Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,402 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

So you don't think the Proud Boys/Oath Keeper lot planting bombs and calling for military action when Trump was still in office had anything to do with it?

Trump asking supporters to walk peacefully incited the riot?

FFS. Deranged!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,416 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"He literally said no violence, peacefully.

The riot was going to happen regardless. It couldve been a lot worse. The Proud Boys and Oath Keeper losers had already planted pipe bombs and the like and were calling for violence immeditely after the election."

If his supporters (Proud Boys & Oath Keepers) were calling for violence immediately after the election… if the riot was going to happen regardless… Why would Trump organise a rally of his supporters just down from the Capitol? Why would he need to tell them not to use violence, unless he knew violence was a likely outcome? Why would he continuously stoke claims of a stolen election in front of a crowd who had been calling for violence immediately after the election?

Untitled Image

Unlike Jack Nicholson, you're the one who can't handle the truth. And the truth is 'plausible deniability'. He said to protest peacefully, knowing they wouldn't. He gathered his violent supporters there (let alone the reports of reducing security screening at his rally which reduced screening for weapons) for a rally right down from the Capitol buildings. He wanted to disrupt and delay the certification of the results by the only means he could; aiming his weapons at the building knowing his supporters would fire them (metaphorically speaking).

Ever see those videos where a parent puts some sweets in front of their toddler, tells them not to eat the sweets and then walks out of the room? The sweets are going to get eaten. That's a given.

Trump directed his violent supporters who as you say, had been calling for violence since the election results, to go to the building where the election was being certified, and told them to protest peacefully. Then he walked out of the room.

He knew the sweets were going to get eaten.

So you admit he told them not to use violence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,752 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

You’ve clearly lost the plot here now. The proud boys were empowered by Trump FFS, “Proud Boys, stand back and standby”, remember that?

You’ve clearly no clue what you’re talking about here, not an ounce.

Why did he commute Enrique Tarrios sentence? “What they’ve done to these people is outrageous” was what he said about them. How many have been pardoned that took part in January 6th?

Just do the smallest bit of research, take your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

You seem to be incapable of distinguishing words from intent. His actions, or in some case inaction, at that time showed his intent. Whatever mealy mouthed occasional excuses he threw out to try and cover himself, do not hide his intent, which is what ultimately criminal law is about.

So you admit you ignored the entire context of my post?

He didn't tell them to be violent - actually the opposite - which is why I wouldn't describe his words as inciting violence. Fairly simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,552 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Sigh

I'm getting flashbacks to the release of the Mueller report and his fans claiming

"See? No collusion!!!"

You're splitting hairs.

The facts of what happened on that day are clear to all.

I posted the tweet from Donny Jnr saying things had gone "too far". So... How much violence exactly were they okay with? If Trump didn't want violence, why was he okay with people changing "Hang Mike Pence!" Why did he ask for the removal of the metal detectors? Why did he pardon the rioters?

You know why.

You blame the Proud Boys. Do you remember on the 30th September, Trump told the proud boys to "Stand back and stand by"?

He doused the place in petrol figuratively speaking and you're saying he's not responsible for the fire.

It's pedantic nonsense.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭The Raging Bile Duct

No offence to your grandmother but that's a pretty terrible way for measuring the trust of a person.

'The Dalai Lama? Nah, could never trust that fellow… he never had a sip of the porter!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Rewriting history from certain posters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭The Raging Bile Duct

He was quoting you in that instance. You ignored everything he said and the context in which the January 6th riot took place. Well done, that takes some very special blinkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

If we're splitting hairs, no he didn't. We're going to march peacefully doesn't rule out violence.

If he said, 'go home now and pray,' that would've ruled out violence.

Further, as you love this quote:

'You have to show strength, and you have to be strong.We have come to demand that Congress do the right thing and only count the electors who have beenlawfully slated, lawfully slated. I know that everyone here will soon be marching over to the Capitolbuilding to peacefully and patriotically make your voices heard. '

So, in the spirit of your hairsplitting, he said, "I know that everyone here will…".. Is that an instruction to march peacefully? What instruction is there after they arrive? Pray? Sing?

In US justice, there's a concept of 'what would a reasonable person do.' If you're Trump with an obviously agitated mob listening to you raptly, would you have egged them on to the Capitol? This is one of the reasons why I'd hoped he'd gone on trial - because he would've failed the 'reasonable person' test. An example - if I build an attractive swimming pool in a neighborhood full of children, but fail to surround it with a fence, and a child climbs in and dies, I'm liable.

Likewise egging on people to go to the Capitol, after inviting them to a scene that 'will be crazy!' (remember that?) and telling them you know they'll march on the capitol.

Trump is liable for the riot, full stop.

I think it’s a certain posters pure ignorance of actual events.

Of course he certainly inflamed the situation, as did the QAnon losers, Proud Boys, Roger Stone etc. He didnt help the situation. But he has a right to speak, his idiot supporters have a right to assembly and speech.

Doesnt mean he incited a riot. Not in any legal definition and not in any practical definition.

And there wasn't an agitated mob really. Look at the video and theres people laughing. 99% of the people there are bewildered lost people. Who did nothing. 1% were going to act the bollix regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭amandstu

Again, if his supporters had been calling for violence since the election results, why would he gather them near the Capitol Building for a "SAVE AMERICA" rally, tell them the election was being stolen from them with phrases such as "If you don't fight like hell, you're not going to have a country anymore", tell them to march down to the Capitol Building, but also just protest peacefully?

Because he knew they wouldn't protest peacefully. At the very least, he wanted their actions to be enough to disrupt the proceedings inside the Capitol Building in order to delay certification of the results.

What the f*ck do you think the "Proud Boys" and "Oath Keepers" would do? Try to tut loudly?

Again, he knew his supporters were calling for violent action, and he gathered them near the Capitol Building, riled them up about saving their country, and pointed them towards the Capitol Building. It is the totality of his words, actions and planning which incited violence, even if he did not explicitly say "Go wreck the place!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Are you an attorney? Because, otherwise, you're just making things up. It needed to go to court.

And there wasn't an agitated mob really.

You can't be taken seriously now. People laughing…yeah, that means a lot…FFS!

I take pity on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,291 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Only the blinkered would try to claim Trump did not incite the mob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭combat14

will be some craic economically here if Trump decides to take Greenland for US national security

how will the eu respond.. will there be a full trade war

ireland needs to start cutting the slack and waste now before the next big one hits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,376 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's been 5 years. Trump attempted an insurrection and it failed. These are facts. I can't believe people are seriously trying to pretend otherwise.

It'd be like me pretending that Brexit didn't happen.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,552 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

1000029522.jpg

Agreed.

A further example of the fractious nature of MAGA

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Judging by your post and 'name' you probably weren't around the last time we had an economic crash here in 2008.

I wouldn't call suicides, people losing homes, their jobs, living standards, loss of wages, reductions in social welfare payments as 'craic'.

Be careful what you wish for.

no one is looking for that .. but a crash is exactly what is on the cards if Trump's US "takes" Greenland

the country needs to be prepared and we are certainly not .. we are massively reliant on the US .. corporation take has trippled since 2019 and we are wasting it left right and centre

Maga doesn't care. It never did. It's all about owning the libs and gloating. We've seen this proven again and again. It's a bit disturbing to see Irish people hoping for a recession just so they can score points on the internet.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

the other fact is that the sovereign people of the United States heard all that and still voted Trump back in again despite court cases of all sorts left right and centre

he mopped the floor with the democrats and won the popular vote as well

the US voter was the ultimate judge jury and executioner and harris/biden were the ones who got the chop

They rejected him in 2016 though. Funny how it was fine to overrule them then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,537 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

It's constantly astonishing just how willing some people are to delude themselves into the dark corners of their mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Hopefully not, after being railroaded out of the EU by the BoJo/Cummings just to win a GE and stay in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭randomcorkman

By mopped the floor you mean won a narrow victory?

Also, he didn't defeat Biden. Joe beat him pretty well and the whiny little pu$$y hasn't stopped crying about it ever since.