Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 25/26 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,222 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

We brought Matip in for free and he became a mainstay in a team that won everything, surely there's someone we can grab at low cost who can at least fill in at a back up capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

Agree they should get someone in, but wouldn't surprise me if these statements are being released to limit us getting fleeced in the market if teams think we are desperate.

Disagree for the most part. The FA cup is not a throwaway game this season, as it has been treated for much of recent past. FA cup importance has become way higher as it is by far the best chance of lifting a trophy and getting something out of a relatively mediocre season. With that in mind Slot is going to play teams that will get the win, but also bear in mind that the players are still prone to brain dead decision-making, or mental collapse at a moments notice, as evidenced by even Szobo of all players making a howler of an error last night. Complacency I think has been our outstanding weakness this season. It may be embarrassing to some Liverpool fans to put out a strong team against a league 1 side, but say that to United, Palace and Forest fans and see how they feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,190 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Fully agree.

Brings to mind Ben Davies, Ozan Kabak, and to some extent, Nat Philips.

Have some damn reinforcements, even if they aren't the long term solution. Otherwise is it going to be Endo or Lucky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭brevity

I really think we don’t know what is going on behind the scenes.

It could be the case that Slot has been told that this player can play this amount of minutes, if you play them more then they won’t be available for the next match. Klopp was different in that he was the manager rather than the coach. Klopp probably said “if he dies, he dies” and rolled the dice with player welfare.

If the players would stop making silly mistakes perhaps then the game state would be different and Slot could introduce different players. But too many individual errors have forced him to play certain players more. It could be argued that the players are tired and that’s the reason for the individual errors but I don’t know if I buy that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

There is currently one competent fit RB in the squad that can be used in the PL & CL, to play against good level opposition - Frimpong, even if Slot has been playing him as a RW a lot. He currently needs his minutes managed as he returns from injury.

Joe Gomez is needed as cover at both CB & RB. He currently needs his minutes managed as he returns from injury.

Szoboszlai has been filling in at RB, and taken out of CM far too often this season. He is at danger at being overplayed.

Calvin Ramsey is an actual RB. has been trusted to play one game under Slot, against a PL team, albeit in the League Cup. He has been included in the first team squad a lot lately. This is the only type of game that he is going to ever play in, realistically.

Guess which one stayed sitting on the bench for the full night?

Why did Slot need to start all 3 first team players last night, and flat out refuse to use an actual dedicated RB? Starting Ramsey against a League One side was hardly going to cost Liverpool the FA Cup. And if that is the sort of thing we are alluding to, then we might aswell sack Slot now if he can't beat a League One side at home with one player out of eleven rotated.

Joe Gomes is very competent imo and yes his fitness isn't at full strength but he can still start the games and his primary position is RB. He in fact needs to be playing to get back up to full speed. RB and then LB are basically the two positions on the pitch where a number of players can slot in and be competent, so they automatically get reduced focus vs CB, midfield or striker. Slot made 6 changes from the Arsenal game, focusing on areas which are more critical right now. We play Burnley on Saturday followed by an absolutely critical champions league game on next Wed. I would expect the starting and playing strategy had in mind managing the players over more than one FA cup game.

Slot was getting criticised last year for not respecting the opposition in the cups, and I think given our season so far, this is about the level of respect that this game deserved. We won 4-1 and no big injuries, and scored some bangers, like give up the doom and gloom for one bloody game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

I knew my day would come eventually . Slot ball here I come 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Have a feeling Guehi has given his word to join in the summer. We still should be getting another CB in so they can get up to speed for next season. As bad as Konate has been we are an injury to him away from having to play Grav at CB, its ridiculous.

Slot definitely was not "getting criticised last year for not respecting the opposition in the cups". If anything it was the opposite, and that he sending out teams that were too strong, didn't rotate enough and it was a contributing factor as to why the team ran out of steam in March time. They had too many miles in their legs at that point in the season. For example Salah played 5 games in the League Cup last season, starting most of them. His previous highest for any season was 2, and it was usually 1.

Personally I find it really reckless what Slot did last night playing each of Frimping, Gomez & Szoboszlai while not using Bradley or an academy player at all. He overplayed Szoboszlai. He brought Konate off of the bench to play for 30 mins that was not needed. Gomez needed a rest, yes, but why overplay Konate to suit this? Konate did not need to play. Konate got a knock at the end, and was very visibly limping for a number of minutes. What happens now if Konate is injured for 2 weeks? Slot would be forced to overplay Gomez now at CB, thus completely removing your RB option for Gomez. Inevitably having to overplay Gomez would also make him break down eventually. All of that could have been prevented too.

As an aside, do you actually trust Slot to use Gomez? Because Slot has shown a real lack of actually giving proper gametime to Gomez, unless absolutely forced to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Really like Frimpong, exactly what we have been missing this season, that pace and acceleration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,144 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I’m don’t think anyone fancies loaning a player out to be a backup… anyone coming in would primarily be in case of injury to Konate, Virg, or Gomez, who would all be preferred otherwise.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,222 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Well half the lads we've sent on loan this year are being used as backup 😅

image.png image.png image.png image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Chelsea can't loan Disasi, as hes non homegrown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Slot picking such a strong team last night indicates that amount of pressure he feels under. Personally, I think it was crazy the amount of first team players he went with but he obviously feels that either he or the team can't take a morale-sapping loss right now to a lower-division team.

I'm still a big supporter of Slot and I think he'll turn thing around eventually if given time but what he did last night bordered on reckless.

Also, I think this nonsense of 'he needs to lift a trophy this year' is such a load of bollox. We won the League last year and is well placed in the Champions League this year - it's such a small-club mentality to think we need an FA cup win to save our season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,906 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Thanks, was just thinking of experienced players who aren't doing much. I'm sure there's other examples

You can not like the fact that we were in the position of only 2-1 up against weak opposition, and Slot decided to bring on a couple of big guns to close out the game, and win comfortably in the end, but in the context of that game he was proven right in his decision-making.

I think our biggest results weakness this season have been massive complacency in the face of weaker opposition, poor defending and not closing out a game when being on top. It's for sure not the only problem by a long shot, but has been our biggest issue. And I'm not excusing Slot for that, he has a big amount of accountability for that.

If we were still in the PL and comfortably in the top 8 of the CL then I'm sure he would have given a better spin for some of the academy players, but we're not.

I think this is basically all of the players that we could expect to see Slot pick to start any serious game for the rest of the season.

1000062565.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭mormank

Again, I'm not advocating punishing players for mistakes but some mistakes are mistakes that should only happen once. Ekitike getting a second yellow for celebrating a goal is a perfect example of what I mean by this. Dom trying a ridiculous backheel to the keeper in his own box like that is another if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭mormank

100% agree. I'm merely pointing out that there are different levels of mistakes, some of which are simply not acceptable to repeat whereas some are. I would put this in the former category personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Guys any recommendations for a fan or more serious Liverpool you tube channel?

Have been watching millions of Goldbridge as pure entertainment and joy at present...but any good Pool ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Yeah I woke up at about 4am one morning with the same thought (and Sterling) and went down a rabbit hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭brevity

Anfield Wrap

The Redmen

I watch them on YouTube quite a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,511 ✭✭✭mosstin

It's not a small club mentality to want to win the FA Cup though. Anyone saying they want to concentrate on other competitions I just don't understand. What competitions exactly? The CL? The league? I would absolutely love us to win the FA Cup - brilliant competition and one we haven't won enough in our history for my liking.

In a season when so much has gone tits up, this is EXACTLY the right time to put our energies towards winning the FA Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Agreed.

The league is gone.

The champions league is very much an outside chance of winning.

Let's not turn into Arsenal from a few years ago and celebrate top 4 like a trophy.

Finishing top 4/5, a run in the FA cup and hopefully a run in the CL knockouts should be attainable for this team.

If we were top of the league or properly challenging I'd have a different opinion, and you can be sure Slot would have had a youth team out last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭dogbert27

A few that I like on top of the two above:

Andy Cantwell. Good reviews in a fans fan way.

Liverpool fan in Japan

The Kop TV

Alice - ECILA football - She's a United fan but she always give objective reviews of other teams so I always check her reviews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Danny healy ray

any of ye watch the lad with all the tats from dublin bit of a nut job slot out slot out etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,855 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I watch alot of Anfield Wrap as well.

Neil Akitnson can be annoying when we are losing "lets make one thing crystal clear" or "that is the way in which it goes" but there are many contributors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,144 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Yup, which is a disaster - I'd expect any loanees not being used enough will be recalled and sent on fresh loans for the second half where they might play more, as is usually the case each year. So as much as I'd love a decent option to come in on loan, I don't expect any club would be selecting us as a good option for their unused players, as they most likely won't play much.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭dogbert27

You mean Craig on the Anfield Agenda.

I check his videos from time to time but he's a bit too emotional and takes criticism way to close to heart for someone willingly putting himself out there.

I listen to David Lynch now and then but he doesn't give a whole lot of insight. I saw in a youtube comment somebody calling him a snake but gave no context around it.

Laurence McKenna is alright but waffles on a bit at times.