Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭BettyS

the garbage man episode is probably the most prescient

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

He could try declaring a National Emergency. Every day is literally an emergency with Trump, figuratively and legally, because he declares them and the courts allow it to continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭randd1

Fox News will beat whatever drum sells. And right know what sells best (especially in America) is anger, rage, lies and righteousness, and Fox has cornered that market brilliantly by tapping into anger and stupidity in the US.

If Fox News thought for a second they'd make twice the money being the official spokesperson for Hillary Clinton, they'd all be wearing donkey badges and rainbow stickers, and attacking the conservatives for running the country into the ground.

Fox News are conmen pure and simple, crass political based rage entertainment passed off as discussion and news to make the sizeable moron population in the US feel smart and informed while they're being filled with utter sh!t and wound up until they explode with rage and fork over their cash. A factory of lies designed to fleece the pockets of the stupid.

They run a very lucrative "anger makes us money" scam. That's why they're so far up Trump's arse, he's the master of it. The evangelical preachers too, conmen the lot of them, especially the prosperity preachers. It's not a surprise the poorest and the dumbest support Trump and listen to Fox and these preachers.

And together they make more money than they thought they ever could off the stupid morons that listen to them and fork over the cash, in many cases right into the poorhouse.

Though in all honesty, if you're stupid enough to hand over your money to Donald Trump, Fox media or mega-rich preachers, they deserve to have your money, because clearly it was wasted it your pocket anyway, at least they'll make use of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Leavitt gave an Irish journalist a roasting the other day. She’s actually morphing into Trump. Really pathetic listening to her response to him

The Leni Riefenstahl of Trumpism (there are other candidates for that too but she is the official spokesperson).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,221 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

A national emergency for how long? Not sure how that would work. If all those elected reps lose their seats, he will feel an awful lot of pain. Nobody likes losing power or administrative chaos.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,118 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Yissir a left whining hack so yis is 😄

“OK, so you’re a biased reporter with a left-wing opinion ... Because you’re a left-wing hack. You’re not a reporter, you’re posing in this room as a journalist. And it’s so clear by the premise of your question. And you and the people of the media who have such biases but fake like you’re a journalist, you shouldn’t even be sitting in that seat.” She went on: “But you’re pretending like you’re a journalist, but you’re a left-wing activist. And the question that you just raised and your answer proves you’re biased. You should be reporting on the facts. You should be reporting on the cases.”

Billy Long apologises for "joking" about Iceland becoming the 52nd US state and himself being governor. He was nominated by Trump for ambassador to Iceland. There is an Icelandic petition signed by 2000 people so far calling on the government to refuse him accreditation. Long was briefly Trumps IRS director since August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Yup….that's it…..all she was missing was telling him that he's a "very terrible" person!!!!

Whatever about power, the whole Trump political journey is built on administrative chaos.

And the more chaos he can create, the more he can be the answer to it.

Suspend the mid-terms, or try to halt them, and all that administrative chaos can be solved by giving Trump control.

And bang! America is a one party state due to emergency laws passed to ensure elections favour of Republicans, who all owe their seat to Trump, and Trump only. Who in return, pass the necessary laws to allow unlimited terms for the president.

And then America is officially a one party dictatorship, with one man having absolute power over all.

It's one of the oldest stories in the book. And we'd be fools not think that's the game.

Project 2025 told everyone this was their gameplan, that they were going to do this. It shouldn't be a surprise that they'll try and do this.

And the key to it is administrative chaos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,102 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

EDIT: Someone got there before me.

This feels relevant:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭mountain

will the winners of the FIFA World Cup be bringing a replica trophy home?
    surely Trump will be given the real one

Virginia, a Democratic controlled state, putting a redistricting/gerrymandering measure on the ballot. Part of retaliation against Republican gerrymandering. The Democrats have a two thirds majority in the State House but only a small one in the State Senate because different electoral cycles for both houses.

Trump and cult leader Jim Jones compared.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

Reports that Proud Boys leader Enriqo Tarrio is an ICE agent. The Proud Boys are a pro-Trump paramilitary group.

Also video in Minnesota shows ICE agents asking drivers have they learned lessons from what just happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,599 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Canada cutting it`s 100% tariffs on EVs to 6.1% with China expected to cut its tariffs on Canadian`s agriculture imports as both countries promise to tear down trade barriers and forge new strategic links.

Big orange baby aint going to like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,852 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

He would end up with a house that's not sitting to sign any bills as it has no members and a reduced Senate with a democratic majority. Not sure how that would even function.

That's if states decided not to hold midterms as It's the states and the states alone who hold them. It's as ludicrous as Trump not allowing them hold any elections (Governor or any other local elected officials)

I've yet to hear a coherent argument as to how he'll actually cancel the midterms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,310 ✭✭✭✭looksee

A discussion between Gavin Newsom and Ben Shapiro which comes over as rather more sane and reasonable politics than the nonsense that has been normalised by Trump and his cronies. The title image is silly, but there is some interesting discussion about taxes, tariffs and elections. Yes its probably Newsom lining himself up for a Presidential bid, but fair enough, and its refreshing to hear rational argument.

Reports medical examiner in Texas believes death in ICE custody was "homicide".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,707 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

The title image promised me Ben Shapiro crying, what an utter dissapointment!

It's quite stark how eloquent Newsom is compared to Shapiro when watching an interview like this. I honestly don't know how anyone can listen to Shapiro speak for more than a few minutes without wanting to claw their own ears off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

You just defined disingenuous before going on to call me a Trump supporter. The irony.

I think it's obvious to absolutely everybody following this story that he didn't get awarded it by the 5 man committee selected by the Norwegian government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,221 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I'll be honest, I am not really following your sequence of events but wolf359f already responded. So many logistical questions on all of the above but I'll just take this line - "emergency laws passed to ensure elections favour of Republicans" - can you spell out how that happens in reality? Midterms do happen but only one candidate allowed?

No way Donald Trump is doing a 3rd term. That's just Project Fear stuff. Less than 1% chance 😉

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,599 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Interesting that only some of that money is going to an account in Qatar where it cannot be seized due to Qatar banking rules, and the rest going to the U.S. Treasury.

Qatar sounds like a great place to lodge your cut off any robbery you were involved in. In fact it sound like the ideal spot to have that kind of money resting in your account as they will also give you your own plane so you can come and visit your ill gotten gains whenever you wish.

Master of the Universe

So apparently the only other case of a Nobel prize being 'gifted' by a winner to another party is…

image.png

Trump in good company, I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,189 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

That's why he pardoned the insurrectionists... He wants them out there creating havoc on his behalf... But for these lads to actually become ICE agents is just beyond the pale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,533 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

It's an extremely stupid move and one that shows that she should not be given the power that she so obviously craves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It sounds like she actively 'wants' to be a Trump puppet in the Venezuelan government.

It's not really. There's nothing normal about the way Trump is carrying on. Crucially, there's nothing stopping him either.

He's ignoring norms and eroding various institutions at a rapid rate. And with it, making them look limp and weak. They repeatedly look powerless to even calm him down, never mind reign him in.

And then there's the appointments, all of them sycophants to his will, or what passes as his will. There's more than enough institutions already with total sycophants in place to do whatever he wants them to.

He's already taking on the state governors with the National Guard/Ice moves. He's targeting political opponents with his goons in the DOJ. And the Supreme Court is essentially his rubber stamp.

It's not unreasonable to suggest he'd go whole hog on it and try and remove whatever impediment to his power there is, be that elections or otherwise. And if Trump doesn't, you can certainly see the likes of Miller try to via Trump.

We've seen this play out before in other countries. His pal Victor Orban has achieved something similar in Hungary. And given how divided the US is, you'd be a fool to think Trump wouldn't try it.