United States as a Rogue state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,215 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Well, they might start by asking for more like a normal NATO member talking to a fellow member. Let’s not pretend that Trump’s wannabe thuggery has been triggered by Danish intransigence. That is not true at all.

The likes of Xi and Putin might criticize Trump’s unhinged ravings about Greenland but deep down they can’t believe their luck. America is threatening to destroy the rules-based order it helped to create after WWII, including NATO. That is great news for tyrants and outlaw states everywhere. Of course, what we had was imperfect but we may be about to find out how much better it was than the alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,231 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

That’s a constant Orwellian tendency with anybody using force, legal or otherwise. Killing people is taking them out, as if they’re being brought on a date. It’s akin to the mafia euphemism of ‘taking care’ of a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,422 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

always have been, again, another fundamental part of their history, from the very beginning of the state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

We let this become a problem so can't blame anyone else then ourselves really.

an element of course, but these issues tend to be extremely complex in nature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

They don't. And issues are not complex - people just pretend they are to avoid taking the hard option.

Globalisation has been a massive mistake and is what has caused the venezuela incident now. Everyone too afraid to engage with each other because business is set up.

Countries in the 1930's were not afraid to just make a decision and act on it.

Lets see how the States like it when they are left on their own - no imports/exports. Starve the f*ckers. All military bases abroad revoked and soldiers sent home packing. No trading, support or anything at all.

Any aggression by them shall be met in kind by the rest of the world.

America will need a host of willing allies to have any hope of containing China in the coming decades. That would be under the Mastermind subject, the bleedin’ obvious. Anybody who has worked with Chinese people knows how capable they are - look what a tiny number have done with semiconductors in Taiwan - and the PRC has 1.4 billion of them. Like Britain and America before it, China is now the workshop of the world and challenges or exceeds America in nearly every technological area. It already has a critical mass of the world’s best entrepreneurs, engineers and scientists who excel despite a managed economy and has cornered the world market in rare earths as Trump found out to his cost - he don’t talk so loud about China these days. Unfortunately, it is also becoming even more authoritarian and has no tolerance whatsoever for dissent at home or abroad. If Americans think they can retreat to ‘their’ hemisphere and avoid all this they are in for a rude shock.

Post edited by Ardillaun on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,231 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Yes I know but we love love love the green dollar so we are not allowed say such things. Tip the cap etc.

disagree, theres nothing simplistic about human interactions, including global interactions.

globalisation hasnt been a complete disaster, but elements truly have been, we experienced a rapid rise in wealth, but also wealth inequality, a rapid expansion of economies, including the irish economy, a rapid rise in employment, again, including in ireland,, a rapid rise in the availability of goods and services, and at very low prices, a rapid advancement in tech, etc etc etc.

ah shur the 40's was just the craic, strangely resulting in actions and reactions in the 30's!

and since the states have over 800 military bases globally, i suspect these lads wont be going out quietly!

we re probably gonna be forced soon enough to pick a side, we ll try to maintain our tip the hat to all sides, but i suspect we ll be forced to chose which side, this is gonna get rough

If Trump keeps up his disgraceful threats to Greenland then Denmark should go to the UN and put it up to America's allies to see where they stand.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,085 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

They already have free reign to have as much military infra on Greenland as they want. They only have one base cause they only want one base.

Not that anything about this makes sense, but this is what makes the whole thing particularly perverse. The US has the most amazing deal with Denmark/Greenland possible about their use of the land. But Trump is truly too stupid to realise this and sycophants are too up his arse to point it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,761 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

In the 30's the League of Nations collapsed for similar reasons that UN (and possibly NATO) are coming up against now. No real powers. The embargo of Italy in the 30's was all they did. When real aggression occurred in Europe, the League was powerless.

We've already picked a side so far, we are on the US side. The amount of US money and firms here we'd be crazy not to have been on their side. We even allowed refuelling here to support prior wars of offence, like Iraq.

I see nothing currently that we are changing sides. Who would we be on the side of, other than NATO and the West anyway.

we re economically strongly tied to the us, but we re actually politically more so towards Europe, and the rest of the world, hence why mm is currently in china, we re clearly gonna continue to straddle this widening gap, who knows where it ll go though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭Hoop66

It's a handy enough distraction from evidence that the president is a rapist of women and girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,761 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Yes that is clear, there are very few countries currently politically aligned with the US - it's a basket case even discounting the trump factor.

Very few are in hock to the greenback like we are though which concerns me. (I'm working for MNCs for over 15 years at this stage!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭vixdname

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Randycove

he will send a load of troops there, with agreement of Denmark and shout about how brilliant he is and how they bent to his will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Diddly Squat

He'll take Greenland and the EU will talk about sanctions and international law like they do as isreal massacres and butchers children and women and men live on television and they'll do nothing. The EU and NATO are a spineless entity and America knows it, they can do what they want because they know women and men in suits will hold endless meetings and talk about action while America will veto human rights and sanction murder while the world looks on.

I have worked in US MNCs in the past too. 11 years. Honest question - do you think these US MNCs are "changing" Irish people? I notice people are more concerned with their title, LinkedIn status, bank balance, car reg than their own health, family, community or fellow humans. Some people also talk like office robots in daily life. They really embraced the woke stuff too. Brainwashed. Thoughts?

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Pretty much.

Plus nobody I know on the military side of the house thinks a military operation is a realistic probability. (Though Europe are correct to plan as if it is). I have no idea how the US would fund a 'purchase' of Greenland either, even if they could come to some form of agreement on a sale which I don't see happening.

The entire thing is pure idiocy, and I would hope someone rational tells him to shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Not my president, Trump can gladly take her on the tanker journey back to yank land.

They actually tried to purchase Greenland twice before. Should have offered more.

If you're irish i have news for you, she's your president by democratic vote, I see morons on other social media apps saying the same thing all the time, have any of ye ever had an original thought or do you all just say the same thing ad nauseum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Very much an Irishman, and in no way subservient to another basket case from Galway.

You dont have to be subservient, I dont think thats required for her to be president