we actually got was neither one thing nor the other and you dont have to be a 'purist' to point that out.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)