Things you wonder about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭MadeInKerry

Why does everyone think they are better at driving than everybody else.

So many times ive been in cars with people driving while they complain about other drivers the whole time, especially when the mistake is their own. And God help you if you tell them they were actually at fault.

Cyclists are the same, always right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,153 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

What would Ireland be like if the famine didn't happen I often wonder. It's near impossible to estimate but the best guesses seem to be a population of 20m plus.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,592 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

well, the UK's population density is roughly four times what ours is.

the population of cavan county is still only about one third what it was pre-famine. similar for monaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,391 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

A lot of our emigration since the famine was due to the place being an economic cesspit, right up until the eighties.

It's all a bit sliding doors, Impossible to know what difference one event may have made.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,592 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Why does 'depress' and 'press' often mean the same?

Saying a button has been depressed means it has been pressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Anois_

In my own lingo a button that has depressed means it opened so is no longer pressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,088 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Its always been said that countries amassed nuclear weapons as a deterrent to others not to use theirs.

Do we really think if the USA or USSR had no such weapons, the other side would have bombed them out of existence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Anois_

Well America used one on a country so yes it is a deterrent to USA. It's America you cannot trust they are scumbags of the highest order.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 98,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It's the reason the Germans didn't use gas in WWII. On the other hand both sides tried to avoid using "window" foil strips to counteract radar in case they gave the secret away.

The Japanese army used chemical and biological weapons against the Chinese but not the Americans.

The cold war may have been hotter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,935 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

How many times will Martin O'Neill end up managing Celtic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Why would anybody vote for the SocDems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭Dan Steely
    1 missile, 165 schoolgirls

How long is the road to nowhere? The road to paradise?

i suspect the road to nowhere never gets to its destination so has no end…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I wonder why so many people pull out before looking to see if anyone else is coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

I take my kids training to a pitch that has a lovely fully lit walking path around it and extends to about a 1.5k loop I would guess. I normally do a few laps myself for the hour. But there are a few ladies that always head out the gate for their jog/walk and do about a 3/4k loop that is unlit and has no footpath for most of it. Can someone make sense of that for me please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,130 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

There's a news article about Jenny stealing €450 worth of shopping from Tesco.

Does this include the clubcardbprices?

i wonder has anyone ever entered that as a defence? that the asking price of an item they've stolen is not necessarily what it's worth…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

Or has any drug dealer ever roared out in court, "Yis dirty lying b@stards, it wasn't worth a street value of 1.2mil, it's only 50k's worth!"

(or something like that, I've no idea how much drugs cost)

....…

2026: 'This is where something better begins' (←well that plan ain't working out too well)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Three fiddy

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Well I remember reading that police always price seized drugs at the street price, so after they have been cut.

The middle-man selling pure coke might get annoyed because the court says he was caught with €1.5m worth but he would never have made that much from it himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,391 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Is the "cost of living crisis" still going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

I thought they priced it generosity so that it looked like a better catch.

Maybe they wouldn't get away with my figures 😅

....…

2026: 'This is where something better begins' (←well that plan ain't working out too well)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,935 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Why are most remotes black?

When watching TV with the lights out you are grabbing at everything that casts a shadow in order to find the right one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,471 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I can never figure out why some people don't bother with showers, changing their clothes or brushing their teeth.

I like to think that even if I was depressed or an alcoholic, id still try to keep clean at least.

it doesnt take long or much effort and they have all day to do it.

I feel sorry for these people but I just cant get my head around that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭tampopo

Do they sell a Lynx Europe in Africa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭sbs2010

There's some film with a scene where the drug dealer gets busted and when he hears the court/police estimate of street value of his stuff he says (something like) - hey man, where's that street, I gotta go there next time I'm selling drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,378 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I think it was about 8 million in the 1840's

And I'd call it more of an ethnocide than a famine. Lots of food was taken under armed guard to Dublin port and sent to England /Wales .The fascist Robert Peel and Laizez fair ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,559 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Used to work with someone like that, in a fish factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

The Guard (2011) - Brendan Gleeson, Don Cheadle, Mark Strong and Liam Cunningham - great film :-)

"You lads always announce seizure of drugs worth a street value at $10 million or $20 million or half a billion dollars... And I ask myself, who's them lads dealer? What street are ye fuckin' livin' on? Be sure that's no street in Galway, lads. I wonder what street it is you're buying your cocaine on."